We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay in sunny Haworth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old White Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haworth
Certificate of Excellence
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay in sunny Haworth”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We last stayed at the Old White Lion in the '70s (we were very young then) and were pleased to find it is still a lovely place to stay. We hadn't booked and were given room 9 with a fantastic view. The room is quite small but it was very clean and comfortable and we had a great night's sleep after a delicous meal in the Hotel (breakfast was good too and they were happy to do a veggie breakfast for me). Incidentally top marks for having a whole page of vegetarian options on the dinner menu. Apart from the service at dinner being a bit inattentive (we had to attract the waitress's attention to order drinks) and one of the meals being cold (this was rectified) we had a great stay and would love to return in the very near future. One silly thing - the usual blurb about putting towels in bathroom on towel rail provided if you don't want clean ones - unless its very well hidden - there is no towel rail. Well done, Old White Lion - great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surreysmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldwhitelion, Public Relations Manager at The Old White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your honest feedback, I can now tell you that all the rooms have towel rails and hooks. We hope you will come and stay with us again soon.
Kind regards
The Old White Lion Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    116
    23
    8
    10
See reviews for
67
221
32
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bingley
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Great location at the top of Main Street. Really warm welcome and all staff throughout stay were friendly and helpful. Food in the bar was good two courses each for four of us cane to 56 pounds and drinks were reasonable too. The breakfast was really tasty full English and plenty of cereals,fruit, juices etc. The room had a spectacular view over the whole area-room 9. It was attractive and comfortable with a really good hospitality tray including biscuits. The down side was that the walls were thin and next door were quite noisy. The floor boards were very creaky and the noise from their bathroom fan was loud. All in all for a one night stay it was fine and was quiet between 11pm and 7am. It was 97.50 including breakfast which I think is a little overpriced but the location is excellent and probably justifies it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BingleyLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldwhitelion, Public Relations Manager at The Old White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for your feed back, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay, but we are sorry about the noise. The fan has now been dealt with, the floorboards I cannot do anything about. The building dates back to the late 17th Century so i'm afraid things are going to creak a little.
Once again thanks for your honesty.
Kind regards
The Old White Lion Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed recently and were impressed with the friendliness of the staff who couldn't do enough to help us. The food was outstanding too and we had a good room with excellent views. Very relaxing and quiet upstairs and nicely busy and interesting downstairs. Would definaetly re-visit. Also stayed at nearby Fleece and it was nowhere near as good.

Room Tip: most have good views, but some betetr than others, ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldwhitelion, Public Relations Manager at The Old White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate you taking your time out to write the review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
The Old White Lion Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We vist this hotel every year in January and every year it just gets better and better. There is a sense of 'coming home'. The staff are so helpful, kind and thoughtful. The food is just lovely and the rooms, although small, are clean and have everything you need for your stay.
I know uits been written before, but there is such a cosy feel to the place.
We cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monica t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldwhitelion, Public Relations Manager at The Old White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you Monica, we appreciate you writing a review it helps all guests who have never visited us before. We look forward to seeing you all again in January.
Thanks again
The Old White Lion Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We booked to stay at The Old White Lion for one night on Valentine's Day, and from the beginning to the end of our stay we were thoroughly impressed with the hotel.

The location is excellent - the hotel is situated right in the centre of Haworth village, near a number of different pubs and shops. The hotel has its own car park (spaces are available on a first come, first served bases and are for customers only).

The rooms were excellent, clean and spacious, and our room was ready before our check-in time of two p.m., which brilliant as we arrived at hotel ahead of schedule. The room was modern, the bathroom was recently refitted and exceptionally clean, the bed was of a good size, spacious and comfortable, and our room had a lovely view of the Worth Valley.

We were also especially impressed by the attention to detail: there was a generous selection of toiletries and a large supply of teas, coffees and even hot chocolate (and biscuits) inside the room - a hot water bottle was also provided!

The hotel has a restaurant and bar, both of which serve food. We had a few drinks in the bar, which was cosy and warm, and the food served there looked delicious. We chose to dine in the restaurant, and food was of a very high standard - best scampi ever, and fillet steak was beautiful also! Breakfast is also served in the same room - and is included in the price, which is a rare find nowadays. It was a generous breakfast, and customers can choose from a selection of cooked and cold breakfasts. Taylors of Harrogate coffee and Yorkshire Tea was much appreciated!

Every member of staff we encountered was warm and very friendly, and willing to help with any problem we might have had (not that there were any problems).

We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Old White Lion Hotel, and it has our highest recommendations. We look forward to our return visit! Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcw54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldwhitelion, Public Relations Manager at The Old White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!! What a lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your Valentines visit it is so good to hear our customers opinions we find out if we are doing things right . It also helps others who have never visited us before. So Thanks again and hopefully we will see you again sometime.
Kind regards
Rachel & The Old White Lion Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Excellent hotel, beautiful food and brilliant service. Huge thankyou to Rachel, the receptionist as she goes all out and helps with every little thing you need! Will be visiting again very shortly.

Room Tip: The three different ones i have stayed in have been perfectly fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolio1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldwhitelion, Public Relations Manager at The Old White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
What can we say, but a big Thank you for your Kind words. We look foward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Rachel & all the White Lion Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chorley
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

My Husband and myself stayed at the White Lion ,on Christmas Eve and Christmas night 2011. It was very homely as soon as you walked in. We stayed in room 15 which was a large room , with very nice large bath room. The food was realy good, and came home a few pounds heavier . Hawarth is a realy pretty place, with the White Lion in a perfect position. I would recommend it to anyone . If i was staying in Hawarth again, it would be the place we would choose to stay .

Room Tip: I can only recommend room 15 as that is the room we stayed. I asked for a bath rather than a shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maiseynaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldwhitelion, Public Relations Manager at The Old White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you and hopefully we will see you again soon.
The Old White Lion Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haworth
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bradford North (Bingley) Hotel
5.4 mi away
Oakwood Hall Hotel
Oakwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bingley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashmount Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wilsons of Haworth
Wilsons of Haworth
#1 of 20 in Haworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haworth Old Hall Inn
Haworth Old Hall Inn
#10 of 20 in Haworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fleece Inn
The Fleece Inn
#6 of 20 in Haworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old White Lion Hotel

Property: The Old White Lion Hotel
Address: 6-10 West Lane, Haworth, Keighley BD22 8DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Keighley > Haworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old White Lion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 300 year old facade of this former coaching inn hides the fact this family run hotel combines charming olde world features with thoroughly modern facilities. Situated at the top of the famous cobbled street, walked by the Revd. Patrick Bronte and his famous family. In more recent times as illustrated on TV in Hovis advertisements. This is very much an establishment where food and drink are taken seriously, and dispensed along with hospitality in good measure. Warmth, comfort and a relaxed atmosphere prevail throughout the 14 en-suite bedrooms, beamed bars, restaurant and oak paneled lounge.Freshly prepared food is provided by the highly qualified chefs. Keeping up with modern trends, without ignoring the popularity of old favourites. Featured in major food guides the Gimmerton restaurant is open every evening. An extensive range of reasonably priced bar meals being available in the cosy bars, where real ales are prominent. Exceptional value breaks available both mid-week as well as weekends throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Old White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old White Lion Haworth
The Old White Lion Hotel Haworth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing