We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apothecary Guest House
Ranked #8 of 20 Haworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Weekend getaway”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My sister wanted it take me away for the weekend for my birthday and we stayed here. The two brothers who run the place were lovely and the food was great. The views were fantastic and it was directly right in the middle of Haworth Main Street. The beds were clean and most comfortable the amenities were very sufficient for our purpose and the stairs and little nooks of the building were original of the old building. Great place to stay and VERY reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    73
    18
    5
    11
See reviews for
51
104
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Londra
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I must say that David has been a welcoming host (at breakfast he goes around the tables chatting with the guests) and so I feel a bit guilty to give just 3 stars, but in this guest house there are a few big flaws in my opinion and I always try to be honest when I write a review.
The pros: wonderful position, right in the middle of the village; fair price (I spent £70 for two nights in a single room, breakfast included); nice, quirky atmosphere.
The cons:
1. my room was facing the main street, so on one hand I had a lovely view of the Bronte church, but on the other I had to endure a lot of noises. The pub in front of the guest house evidently does not advice customers to keep the voice down after a certain hour and it was absolutely impossible for me to sleep before the pub closed, around midnight
2. On the first morning I took a shower but after just a few minutes the hot water run out and I had to rinse my hair under cold water. The second day that did not happen, though
3. very, very thin walls. I could distinctly hear everything that was going on in the other guests's rooms: snoring, television, even thuds, that made my bed shake. I guess that spending some money to insulate the rooms could be a good improvement
4. breakfast: nothing extraordinary but fair for the price. What I did not like was the very short time slot: breakfast is served between 8.30-9, so you just have a strict half an hour, which I think is not ideal when you are on holiday and you want to take it easy. I mean, I got down at 8.40, was served at 8.50, and by 9, when I was still far from have finished, they started to clean up all around my table. No one threw me out, I am not saying this, but I felt a bit uncomfortable and pressured, knowing that I was suppose to leave as soon as I could.
All in all I think the place is nice and the host friendly but there are improvements to be made.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the moors instead of the main street: having the view of the church could be n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We looked for low cost accommodation, and found a top class B & B, better than we could imagine or wish for. The quiet but genuine welcome, & continuing thoughtfulness and attentiveness of the proprietors was unique; the delicious food was served hot, the beds comfy, the whole place clean and efficiently run. It meant a lot, being interested in the Brontes, to stay in this B & B dating from 17th century, close to the church and Parsonage. We each want to return, it was such a great holiday. It's the best B & B I've ever stayed in! Very Highly Recommended...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is an excellent guesthouse. From the friendly and attentive welcome by David through to the very satisfying breakfast, I was thoroughly pleased and felt very much at ease. The beautifully central location is also a great help. Heartily recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zjt39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Cozy, beautiful place where to stay in Haworth. It's just in front of the church, in main street. Our room was a family room large enough for four people, small but comfortable private bathroom, everythng was clean. Quiet, nice and the people working there were very kind and available. Beautiful view from the tea room. I'll come back for sure!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SerenDipity_10_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely Guest House in Haworth situated in the heart of Haworth's Main Street. Lovely staff, friendly and welcoming. Service was top notch and room was very comfortable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankieMacEachen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Once again we had a lovely stay at The Apothecary. We've been coming here for about four years now, maybe longer, and we always have a lovely stay. We always have a warm welcome from David and Nick and in fact my OH now has some extra films on his watchlist courtesy of David!

Lovely breakfast in the back of the tea room with a view across the valley. Clean rooms which have recently been refreshed with plenty of space for all your bits and pieces!

Looking forward to our next trip back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tyrwhittali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haworth
0.0 mi away
The Old White Lion Hotel
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Keighley
Travelodge Keighley
#3 of 6 in Keighley
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Top House
Park Top House
#6 of 20 in Haworth
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wilsons of Haworth
Wilsons of Haworth
#1 of 20 in Haworth
389 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Registry Haworth
0.2 mi away
Ashmount Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apothecary Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apothecary Guest House

Property: Apothecary Guest House
Address: 86 Main Street, Keighley BD22 8DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Keighley > Haworth
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Haworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apothecary Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1987, we are a friendly family owned guesthouse. Situated at the top of the famous cobbled Haworth main street, opposite the Bronte church, we are two minutes walk from the Bronte Parsonage and Yorkshire moors. The Worth Valley steam railway is less than ten minutes from us. Room to the rear of the building have panoramic views of the surrounding moors, whilst those to the front overlook Haworth's famous main street. Built around 1640 you will delight in its' quaintness. The oak beams, millstone grit exterior and intricate passageways. The Apothecary has had many uses in the past 400 years, including an inn, the Co-op shop (see pulley wheel at the top of the building, a private dwelling and a book shop. One can only wonder at the lives and dramas played out over the years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Apothecary Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apothecary Guest House Hotel Haworth
Apothecary Guest House Haworth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing