We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stress-free, comfortable and decent value in excellent location.”

Aitches Guest House
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Haworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aitches Guest House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Haworth
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stress-free, comfortable and decent value in excellent location.”
Reviewed 1 March 2009

Self and wife looking for good value accommodation for a Bronte-weekend in Haworth. Really very pleased with Aitches. The location could hardly be better and the proprietors were very helpful and informative. Given a discount for the minor inconvenience of moving rooms over the weekend as we had booked late.

A peculiarity is that the cheaper top room has a bath while a more expensive middle floor room - which is a nicer room - only has a shower. You pays your money...

No parking, but parked outside in street over a whole weekend without difficulty.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank New_Malden_flier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    9
    4
    3
    7
See reviews for
8
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2008

For a simple guest house, this was a great place to stay and a fantastic find. We were a little concerned initially as we weren't sure if it was a good place for a family (2 adults and 3 children aged 4, 6 and 7) but there was no other suitable accommodation available in Haworth. The location was brilliant - at the top of the "main historic street" in Haworth and less than 2 minutes walk to the Bronte Parsonage and Church. We managed to get parking on the street directly opposite the guest house but if it is not available, there is a large public car park immediately behind the guest house.
We booked two rooms which were clean and well set up. The rooms were around the corner from all other rooms so even though we had to have two separate rooms (which can be difficult travelling as a family with shared bags) we could go between the two rooms without disturbing anyone else and in privacy. The only concern we had was that the second room was in the attic and up a tiny, steep, narrow staircase without a side rail. Our 4 year old had to be closely supervised on the stairs but the room at the top of the staircase was just lovely and quite big. If you have really young children, this room may not be suitable due to the stairs.
The gentleman and his mother who ran the guest house were just lovely - very friendly, accommodating and helpful. Breakfast was excellent - served in a lovely meals room. The rooms were fantastic value and we would highly recommend this guest house. However, if you have young kids who love to run around and are noisy and need space, this may not be the place for you (just out of courtesy to the other guests). We had no problem with our children though and the hosts were more than happy to have children stay.

  • Liked — Location and friendly hosts
  • Disliked — Staircase leading to second bedroom
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingMum17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2008

We had a lovely weekend in Haworth to celebrate a birthday and recharge our batteries. The Aitches is in a good spot at the top of the main street, and two minutes walk away from the Bronte Parsonage. We had a warm welcome, and the room was clean and well appointed. We liked the extra touch of a glass of sherry and a bowl of sweets. The ensuite was small, but big enough for our needs and everything worked well and there was ample hot water. It was very cold that weekend, and it was lovely to come back to the room and the warmth. There was a very pleasant lounge. David was very helpful and knowledgable about Howarth, but was not intrusive.

The breakfast was very good, with cereal, fruit, juice as well as an excellent cooked breakfast and toast.

There is a well rated restaurant next door, the Weavers. We ate thee and enjoyed the meal particularly the starters, which were delicious, but one main course was bland and a bit disappointing, and we actually had a better main course at the Black Bull pub the next night..

I'd recommend the Aitches, and we'll probably go back

  • Liked — The warm welcome, and how comfortable it was
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tilosrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2008

We booked this guest house at very short notice and arrived within the hour. David the proprietor was very helpful and accommodating. we found the guest house to be very cosy and very well suited to the cobbled street and romantic location. The rooms are lovely and clean and the breakfast is plenty full. David was very helpful in recommending places to eat and places to visit. we are so pleased with our stay here that we have booked to stay again later in the year. Haworth is a lovely place for couples to visit for a romantic get away.

  • Liked — location and friendliness
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manchester_Legend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane,Queensland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2007

We stayed at this B&B overnight after booking sight unseen. While the double room we had up the top floor was reasonably clean it was a little tired and could do with a bit of an update and cleanout of unnecessary furniture. Unfortunately we found the bathroom big enough for a midget - although clean. Once the shower curtain was shut there was hardly room to turn around. Also found the towels whilst fluffy they had had too much fabric softner in them and didn't absorb any water.
Breakfast was as promised very good and plenty of it. The breakfast room had a really pretty outlook and was a lot more updated than the room was.
Overall the stay was okay and the hosts friendly and very helpful.
The B&B is very close to everything and the main street was just like a postcard. Flowers and colour everywhere you looked. The buildings and the cobbled street are just absolutely amazing and this town is sure a visit. The Bronte parsonage visit is also very worth doing if you are a fan of the bronte books.
We ate over the road at the Black bull pub (I think it was called) and they bowled me over with a gluten free menu and really knew what they were talking about - this was a first after two weeks in UK with no one having any gluten free food available or knew what I was talking about apart from M&S and Eats.

  • Liked — Comfortable, food good
  • Disliked — Tiny, tiny bathroom
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire Lass
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2007

After searching on the internet for places to stay in Howarth, we decided to contact the Aitches by telephone directly to make our booking. When we arrived in Howarth, David (prop) showed us to our room - a separate basement flat with its own front door. The room was ample for the two of us, with plenty of toiletries, sweets, biscuits and tea & coffee making facilities. The room was clean and tidy and we felt that we had plenty of privacy during our stay. The ceiling in the basement is low ( my husband is 6ft 2 and he had to stoop through the doorway to the shower), but this in character with the property and the area. Weavers restaurant is next door and there are three pubs all within a few steps of this property - this is a positive as they are quiet local country pubs and all within staggering distance to the room! Breakfast was fantastic. A hot english breakfast, made to order, with a second helping! Cereal and fresh fruit are also on offer along with tea, coffee and friut juice. I was so pleased with the service provided at the 'Aitches' that as soon as we arrived home, i logged on to write this review!

  • Liked — Overall service and friendliness of owners
  • Disliked — Parking costs £2.00 every 24 hours ( not at all bad - but worst thing about this place)
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nixstol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2007

We stayed for 2 nights at the Aitches in July 2007. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the location is excellent, 2 mins from the Bronte Parsonage Museum, 1 minute from the Main Street and the Black Bull pub, 5 minutes from the moors. We caught a taxi from Keighley station to the B&B, which took 10 mins and cost £6.

Our room was very comfortable, albeit up the smallest & steepest flight of stairs I have ever seen - the owners did warn us about them when we booked though so that was fine. If you were planning on bringing a lot of luggage, or a bit unsteady on your feet you would definitely NOT want that room!

The room was quiet, with ensuite bath - no shower. TV, tea & coffee making facilities, biscuits, sweets. Breakfasts were good, the B&B owners were extremely friendly pleasant people, and we would certainly stay again.

One recommendation would be - try and time your trip to catch the Steam railway from Haworth to one of the other local towns - very picturesque!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug_aegn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haworth
0.0 mi away
The Old White Lion Hotel
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Keighley
Travelodge Keighley
#3 of 6 in Keighley
132 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wilsons of Haworth
Wilsons of Haworth
#1 of 20 in Haworth
389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashmount Country House
0.3 mi away
Haworth Old Hall Inn
Haworth Old Hall Inn
#10 of 20 in Haworth
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aitches Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aitches Guest House

Property: Aitches Guest House
Address: 11 West Lane, Keighley BD22 8DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Keighley > Haworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Haworth
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Aitches Hotel Haworth
Aitches Guest House Haworth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing