We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent!....but bring your own pillows!”
Review of Dalesgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dalesgate Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Keighley
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“excellent!....but bring your own pillows!”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

stayed at this lovely hotel for one night.my husband and i had a double room and our teenage daughter had a single room. the owner was very friendly and welcoming.
rooms plenty big enough and spotlessly clean nice comfy beds with fresh bed linen BUT the pillows are hell! they are just lumps of hard foam with no 'give' whatsoever!. two pillows and you are too high, one and you are two low.they really need binning and replacing as they are SO uncomfortable!
breakfast was excellent! prompt, friendly and efficient service. plenty of choice and the cooked breakfast was beautifully cooked. fresh coffee and as much toast as you wanted. nothing was too much trouble.
there is a free large car park to the rear this was rather muddy as it had been raining but we managed fine.
i would definitely recommend this hotel and will visit again but i'll definitely bring my own pillows next time!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleoanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    33
    17
    12
    4
See reviews for
14
37
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bury-st-edmunds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

First impressions were not good, I we had not booked so far in advance and it had not been Easter we would have moved on. On pulling up to the main door the kerb appeal was not good, lots of empty flower pots with dead or dying plants from last year made the front entrance look unloved and unkempt. There was no directions to the car park at the rear of the property, although there was ample parking, albeit a bit scruffy.
Our room was on the top floor of the building facing a very busy main road, the double glazing was ill fitting and inadequate, the room was small and the eaves made it almost impossible to stand upright. Bed comfortable but furniture and fittings scruffy and outdated, shower was rubbish, no flow just a trickle. The room we stayed in did not match the pictures that are displayed on the website.
Good points, staff helpful, very clean,breakfast very good. Would not stay again due to being so outdated and tired.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nursepod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Keighley hotels

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

OK let's start with some positives:

It's relatively cheap.
Staff (and owners?) were helpful.
Location is OK - it is on a main road but is fairly quiet and quite convenient for Keighley if you have a car.
Car parking is plentiful - once you find it round the back.
Room was very warm despite the low temperatures outside.
It was clean.

But there are three things I really look for in an hotel; a decent bed (after all that's its main purpose), a decent bathroom/shower and enough room to swing a decent sized cat.

For my liking the bed was too soft, I prefer something a bit firmer. Now this is personal preference and there was nothing wrong with the bed per se but just not to my taste.

The room was quite large, but it had a sloping roof which meant I could only stand up in about half or it. Not a big problem as there was only me but if there are two of you one will have to duck to get around the side of the bed.

The dribble that came out of the shower was just about enough to get me wet if I ran around long enough. It took several minutes to wash the shampoo off my hair - not good.

So for me this was not an ideal hotel as it met none of my important criteria.

This is really a 2 star hotel - there is no 24h reception, the bar area looks quite nice but is empty and not staffed. The room was adequate as a B&B but not up to modern hotel standards.

I considered giving only 2 blobs but decided on 3 as it isn't really poor, it is maybe average given the price. You get what you pay for, it is relatively cheap and clean and the staff are helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor might have more head room I guess. Rooms on the front overlook the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARH51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

2 stars is about right in our opinion for the Dalesgate Hotel, in Keighley, West Yorkshire, England.
My wife, son and I stayed for one night early December 2011, whilst visiting relatives for a 'special' birthday party. We chose this hotel because it is the nearest to our relatives home (which is quite remote), a taxi ride from the hotel not a problem.
We have read all the reviews before we stayed and now we are leaving 'feedback' after we have stayed - firstly, our impressions were ok, arriving in the 'car park' at the rear of the property - you may think a bit 'rough' but ok - no tarmac, just 'stones' and lots of puddles (it had been raining) - We had booked a single for my son and a double for us - cost £40 for the single and £60 for the double - bed and breakfast.
We did not spend a lot of time at the Dalesgate due to our commitments to the 'birthday party' and a little bit of exploring 'Skipton' (where we had a very good 'Fish and Chip' meal in one of the excelent establishments).
The problem at the Dalesgate (in our rooms - 1 and 2) - are the 'pillows' on the beds - they are hard sponge rubber - with which we could not get a good nights sleep.
On a positive note, the 'full english breakfast' was very good - freshly cooked and plenty of tea, coffee and toast.

Room Tip: Our rooms clean and tidy on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin19654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2011

No heating in october and on a main road which is very noisy! Even with triple glazing!
Bar is never open,no sign of evening meals,half the tv channels don't work and broken shower head!
Get me outta here!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milemuncher112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

I stayed in the Dalesgate Hotel for a couple of nights. The service and welcome were wonderful, and the hotel itself was very pleasant indeed. The breakfast was "to die for". I would recommend this hotel to everyone, and will certainly be using it again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2010

went for xmas dinner at the dalesgate on 9.12.10 for a xmas dinner with airedale arthritis care group,it was a excellant meal,lovely table decorations,the waitreses were exellant,a lovely evening had by all,,thank you dalesgate,,

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzie1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keighley
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Bradford North (Bingley) Hotel
5.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Old White Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Oakwood Hall Hotel
Oakwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bingley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
4.0 mi away
Five Rise Locks Hotel
Five Rise Locks Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bingley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalesgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalesgate Hotel

Property: Dalesgate Hotel
Address: 406 Skipton Road | Utley, Keighley BD20 6HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Keighley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Keighley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dalesgate Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales, Bronte Country & only 10 minutes drive from the pretty market town of Skipton; The Dalesgate Hotel offers the ideal base for both business & Pleasure long or short term. The privately owned and independent Hotel was originally the residence of the minister to the chapel which stood on part of the site. It now has 20 en-suite bedrooms with all the usual amenities. It is easily accessible by road, rail & Leeds Bradford Airport is only a short distance away. In July 2014 the "Tour de France" will pass close by the Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dalesgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalesgate Hotel Keighley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing