We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for”
Review of Dalesgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dalesgate Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Keighley
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

OK let's start with some positives:

It's relatively cheap.
Staff (and owners?) were helpful.
Location is OK - it is on a main road but is fairly quiet and quite convenient for Keighley if you have a car.
Car parking is plentiful - once you find it round the back.
Room was very warm despite the low temperatures outside.
It was clean.

But there are three things I really look for in an hotel; a decent bed (after all that's its main purpose), a decent bathroom/shower and enough room to swing a decent sized cat.

For my liking the bed was too soft, I prefer something a bit firmer. Now this is personal preference and there was nothing wrong with the bed per se but just not to my taste.

The room was quite large, but it had a sloping roof which meant I could only stand up in about half or it. Not a big problem as there was only me but if there are two of you one will have to duck to get around the side of the bed.

The dribble that came out of the shower was just about enough to get me wet if I ran around long enough. It took several minutes to wash the shampoo off my hair - not good.

So for me this was not an ideal hotel as it met none of my important criteria.

This is really a 2 star hotel - there is no 24h reception, the bar area looks quite nice but is empty and not staffed. The room was adequate as a B&B but not up to modern hotel standards.

I considered giving only 2 blobs but decided on 3 as it isn't really poor, it is maybe average given the price. You get what you pay for, it is relatively cheap and clean and the staff are helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor might have more head room I guess. Rooms on the front overlook the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARH51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    37
    19
    12
    4
See reviews for
16
39
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

2 stars is about right in our opinion for the Dalesgate Hotel, in Keighley, West Yorkshire, England.
My wife, son and I stayed for one night early December 2011, whilst visiting relatives for a 'special' birthday party. We chose this hotel because it is the nearest to our relatives home (which is quite remote), a taxi ride from the hotel not a problem.
We have read all the reviews before we stayed and now we are leaving 'feedback' after we have stayed - firstly, our impressions were ok, arriving in the 'car park' at the rear of the property - you may think a bit 'rough' but ok - no tarmac, just 'stones' and lots of puddles (it had been raining) - We had booked a single for my son and a double for us - cost £40 for the single and £60 for the double - bed and breakfast.
We did not spend a lot of time at the Dalesgate due to our commitments to the 'birthday party' and a little bit of exploring 'Skipton' (where we had a very good 'Fish and Chip' meal in one of the excelent establishments).
The problem at the Dalesgate (in our rooms - 1 and 2) - are the 'pillows' on the beds - they are hard sponge rubber - with which we could not get a good nights sleep.
On a positive note, the 'full english breakfast' was very good - freshly cooked and plenty of tea, coffee and toast.

Room Tip: Our rooms clean and tidy on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin19654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Keighley hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2011

No heating in october and on a main road which is very noisy! Even with triple glazing!
Bar is never open,no sign of evening meals,half the tv channels don't work and broken shower head!
Get me outta here!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milemuncher112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

I stayed in the Dalesgate Hotel for a couple of nights. The service and welcome were wonderful, and the hotel itself was very pleasant indeed. The breakfast was "to die for". I would recommend this hotel to everyone, and will certainly be using it again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2010

went for xmas dinner at the dalesgate on 9.12.10 for a xmas dinner with airedale arthritis care group,it was a excellant meal,lovely table decorations,the waitreses were exellant,a lovely evening had by all,,thank you dalesgate,,

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzie1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mold
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2010

HOT WATER only available morning and evening. Ran the tap for quarter of an hour in the afternoon, never got hot! They must turn it off in the day! Showerbase had two woodscrews protruding from it. You could easily cut your foot open. Low ceilings, labyrinth of steps. Not suited for the elderly or infirm. Never seen the bar open once! Breakfast time was much later during weekends, which is when you want to get out early! Damaged my sump driving up the rocky back lane to the car park. Apart from that it was OK. Prices should be cheaper though.

Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jawaczech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Stayed here for one night in order to attend a wedding nearby, but actually thought of driving home when we first saw it.
Decided to stay and in actual fact it wasn't as bad as we thought, the rooms are clean although very dated and the breakfast which is included in the price is excellent. The staff members we saw were pleasant enough but in all honesty the hotel although vfm needs a complete refurb.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mick1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keighley
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Keighley
Travelodge Keighley
#3 of 6 in Keighley
124 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Old White Lion Hotel
5.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
202 reviews
4.0 mi away
Five Rise Locks Hotel
Five Rise Locks Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bingley
118 reviews
9.7 mi away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalesgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalesgate Hotel

Property: Dalesgate Hotel
Address: 406 Skipton Road | Utley, Keighley BD20 6HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Keighley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Keighley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dalesgate Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales, Bronte Country & only 10 minutes drive from the pretty market town of Skipton; The Dalesgate Hotel offers the ideal base for both business & Pleasure long or short term. The privately owned and independent Hotel was originally the residence of the minister to the chapel which stood on part of the site. It now has 20 en-suite bedrooms with all the usual amenities. It is easily accessible by road, rail & Leeds Bradford Airport is only a short distance away. In July 2014 the "Tour de France" will pass close by the Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dalesgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalesgate Hotel Keighley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing