We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A reluctant review!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fleece Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fleece Inn
Ranked #6 of 21 Haworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A reluctant review!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

The only reason I am reluctant is because it is such a welcoming and wonderful b & b in the heart of Haworth that I couldn't not review it, but mightn't get in next time!!! We stayed for only one night, unfortunately! The rooms were really comfortable and our view over the Yorkshire moors, even on a rainy day/night was breathtaking. We ate in The Fleece at night and it was lovely but there are plenty of other places to eat if you want to go out. Staff are 10/10 and I definitely want to go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveandAliOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudy P, Owner at The Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
what a lovely review - even though you had us worried at the headline!
I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you can stay for longer next time to enjoy Haworth & the pub some more.
Thankyou also for the great comments about the star, they work really hard to make sure everyone enjoys their time at The Fleece, so I am glad it showed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    43
    13
    10
    5
See reviews for
47
119
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

From the wonderful welcome, a truly superb bedroom (try to get No 1)., a very cosy atmosphere and impressive food-all in all, one of the best overnight stays in a wonderful setting-give a go, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: A front bedroom with great views over the moors and a busy town with lots of cafes, pubs and interes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudy P, Owner at The Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thankyou for the lovely review, I am happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
We have just regained our 4 stars with Visit Britain due to improvements in the rooms that we're really pleased with so I am glad it was enjoyable for you.
The rooms at the front of the building do have some great views over the front!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Friendly staff and good location, clean room and perfect bed for kids.
We stayed just 1 night at this time, but we really want to come back here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saruo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Very pleasant location, friendly and most helpful staff. Comfortable and clean, good value for money. They went the extra mile when they posted my phone charger to me by first class post. Would stay there again.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here at the Fleece Inn early December and had the most wonderful time. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and we were welcomed by the hosts so well. We ate on the first night in the fleece and sat by the fire, wonderful warming food, real Ale and wine was great. All the staff are so friendly and we have reccommended the Fleece to a number of our friends, we will be returning again very soon ....Christmas starts early in Howarth on 01 December , with all the cobbled streets lit up by fairy lights and beautifully dressed shop windows, it really is like going back in time, victorian themes and friendly shop owners and publicants. Perfect. i am sure in the summer it will be lovely too, but for us we liked wrapping up warm, and enjoying the christmassy atmosphere.We took the staem train to skipton on the saturday and enjoyed the market there, which is on every saturday really worth a visit too.
thank you to all at the Fleece, see you soon!!

Room Tip: the single room has a really good view across howarth , the double room we stayed in had no view , b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angela j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

I have been going to the Fleece for 3 years now and sadly we will not be returning. Not sure if this was just a one off but I can honestly say the way I was treated was un acceptable. Got our 1st round of drinks fine then my son said he wanted a icecream (he is only 3) went to the bar to ask if they served childrens icecream the lady in question answered Yes without even looking up at me, then walked away and totally ignored me so I stood and waited the barman asked if he could help said he wasnt sure if they were serving food so he then proceeded to ask another gentleman at the end of the bar who kindly said he would go and find out. He came back and I over heard them talking saying somebody had not turned up yet for work, not my problem I am just the customer! So after waiting for what felt a very long time i said that i would return to my seat. A short time after the kind gentleman came back to us and said he had sorted it. When we finally got it i could not believe what all the fuss was over it was a scoop of vanilla with a wafer on it!!!
Then i went to the bar to get another round of drinks and my order and money was taken but then they proceeded to serve the next person, so I asked if i could have my drinks and had to wait for them to finish serving the other lady.

The atmosphere was crap and the lady was walking around like a bear with a sore head. After all this was our holiday and children do like icecream on holiday. Totally offended by the way we were treated we managed to look at the funny side, it was Friday the 13th!!!

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrueBrit2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudy P, Owner at The Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Hi,
thankyou for taking the time to write a review, I am sorry that we failed to provide a service that was at all satisfactory for your recent visit. It being Friday the 13th is no excuse.
It is not the standards we try and achieve and I apologise for the things that spoiled your time at the Fleece.
Correctly you state that staffing issues are not your problem and I am not using that as an excuse.
The ice-cream should have been served quite easily and all the staff are aware of this being an option for the children's meals we serve, so I am unsure what happened with both this and your drinks order but I will investigate.
Sometimes if it is cask beer being served, we do allow it to stand for a short while to make sure it is served correctly & that may have caused the delay, again I will check.
I am sorry to hear that you were so unhappy that you will not return, maybe if you feel in time you can give us another chance we will try and do much better, for now I offer my apologies again for not being up to scratch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I have been to The Fleece a few times and every time the atmosphere has been pleasant and the people friendly,

One day me and my wife were even brought out some home cooked chips (for free) and they were lovely,

I went on Saturday night and had a nice pint of Timothy Taylors Ram Tam, lovely!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter691691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haworth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Old White Lion Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Old Registry Haworth
0.2 mi away
Ashmount Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wilsons of Haworth
Wilsons of Haworth
#1 of 21 in Haworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haworth Old Hall Inn
Haworth Old Hall Inn
#10 of 21 in Haworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Top House
Park Top House
#8 of 21 in Haworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fleece Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fleece Inn

Property: The Fleece Inn
Address: 67 Main Street, Haworth, Keighley BD22 8DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Keighley > Haworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Haworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fleece Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Fleece Inn - Haworth. Origionally a coaching house and conveniently situated on the Main Street at the very heart of the village,The Fleece has recently been completeley refurbished to a very high standard. There is a choice of single or double bedrooms all en-suite, tea/coffee making facilities and colour TV. The Fleece also offers the full range of Timothy Taylors Championship cask ales with an excellant lunchtime and evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Fleece Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fleece Hotel Haworth
Fleece Hotel Haworth
The Fleece Inn Haworth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing