We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old White Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The people who worked there were friendly, but the food was terrible. We (me, my wife & two children) went for a pub lunch. It was basic food, but that's what we wanted. Everything about it tasted "off". Hard to know how you can mess up chips, chicken nuggets, salad, scampi and a chicken burger, but somehow they managed it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AdamOfHudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

We'd booked for Christmas Eve through to Boxing day morning. Wasn't sure what to expect, or if we'd get a meal on xmas eve, as we hadn't booked. We needn't have worried - nothing was too much trouble. A full menu available and very tasty, nicely cooked food - not your average pub grub. Christmas dinner was a dream - again, lovely food, beautifully presented and excellent service from everybody. Not a boutique hotel in appearance, but in character for the location. Rooms had sky and wi fi and GLASS bottles of water with classy biscuits!
Great value too, so if you want a break in Bronte country, as far as we're concerned, this is the place. Thanks to all.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank PeteNeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I went on a romantic trip with my fiance to Howarth for two nights. It was certainly the "romantic" break I was expecting. A gorgeous old hotel, filled with charm and character awaited us. The staff were polite and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The room was spotlessly clean and cosy. The best part though for us was the food. The "Gimmerton" restaurant served the most delicious food, we chose the set menu and were not disappointed. Cooked to perfection. Breakfast was similarly lovely, with a huge choice and massive portions. 100% for everything White Lion, we'll be visiting you again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hairmetalharlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Absolutely lovely. The staff were all very friendly. All our meals could not be faulted. We ate in the bar on our first night, and in the restaurant on the second. The service was very fast and the attention to detail was excellent. Our room had lovely views across the rooftops to the valley beyond, and although a little small, was perfectly adequate and very clean. This is a very old building and once everyone had settled, absolute silence-bliss!!. Haworth is a lovely place, it was Victorian Christmas weekend on our visit, so village became busy-all adding to the atmosphere. On the day we left, we went to Skipton Christmas market, So pleased we arrived before 10.00am-there must have been thousands arriving as we left to visit Grassington, then home to Norfolk.
We would recommend The Old White Lion to all. Well done on every count.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToffeePopcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Our annual outing to this beautiful hotel! Our thanks go out to all the staff who couldn't do enough for you. Food was excellent, great variety as always. A Homely, warm and friendly start to christmas. Booked again already for next year!

Would recommend anyone to stay here, families or couples. Our most relaxing weekends are always spent at the Old White Lyon.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I was struck by the friendliness and warmth of the staff at The Old White Lion which is especially welcome when one is travelling alone. Nothing was too much trouble. The meals I had at the hotel were excellent. It was also nice to relax afterwards in the sitting room which had an ample supply of literature about the area. I

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Been staying at this hotel for a few years on business trips but never stayed socially. Stayed for 3 nights with my wife for the first time and we had an exceptional time. The restaurant for dinner and breakfast was just sublime with a good choice and everything cooked and presented to a standard to be expected in a top class restaurant. Room comfortable and clean, all facilities as expected, to a good standard.
But the added bonus was the friendly, helpful and professional staff who really made our stay exceptional. My wife now insists that she accompany me at all my future board meetings in the area so that she can enjoy the benefits of this gem of a hotel. Recommend to all, Haworth is a unique place - straight out of the picture books and the walks across the moors are outstanding with the added enjoyment of a great hotel.

Room Tip: Room 15 is a good room for couples, best rooms for views is 8 or 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelr22msp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haworth
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Keighley
Travelodge Keighley
#3 of 6 in Keighley
152 reviews
8.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wilsons of Haworth
Wilsons of Haworth
#1 of 20 in Haworth
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Fleece Inn
The Fleece Inn
#7 of 20 in Haworth
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Registry Haworth
0.2 mi away
Ashmount Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old White Lion Hotel

Address: 6-10 West Lane, Keighley BD22 8DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Keighley > Haworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haworth
Price Range: £78 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old White Lion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 300 year old facade of this former coaching inn hides the fact this family run hotel combines charming olde world features with thoroughly modern facilities. Situated at the top of the famous cobbled street, walked by the Revd. Patrick Bronte and his famous family. In more recent times as illustrated on TV in Hovis advertisements. This is very much an establishment where food and drink are taken seriously, and dispensed along with hospitality in good measure. Warmth, comfort and a relaxed atmosphere prevail throughout the 14 en-suite bedrooms, beamed bars, restaurant and oak paneled lounge.Freshly prepared food is provided by the highly qualified chefs. Keeping up with modern trends, without ignoring the popularity of old favourites. Featured in major food guides the Gimmerton restaurant is open every evening. An extensive range of reasonably priced bar meals being available in the cosy bars, where real ales are prominent. Exceptional value breaks available both mid-week as well as weekends throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Old White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old White Lion Haworth
The Old White Lion Hotel Haworth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing