We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Welcome and Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old White Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I have stayed at Old White Lion before and always found it perfect. Location is the best in Haworth. Bronte parsonage and church is 2 minutes walk and the hotel is situated at the top of the old cobbled street of Haworth. It is like taking a step back in time.. Some rooms look over the street and others over the Yorkshire Moors which can be very romantic !
I booked very late and this time the only room left was room 12 which was a little disappointing. Quite small and radiator was not working,( it only heated at the bottom so needed attention) so it was a little cold in the room, also shower was poor and small and soap tray was broken/missing.
I left a note and also told the staff so I assume this will now have been fixed.
(I marked the room as average on this visit but other rooms are much better)
Food was great, varied menu, we ate in the bar rather than restaurant and had a wonderful meal served by lovely staff. Breakfast was good, we had full English served to us by nice ladies rather than the usual buffet and a good choice to suit everyone.
Over all I would recommend Old White Lion and will stay there again, but I will book in advance next time for a better room.

Room Tip: Tell staff whether you want a room overlooking the moors or the main street, moor views seem to be t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sylviaatdurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with some family visitors from Australia, from the moment we checked in on the Friday afternoon to checking out Sunday lunchtime, all the staff were so friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. We loved the traditional feel of the whole place, we were in room 9 with excellent views over the valley, the room was spotlessly clean and had everything you need. We ate in the bar on Friday evening and in the restaurant on Saturday both times the food and service was excellent with a good range of dining options. Breakfast definitely set you up for the day ahead with a endless supply of fruit juices, tea and coffee, a choice of cereals then a variety of cooked options, the waitress who served us breakfast was so patient as all 4 of us had a variety of cooked breakfast requests.
A big thank you to all the staff for making it a lovely weekend away, we will be back.






served us for break

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank TillyJ6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

A very warm welcome awaited us at the charming Old White Lion hotel. We were shown to our rooms, which were small doubles, but perfectly equipped and more than adequate. The rooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean, with a good hot shower and plenty of fresh white towels.
Next morning breakfast was served by a lovely friendly waitress. A good full English, with plenty of hot tea and coffee to hand.
We had a bar snack in the pub area of the hotel and the food was divine. Home made lasagne, followed by good old Yorkshire Bilberry pie and custard.
The hotel is very old ( 300 yrs old) and so has uneven floors and walls, and our only tiny gripe was how difficult the stairs to the rooms were for our elderly disabled mother. However, we appreciate there is not normally a need for a lift and we should have enquired on booking. But apart from that, it was a faultless stay and I would definitely recommend to others and return myself.

Room Tip: Apparently rooms on the front can be subject to noise from the pub opposite- we encountered no noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen_Kingswinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The other reviews of this hotel are spot on. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a genuine, charming old English ambience in the bar and restaurant; and is a great location in the middle of lovely Haworth only a short stroll from the fascinating Bronte residence. Our double bedroom was small but cosy and our one-night stay seemed good value. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Our small but well-appointed double room had a lovely view over valley and hills. We were assigned u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I spend at least 1 week a year at the White Lion (Live in CA USA) due to the fact the food is great the staff are wonderful, the beer is always good and the owners always have time for you. If your looking for a quiet stay in the timeless village of Haworth I would highly recommend the White Lion

Room Tip: Just call and tell the staff what you are looking for and they always try to accomodate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Very last minute one night stay. Very welcoming on arrival. Relatively small single room but clean and tidy with a comfortable bed. Location is great but that means car parking is limited - but an alternative is close by. I would recommend.

Room Tip: For a solo traveller 5 was fine. On the main street - so possible noise at weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robm2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We spent a week at this hotel the room was excellent (room 9) overlooking the Worth Valley. Staff very friendly and helpful breakfast cannot fault. We had several enjoyable meals in the bar areas and seating very comfortable. We did not eat in the restaurant due to the fact that we were quite happy with the meals offered on the bar menu,steak night excellent. The residence lounge is very welcoming with comfortable leather armchairs we spent most evenings watching tv with our drinks. No problem parking. This hotel offers comfort friendless good food and value for money. We will definately return.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haworth
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Keighley
Travelodge Keighley
#3 of 6 in Keighley
157 reviews
5.2 mi away
Five Rise Locks Hotel
Five Rise Locks Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bingley
125 reviews
6.1 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
0.1 mi away
Weavers Guesthouse (formerly Wilsons of Haworth)
0.2 mi away
The Old Registry Haworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old White Lion Hotel

Address: 6-10 West Lane, Keighley BD22 8DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Keighley > Haworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haworth
Price Range: £77 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old White Lion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 300 year old facade of this former coaching inn hides the fact this family run hotel combines charming olde world features with thoroughly modern facilities. Situated at the top of the famous cobbled street, walked by the Revd. Patrick Bronte and his famous family. In more recent times as illustrated on TV in Hovis advertisements. This is very much an establishment where food and drink are taken seriously, and dispensed along with hospitality in good measure. Warmth, comfort and a relaxed atmosphere prevail throughout the 14 en-suite bedrooms, beamed bars, restaurant and oak paneled lounge.Freshly prepared food is provided by the highly qualified chefs. Keeping up with modern trends, without ignoring the popularity of old favourites. Featured in major food guides the Gimmerton restaurant is open every evening. An extensive range of reasonably priced bar meals being available in the cosy bars, where real ales are prominent. Exceptional value breaks available both mid-week as well as weekends throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Old White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old White Lion Haworth
The Old White Lion Hotel Haworth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing