We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss this Yorkshire Gem!”
Review of Old Silent Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Silent Inn
Ranked #13 of 20 Haworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Esperance, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss this Yorkshire Gem!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Located in the beautiful village of Stanbury the Old Silent Inn is surrounded by the beautiful Bronte Moors.

We had the pleasure of staying at the Inn during our recent trip to the UK from Australia. The local scenery is incredible and a walk to nearby Haworth can be very rewarding.

We found the staff at the Inn to be welcoming, polite and extremely helpful! The new owners have really taken this place to a whole new level of hospitality and make you feel welcome the moment you walk through the door. The bedrooms are exceptionally clean and have everything you need to enjoy the local area.

The food in the restaurant is second to none. If your after excellent home-style food than THIS is the place for you! I also feel I should mention their fantastic selection of beers...a lovely way to spend an evening.

I would highly recommend the Old Silent Inn DO NOT miss the opportunity to stay at this traditional Yorkshire beauty!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisabeth Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    48
    19
    7
    13
See reviews for
38
115
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We, my wife and I, spent two nights in the Old Silent Inn just before Easter. The two best things were the fantastically hospitable staff and the food (the beer was pretty good too!). All the staff were friendly helpful and just made us feel really welcome. The cooked breakfasts were just so good and set one up for long walks on the close by Bronte Way. Then back to the Inn for dinner, we were not very adventurous, we could not get past the home made Steak and Theakstone ale pie. It was fantastic on both nights!

The location was so good for so many wonderful walks across the moors. Haworth is only a few minutes away, so its a great base for exploring all things Bronte. We also discovered that the Railway Children was filmed locally a bonus!

OK so the rooms were pretty basic but served its purpose.

Final pont our dog Winnie was also made very welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John6550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Don't expect 5 star accomadation, just 5 star charm. Myself & family stayed here (8of us in total) for my sister- in- law,s 65th birthday & what a great time we had. The owner & staff were so friendly & nothing was a bother to them, so laid back it made us so relaxed. The pub was so olde world with loads of character, fantastic!. The hotel is reputed to be haunted which added loads of fun within our party. The bedrooms were clean& had everything we needed. Food in the restaurant was excellent , I went for the blackpudding for starters ,excellent!! We'll done chef. We will defiantly return for another fun filled weekend

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunderlandWally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The owners and staff are very friendly. Stayed for one night in a twin room. The room was very basic indeed, very small bathroom, old fashioned tiny portable tv, and had no window, only a skylight so was quite dark, however we did see that some of the double rooms where a lot nicer. Still it was excellent value for money and was only staying for one night and the friendly welcome and great service more than made up for it. Good choice of wines, nice menu with local produce, lovely cosy log fires and only a few mins away from Howarth. Full English breakfast was included. For dinner we had the belly pork and my friend had the homemade steak and ale pie, followed by some chocolate brownies and ice cream and washed down with some nice wine. Worth a visit.

Room Tip: if staying I would avoid room 7 if you want a view as no window and only small skylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trshk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Myself and family stayed here one weekend in march. Upon arrival we we're welcomed by such warm friendly staff, from the moment we arrived to the momemt we left all the lovely staff couldn't do enough for us. They made us feel right at home witj our 2 young boys. The rooms had a lovely feel and very clean. Food excellent and very good choice on the menu; especially lamb shank!! Lovely cosy homely place to stay. Home from home would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supercallafraga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I have been going to the Old Silent since the 1970's, when my parents did "sunday afternoon" drves in the country. I vowed then, when I was old enough I would return. In 1982, I got my driving licence and returned and returned and returned etc etc. I've even driven from Torquay, just to have 2 nights there!!. Sure, the surrounding, bleak, wild moors aren't to everybodys liking, but god, the place itself is amazing. I cannot emphasise enough how friendly the staff are, nothing is ever too much trouble. The public bar and the locals are a joy. The dining - be it a quick bar lunch, a family get together or a romantic meal for two - can be described in 4 words "a pure magical experience". The bedrooms, although not what you would expect in a 5* hotel, are spotlessly clean and warm and snug and its worth staying overnight just to sample their wonderful "Yorkshire" breakfast. However, the most amazing thing about the Old Silent is the price!!! I have eaten in so called "swanky" restaurants,that have been more expensive for a meal for two than this place is for a weekend away for two. In over 31yrs I have made one complaint, (a disturbed nights sleep), the accommodation element was immediately waived from my bill. How many hotels do that. If you've never been, book now, go and discover this gem for yourself. I can't wait to get tere again. Shaun Taylor, Lytham St Annes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sacker-price
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My husband and I were given the chance of a "night off" from the children who went to stay with their grandparents. At short notice I booked the Old Silent Inn, who are dog friendly so we could take the family dog.The weather outside was unbelievable with the wind and rain lashing at the windows but inside the pub they had open fires and a fabulous friendly atmosphere, staff and locals alike. We had a fabulous time, the food was really lovely and we will definitely be going back again.. FABULOUS!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandaCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haworth hotels
1.7 mi away
The Old White Lion Hotel
1.8 mi away
Ashmount Country House
1.8 mi away
The Old Registry Haworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Haworth Old Hall Inn
Haworth Old Hall Inn
#10 of 20 in Haworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wilsons of Haworth
Wilsons of Haworth
#1 of 20 in Haworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rosebud Cottage Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Silent Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Silent Inn

Property: Old Silent Inn
Address: Hob Lane | Hob Lane, Haworth, Keighley BD22 0HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Keighley > Haworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Haworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Silent Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Old Silent Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Silent Hotel Haworth
Old Silent Inn Haworth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing