We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once again very poor and ignorant staff” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Airedale Heifer

The Airedale Heifer
Ranked #5 of 185 Restaurants in Keighley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Gastropub, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The newly refurbished Airedale Heifer is situated between Crossflatts and Riddlesden, in a little village called Sandbeds. The restaurant is open from 12pm to 3pm and 5pm to 9pm Monday to Saturday and from 12pm to 9pm on Sundays. The pub has a large car parking space to the rear, and a large beer garden which is maintained throughout the year, making it a gorgeous hotspot in all weathers. The pub comprises of a spacious bar area and also an open plan family friendly dining/function room, which can easily cater for large parties/functions e.g Weddings, Christenings, Funerals and Memorable birthdays. We have disabled access to the rear of the building and also, a disabled toilet. Our experienced chefs work very closely to ensure that all tastes are catered for on our broad menu selection, which is fresh, home cooked, and where possible, locally sourced. The bar area has a well stocked selection of alcoholic and non alcoholic beverages to suit all tastes, including our very own Bridgehouse Brewery Ales, which have become very popular with our locals. So why not pop in and visit our friendly team who are always happy to assist you :) (Oh and we're dog friendly too!
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Once again very poor and ignorant staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

I always regret having to write a bad review, but this one is long overdue.

No matter how often we visit this eatery we always find the food varies enormously in freshness and quality and the staff are always so unprofessional and ignorant.

I dislike being ignored when I'm waiting to be served and it happens so often - mainly when the staff members are chatting together or there's just one on duty to cover the bar AND the food orders.

I've never felt like a valued customer in this place so I've now started going elsewhere.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    103
    41
    24
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Visited as part of a large group, and was expecting great food as most of our fellow diners have been before. All our food had been pre-ordered!!! My starter had been forgotten and on enquiring was told it would be ready in two minutes it arrived some time later and was not warm or cooked through. My cow pie was a real disappointment. It was a case of quantity over quality. The huge dish was covered in thick pastry which was overcooked/burnt. The filling was mostly potatoe which had a strange taste, there was some meat hidden in the bottom of the dish.
I have visited this place before but not eaten as everything at the time seemed to much trouble and I will not be returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sues2shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bad tempered landlord!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

I went here with my family to have lunch in the attractive beer garden on a sunny spring day. After standing patiently at the bar for 10 mins waiting to get served, we were told by an irate landlord "I'm not running up and down those steps bringing you food"!!! (There are 4 small steps to the garden!) He very rudely told us to sit inside, but when I explained we'd come with the kids for the beer garden, he said all he was prepared to do was leave our food on a table inside and we'd have to fetch it ourselves. We said it was no problem and obliged when the shout came from the door to collect our order. Although he'd obviously been let down by his staff there was totally no excuse to take it out on customers in such a disgraceful manner. The food was reasonable and the pub and beer garden beautiful but any positives were overshadowed by the appalling attitude we were subjected to. Next time the sun shines we'll definitely be 'al fresco' dining elsewhere.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another good meal - 2nd review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Myself and family come here regularly and we have never been let down. We called in last weekend. A family member ordered gammon and I ordered lasagne. The waiting staff were very professional efficient and friendly. We were not waiting too long for our meal, and the portions were very generous. Alongside our main meal we ordered onion rings, which were very large, and had just the right amount of batter on them. For pudding, we had white chocolate cheesecake with ice cream which was lovely. A fantastic place to eat - we will be returning time and time again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We hopped off the canal to grab some lunch here and we're glad we did. The service is very friendly and the food is of a good standard.

Helpful?
Thank WestYorkshireTeaPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Airedale Heifer also viewed

 
Keighley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Airedale Heifer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing