We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive hot tub stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ashmount Country House
Ranked #2 of 20 Haworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed there last summer for my 40th birthday. The hotel is old and lovely, the rooms are small but lovely and ohhhh the hot tubs :D It is very expensive and not really worth all that but it's the only place I found private hot tubs and that's what I wanted and I loved. Breakfast was ok but just usual b and b stuff - nothing too special. The staff were nice. The room really needed the conservatory as the bedroom was small - clever photography. I would go back for my own hot tub fun but don't think I could afford to go back for a long time. The afternoon tea on the day we got there was very lovely and really big - a nice start to a break away.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank domo_leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 548 of 1,189 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

Just stop one night in the secret garden room a little pricey at £185 as the room is nothing special but worth it just for the privet hot tub made to feel very welcome and the atmosphere was relaxed. We had a lovely meal on the evening and the lady who was serving that night 15/4/14 was lovely and attentive without pestering. I was a little disappointed with the breakfast after having such a lovely evening we seated in the morning room but wasn't told where to find cereals and juice's we hunted for them ourselves we had the full English it was OK but didn't reflect the quality of the evening meal. We was asked if we wanted toast and was presented with a toast rack with a slice of white and a slice brown cut into triangles for me it looked skimped on looking at a half empty rack. Set on the table on a plate in small pots was butter and marmalade no offer of jam not everyone likes marmalade me included. I would defiantly stay here again for the hot tubs and views everything was lovely just the breakfast and breakfast service let it down a little.

Room Tip: The rooms with hot tubs are the key to this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sisterwend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We actually stayed in the suite dreams room, same room as previous review, and had a completely different experience. We found the room to be very luxurious and comfortable. The room my not be the worlds biggest room but it provided a us either everything I expected. The view to the rear of the room was of, wait for it... the Yorkshire countryside! And very beautiful and quiet it was too. I was rather stunning to be able to take a long soaking bath whilst looking out at that view. The bed itself, a large 4 poster, was very comfortable, in fact it provided the best nights sleep me and my wife have had in a long time.
The chairs/sofa in the suite were very comfortable and the overall decor of the room was classic and very clean.
The room itself is across the road from the main building. The road is not at all busy and I'm as for it being in the middle of a council estate... well i'm not sure what council estates the previous review have been on, but this was a lovely, traditional Yorkshire road and not one I would describe as resembling anything like a council estate.
When we arrived at the hotel/guest house, (30 mins before check-in) we were greated by a very friendly and genuinely sincere lady. She explained that she'll check if our room was ready but in the mean time she talked us through the building; where things were and breakfast times etc... we were then told about the honesty bar, a very nice touch. We made ourselves comfortable in the one of the sofas in the room, which was filled with eclectic furniture that had character as well as comfort.
After being shown our room, we then took a short stroll (3 mins) into Main Street, Haworth, sincere the location in terms of convenience gets the thumbs up too.
We were booked in for dinner at the hotels/guest house restaurant and we found the service to be excellent. The food itself was delicious, I am by no means a food critic, but I do like to eat out and think I can appreciate decent food when I taste/smell it. Now with exception to Le Gavroche, this meal, especially my main (duck breast with red cabbage) was as good as anything i've eaten.
If I was being ultra critical, I would only wish the car park was out of view if the dining room, but this really did not effect our stay in any way.
Yes, it probably is a guest house, but what a beautiful and relaxing and luxurious guest house. Outstanding and we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zippyglinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Having read the excellent reviews of this establishment and photographs and descriptions on its website advertising it as "Luxury Hotel Accommodation" that " overlook the stunning views of the gardens and moors" we were looking forward to a two night stay for our wedding anniversary last weekend. We are frequent travellers and have enjoyed a variety of accommodations ranging from 5 star plus to 3 star hotels across the UK and Europe. However, we actually only stayed for one night here having booked in and prepaid for 2 nights, deciding that forfeiting the £175.00 that we had already paid for the 2nd night was the better option!!!

The clever photography and misleading wording on its website worked very well indeed.We were COMPLETELY FOOLED by it!! Please note that if you are looking for a 5 star "luxury country house hotel" this is not the place to stay!! This establishment is NOT a "luxury country house hotel" as led to believe from its very misleading website but is in fact a GUEST HOUSE that can only be described as a run down guest house in need of a serious refurbishment both inside and out, along with a serious need for staff training regarding the quality and service one would expect from an as advertised 5 star establishment.

This guest house (which is without a reception area) is situated on a MAIN ROAD in the MIDDLE of a very drab looking HOUSING ESTATE with some of the rooms such as the one we stayed in "Suite dreams" being situated in a very small drab looking converted TERRACED HOUSE that resembled a previously 2 up two down COUNCIL HOUSE opposite the main house (see picture). This "annexe" is grandiosely referred to on the website as offering "luxurious and spacious cottage suites " in what were "formerly the Chauffer and Housekeepers cottage " thus conjuring up images and unrealistic perceptions of a quaint country cottage in the grounds of a luxury country house hotel. This was NOT the case in our experience of it!

Our room was on the upper floor (up a very steep and dingy staircase) of this converted terraced house. It was not the "spacious" suite we expected and as advertised on its website but an incredibly cramped room. Positioned underneath a very small plastic window that looked out onto the bus stop on the main road, a four poster bed was crammed in at one end of the room leaving little space at the side to actually get into bed! A two seater sofa and coffee table were crammed up against the end of the bed and a chair was positioned in the corner that was very inconveniently obstructing the only and tiny wardrobe. There was no room nor facility for the suitcase.

Underneath another very small plastic window at the other end of the room (approximately half a stride away from the tightly crammed in coffee table) an open ended copper bath was situated with party lights twinkling below it!!!! The view from this window was that of tin sheet roofing above the small unkempt garden, housing two rickety, broken and dirty sun loungers and NOT overlooking "stunning views of the gardens and moors" as portrayed on its website (see picture). The separate bathroom was very small and cramped with no hand towel rail next to the hand basin.Handtowels thus had to be placed on top of the toilet cistern for convenience. The walk in shower unit was however the only thing that could be described as spacious (in relative terms)!!!.

There were no facilities for hair styling/drying in front of a mirror as the electrical socket was on the opposite wall to the mirror! No dressing table nor mirror to use as a make up area so be prepared to get ready for the day/evening blind ladies!

The very clever photography on the website with views of the house from the garden is not as it is in reality. The website photograph is taken from an upward angle to project a view of a country manor house in sumptuous grounds. When actually the guest house and annexes are situated on a main road and as with the annexe gardens the main garden is quite small, is unkempt with broken furniture and left untended. Not an area where one would enjoy afternoon tea as pictured on the website!!!

On that point the afternoon tea was ATROCIOUS! Having walked around the garden area we decided to have ours served inside the main house. The bread was stale and the cakes looked as if they had been bought on offer from the local Spar garage. Very poor quality paper napkins were provided (pound shop quality) and no brown sugar on the tables for the coffee. The evening meal was OK but nothing special and certainly NOT 5 star, although served in a well presented nouveau cuisine style. I noticed jam jars on the breakfast tables the next morning as we made our swift exit and not wanting to sample the breakfast! Not exactly a 5 star touch!!!!

The staff were pleasant enough in approach but rather impersonal with some interactions appearing to be guided by a script. When we checked out the following morning informing them that we had decided to cut our stay short there was no concern apparent as to our hasty departure. Thus suggesting we were not the only guests to have made a quick escape after realising they had been hoodwinked!!!

What was good about the place? NOTHING!!!! Apart from its location to Haworth Village (within walking distance).

We would have had no complaints had we expected 3 star accommodation and charged a 3 star service rate and not the extortionate rate of £175.00 per night that was charged for what turned out to be sub standard accommodation and service for the price. NOT good value for money! We have stayed in far superior B&B's for less than £50.00per night!!!

This run down guest house located in the middle of a drab housing estate most certainly does NOT provide "relaxation, comfort and all the amenities you would find in a top hotel" as described on its website! It is NOT a 5 star hotel by any measure!!!!

The management might want to consider being more honest in the portrayal of this accommodation on their website and reduce the rates accordingly to avoid disappointed guests and more negative reviews. The use of both the terms Guest House and Luxury Hotel in its introductory blurb say it all. They are very misleading along with the use of clever photography and choice of "luxuriously furnished" words!!! A total misrepresentation!

We would not recommend this guest house at the current rates charged and will definitely not return!!!

Room Tip: Avoid Suite Dreams 21 located in the "annexe" -very cramped and dingy!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank INTREPID357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashmount_Haworth, General Manager at Ashmount Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Ashmount Country House is sorry to read your reaction to your visit. We have a very large number of satisfied guests. Guests are frequently telling us our images do not do the rooms the justice they require. We always aim to provide an excellent, quality service and the highest standard of food in our AA Rosette restaurant. We will take your comments on board however we are always on hand at any time during your stay you could of come to us with your issues as we were unaware you were very unhappy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed in the Serenity. The bedroom is on the small size. There was nowhere to put your suitcases other than on the bed to unpack. Yo had to squeeze past the bed to go out into the conservatory(and we are trim), but the worst of it was the en suite.....with plastic walls!....in such a beautiful House. We ate there on the eve. we arrived. The food was ok, but the middle of the road pop music was a surprise. The staff were excellent. The position is very convenient. Yes there is a hot tub and conservatory but it is overpriced. You are paying for its situation.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the garden have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank klayuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashmount_Haworth, General Manager at Ashmount Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your room. This room is a very popular with our guests and we have lovely comments if you had brought this to our attention at the time we could have looked at relocating you to another room. Due to the history of the building all rooms are very different in style. We take all comments onboard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My husband and I gave just spent two nights in the sanctuary spa room celebrating our 7th anniversary.
The room, hot tub, food, atmosphere, staff and honesty bar all added to a fabulously memorable weekend. We have come away feeling so relaxed, revived and chilled.
We would definitely recommend it to recharge your batteries and have a wonderful, romantic weekend away

Stayed: April 2014
Thank chloemortimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed one night in this beautiful B&B whilst down on business.
Yes it seems mainly aimed at couples, however for a beautiful relaxing room , it is great for business users too.
Keiran could not have been more helpful, even arranging an early cooked breakfast for me as i was leaving before normal breakfast service.
Breakfast was very nice too.
I was booked into the honeypot room, lots of little nice touches.
Would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone.
Already booked in for another stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maurice l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haworth
0.2 mi away
The Old White Lion Hotel
10.1 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
21.1 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
21.7 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Wilsons of Haworth
Wilsons of Haworth
#1 of 20 in Haworth
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashmount Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashmount Country House

Address: Ashmount Mytholmes Lane, Keighley BD22 8EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Keighley > Haworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Haworth
Price Range: £98 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ashmount Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashmount manages to sympathetically combine modern day amenities (such as wi-fi, hot tub) with many of the original features that the Bronte Sisters would have much admired. Most of the furniture is antique and much of the interior of the house, including the beautiful stained glass windows, is original. It is this care & attention to detail - both modern and traditional - that leads us to believe Ashmount to be the most comfortable accommodation with the finest restaurant in Haworth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashmount Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashmount Country House Hotel Haworth
Ashmount Country House Haworth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing