We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apothecary Guest House
Ranked #10 of 20 Haworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My daughter and I stayed here after a day of exploring "Bronte Country." The owner and staff were incredibly friendly, helpful, and hospitable. Every time they saw us they asked after our needs. The room was clean and comfortable. We had a late afternoon tea and breakfast here. They weren't gourmet, but hit the spot. The location was especially nice; it's tucked away with the little shops near the Bronte Museum. The owner even gave us a coupon to eat at another pub for dinner.

Room Tip: Stay here! You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 007mom2seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    70
    18
    5
    11
See reviews for
49
102
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

My wife and I have just spent the New Year in Haworth and stayed at The Apothecary. The owners are brothers, David and Nick, who we found to very friendly and professional. (David helped us out at very short notice, but thats another story ) They both made us feel very welcome and spent time talking to us at every opportunity which was nice. The location of the Guest House is excellent, right in the hub of the historical and quaint part of Haworth (directly opposite the church) at the top of the cobbled street. The accomodation is quite basic but exactly what you should expect from a guest house. The most important thing for us was that it was very clean. The room we had was bright and airy and well equipped and what you would normally get from a well run guest house.. The central heating worked well and at the time you wanted it. The breakfast was good old fashioned 'Full English' and cooked well, just what you need if you are going walking all day. There were other breakfast options if you wanted them

All in all The Apothecary represented excellent value for money and proved to be a great location for the sights and the walks. There are three very nice pubs with 50 yards of the guest house but we were never disturbed by any noise. David gave us a discount voucher for one of the pubs (The Old White Lion) where we had some superb good olde fashioned pub grub !

Would we go back ? ..... you bet ! Great location, good value for money, nice people.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToastieTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cholsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
504 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stopped here yesterday for a snack at arround 2pm. We were welcomed by the friendly owner who served us all the way through, and was thoroughly profesional and very friendly. First problem though was the decoration, bright yellow walls- not to my taste, but this is probably just me! There was a good choice and we were served quickly. The soups, which other members of my party had were delicious, and the chips were ok. My bacon roll was alright but Bacon was overcooked and the roll had had some water spilt on the top somehow! My main criticism though is that the salt and pepper sellers looked dirty and the plates and bowls were chipped. Would return for a drink again, but not a meal.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexJ262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Stayed for 1 night whilst visiting the Keighley & Worth Valley railway beer festival.
Rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable. Towels are thin. We had a double room with a bathroom down the hall, although it's a private bathroom not shared with any other rom.
Breakfast was average, would think with such wonderful local produce they could provide some decent quality sausage.
But overall it's good for the price, £45 a night. Not for a special getaway but ok for an overnight.

Room Tip: Get one at the back, good views over the valley and the front gets noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichSBarnsley_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This is a very welcoming guest house,tidy,CLEAN, well appointed,great situation and comfortable too.
Nick is a genuine sort and everyone else chipped in. GREAT view at breakfast which I enjoyed.

Room Tip: Phone up and ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

This B&B offered very basic accommodation in a wonderful setting, which is on the main street and close to the parsonage. The towels were very thin, and it was not possible to fill the kettle from the sink, so we had to fill it from the shower. Perhaps a little plastic jug would be useful? The owners were friendly. We only stayed one night here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachiie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Myself and my parents have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Apothecary Guest House in Haworth and we had a lovely stay. We were welcomed warmly by the family from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. On arrival we were taken to our rooms by David which was a nice touch. Our rooms were very comfortable, light and airy. The facilities in the rooms were excellent including a flat screen television with superb picture quality and plenty of tea and coffee.
Breakfast was included in the room rate. Breakfast was served fresh, hot and very efficiently by Nic. There was plenty of choice, from cereal to fruit juice to a full cooked breakfast and toast. The portions were more than adequate to set us up for the day ahead. Nothing was too much trouble at all. The breakfast is served in the tearoom area which has lovely views of the valley. It was so nice to enjoy our breakfast looking out on this lovely view.
The Apothecary Guest House is situated on the lovely cobbled Main Street of Haworth, just opposite the church with the Bronte Parsonage just beyond. It is right next to the variety of quaint shops that Haworth has to offer so you don't have to walk too far at all. There are also a great variety of places to go for an evening meal, located within a stones throw of the guest house.
To conclude, i would have no hesitation in going to stay at the Apothecary Guest House again. We had a throughly enjoyable stay made all the better by the excellent hospitality we received from David, Nic and Family. Thankyou for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coachholidayfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haworth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Old White Lion Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Old Registry Haworth
0.1 mi away
Wilsons of Haworth
Wilsons of Haworth
#1 of 20 in Haworth
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Top House
Park Top House
#7 of 20 in Haworth
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fleece Inn
The Fleece Inn
#6 of 20 in Haworth
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashmount Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apothecary Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apothecary Guest House

Property: Apothecary Guest House
Address: 86 Main Street, Haworth, Keighley BD22 8DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Keighley > Haworth
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Haworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apothecary Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1987, we are a friendly family owned guesthouse. Situated at the top of the famous cobbled Haworth main street, opposite the Bronte church, we are two minutes walk from the Bronte Parsonage and Yorkshire moors. The Worth Valley steam railway is less than ten minutes from us. Room to the rear of the building have panoramic views of the surrounding moors, whilst those to the front overlook Haworth's famous main street. Built around 1640 you will delight in its' quaintness. The oak beams, millstone grit exterior and intricate passageways. The Apothecary has had many uses in the past 400 years, including an inn, the Co-op shop (see pulley wheel at the top of the building, a private dwelling and a book shop. One can only wonder at the lives and dramas played out over the years. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Apothecary Guest House Hotel Haworth
Apothecary Guest House Haworth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing