We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed Friday 13th September”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashmount Country House
Ranked #2 of 20 Haworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stayed Friday 13th September”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Depending on your vehicles satnav you may miss this hotel, after a 3 hour drive eventually found the venue, difficult to get parked, car park full with around 10 vehicles, parking on roadside not advised. Eventually booked in, only to have to walk over the road (in the rain) to the 'off site' accommodation, when we asked about evening meal we were told that due to the chef being dismissed there was NO dinner, and told there was a pub at the top of the hill, not something we would have expected, especially from a so called 4 star establishment and after travelling 3 hours and paying £170 a night. The room was at the top of some seriously narrow and steep stairs, getting suitcases up and down was somewhat a task, the room itself, lost for words, all dark red, the large bath being the feature (with blue light flooring) had a very large mirror behind, the sofa had seen better days, the TV was nearly hanging off the wall and scrapes could be seen where the TV had been moved against the wall, as noted in our welcome letter, the fresh milk was in the fridge, the fridge being a small bar fridge on the floor in the corner which was very noisy throughout the night, basically overall poor décor. We felt like we were in a place of ill repute, maybe other clients would like it but we certainly didn't. Next morning, breakfast, after two pots of tea and the second round of toast we eventually received breakfast (40 minutes) apologies were given (apparently the NEW Chef got the orders mixed up!!) to be honest breakfast was the only good thing we can comment on. On checking out, after attempting to carry out a number of 3 point turns in the hotel car park, gave up and my wife had to guide whilst I reversed our vehicle out onto the main road (not an easy task in a large 4X4) my wife had to stop the traffic coming both ways to allow yet another 3 point turn in the very narrow road. Only blessing, we only booked one night!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Suite Dreams ay No 21. We personally wouldn't choose this room again, nice view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    897
    170
    54
    25
    20
See reviews for
53
925
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Recently stayed at the ashmount last Saturday, we stayed in the no.21 spa retreat. The room was great and the bathroom even better. We had our own private hot tub which was in our own garden and was amazing. I chose this hotel as I wanted to do a little something special as i planned to ask my girlfriend to Marry me. The ashmount was able to pull out all the extras including champagne, strawberries and chocolates on arrival and then while we were out to dinner the redecorated our room with flowers more champagne and chocolates romantic music and candles. I really was impressed and so was my now fiancée. Unfortunately we weren't able to have dinner at the ashmount due to he kitchen being closed but they recommend us a great restaurant called embers about a 5 minute walk away which had great food and a love pianist. The ashmount does cost a little more than your average hotel but you can certainly notice the difference in luxury it was worth every penny and we already plan to come back on our year anniversary. If your looking at doing something special then don't be cheap book the hot tub room and enjoy you won't regret it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waldo9349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed Monday and Tuesday our stay here was perfect .Its our second time staying here and look foward to returning .The twin slippe rbaths are a reall treat looking out on to the moors. The staff are very frendly and helpful the room was superb .Hawarth was very quiet but quaint . Ashmounts breakfast was just what you need to set you up for the day .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnwilson2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

My partner and I have just returned from Ashmount and we couldn't have picked a more perfect place to celebrate my partner's birthday if we tried! On arrival we were greeted by Ashmount's friendly staff (sorry we didn't get names!) and helped with our bags and shown to our room. We stayed in Sanctuary Spa, which was beautiful. The bed was extremely comfortable and the power shower was lovely. The highlight was definitely the hot tub, which made our stay. The staff couldn't do enough to help us, even bringing a bucket of ice for the wine we'd brought and enjoyed in the relaxing lounge. The breakfast was also wonderful and catered for every taste. Overall, Ashmount made my partners birthday a relaxing, memorable one and I'm certain we will be visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaJC30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Drayton
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed back in January when it was snowing and we loved it. Sat in the hotub with a bottle of champagne and the snow falling was a real treat. The dinner we had was well thought out and tasted amazing, I had a corn fed chicken breast stuffed with haggis in a whiskey sauce...lovely. my girlfriend had the fillet steak and it was cooked to perfection. The room was lovely with a multijet shower and a massive bed. We loved the little carafe of sherry that was in the room on arrival. If you want a romantic break, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Having been recommended the hotel by a work colleague, i was very happy that it lived up to his high praise. the room was lovely and had everything you could need, the sherry in the small decanter was a great touch, and The hot tub was just the icing on the cake. we had pre booked the romantic hamper which was pricey, but well worth it. Haworth is very quiet but quaint, and we had a lovely relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We were treated to a night in the Ashmount Country House and what an excellent choice our guests made for us! We were greeted by the lovely Kay who made us feel very welcome after our eight hour journey. Our room was Suite Dreams (across the road) and what a delight! We had our own front door and we were totally independent which meant we could come and go without disturbing anyone - perfect. The room was just as expected and the complimentary sherry was very well received even though neither of us are sherry drinkers!! Unfortunately the restaurant was not open so we explored Haworth instead. All in all, the hotel is different and offers a very relaxed romantic setting. Breakfast has everything on the menu you could possibly want but I would agree about the scrambled eggs being a little grey. If you go to Bronte country, go and see Ray at the Ashmount and you will not be disappointed!!!

Room Tip: Research them on the website and choose the one that suits you. They are all good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestSussexGreeknut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haworth
0.1 mi away
The Old White Lion Hotel
10.1 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
11.9 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
6.1 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
8.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashmount Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashmount Country House

Property: Ashmount Country House
Address: Ashmount Mytholmes Lane, Keighley BD22 8EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Keighley > Haworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Haworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ashmount Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashmount manages to sympathetically combine modern day amenities (such as wi-fi, hot tub) with many of the original features that the Bronte Sisters would have much admired. Most of the furniture is antique and much of the interior of the house, including the beautiful stained glass windows, is original. It is this care & attention to detail - both modern and traditional - that leads us to believe Ashmount to be the most comfortable accommodation with the finest restaurant in Haworth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashmount Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashmount Country House Hotel Haworth
Ashmount Country House Haworth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing