We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made to feel at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dalesgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dalesgate Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Keighley
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Made to feel at home”
Reviewed 11 March 2011

I stayed in the Dalesgate Hotel for a couple of nights. The service and welcome were wonderful, and the hotel itself was very pleasant indeed. The breakfast was "to die for". I would recommend this hotel to everyone, and will certainly be using it again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    33
    15
    12
    4
See reviews for
14
35
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Keighley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2010

went for xmas dinner at the dalesgate on 9.12.10 for a xmas dinner with airedale arthritis care group,it was a excellant meal,lovely table decorations,the waitreses were exellant,a lovely evening had by all,,thank you dalesgate,,

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzie1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mold
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2010

HOT WATER only available morning and evening. Ran the tap for quarter of an hour in the afternoon, never got hot! They must turn it off in the day! Showerbase had two woodscrews protruding from it. You could easily cut your foot open. Low ceilings, labyrinth of steps. Not suited for the elderly or infirm. Never seen the bar open once! Breakfast time was much later during weekends, which is when you want to get out early! Damaged my sump driving up the rocky back lane to the car park. Apart from that it was OK. Prices should be cheaper though.

Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jawaczech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Stayed here for one night in order to attend a wedding nearby, but actually thought of driving home when we first saw it.
Decided to stay and in actual fact it wasn't as bad as we thought, the rooms are clean although very dated and the breakfast which is included in the price is excellent. The staff members we saw were pleasant enough but in all honesty the hotel although vfm needs a complete refurb.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mick1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Keighley hotels

manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

The website for this hotel boasts that the owners had many qualifications in the hotel industry and have even decided to branch out into holistic therapy, WRONG CHOICE , they should have gone on to studt interior design and spent the whatever money they had spare on refurbishing the common areas and the rooms. I really didnt expect woodchip and flowery borders and all in pink , pink towels, pink loo, even pink furniture.
In addition the secondary double glazing was broken so I propped it up with some wood but still had traffic noise all night, it was like trying to get to sleep in an interogation room with the floodlight from the sign and street lighting flooding in to the room.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landymanManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

First a couple of caveats: 1. At the time I stayed I was feeling under the weather so may have coloured my opinion and 2. I don't get much say in where I stay as my boss generally books the hotels.

Feeling under the weather as I was, I felt that maybe this was clouding my judgement, so decided to make a list so that I could also include the positives. It feels churlish to criticise, as they didn't actually do anything wrong as such, but in this day and age there's so much competition that you have to be on top of your game surely?

Anyway, the positives: There's an ironing board and iron in the room, the modern television has all the Freeview channels as well as a buit in DVD player, there's a corner shop over the way where you can get the basics and a pub up the street, part of the sizzling pubs chain, where you can get very very reasonably priced food. The bed was very comfortable and cleanliness was good. Staff I met were friendly enough and the breakfast was good, although only served until 9. There's a carpark out the back and 24 hour access to the hotel through a keypad.

OK, the negatives - the decor and furnishings throughout the hotel are ancient, with the vanity table in my room too small to do any work on, and with a broken panel, a vanity chair to sit on which left my knees up round my ears and a numb bum and only a wobbly wicker chair or the bed otherwise to sit on. I was in an attic room which had a steeply sloping ceiling and on which I banged my head several times trying to get at my bag/ kettle/ telly/drawers. It also meant I couldn't stand up to use the toilet! The hotel is on a very busy main road into Keighley so the triple glazing is a necessity, and you are overlooked by houses so have to be careful when wandering around in your pants! The "bathroom" only had a tiny shower with 70s head, the water pressure was non-existent, there was no shelf space anywhere, the shower curtain was mouldy and didn't reach the floor of the shower anyway. It was poorly decorated and finished and there was no extractor. It also had the cheapest, thinnest toilet roll I've ever seen in a hotel, even the Ibis which is going some. There was a ripped valance on the bed, the curtains weren't hung properly and although the bed was comfy, the pillow was a strange foam thing which actively tried to bounce your head back off it. The carpark resembled a building site and had dog mess scattered across it. I'd have raised some of these issues with the staff had I had the chance, but there was no-one around at checkout, so just left my key with the others on the counter.

Viewed in isolation, none of these things are that much of an issue, but altogether make staying in this hotel a generally depressing experience. Sorry to be so blunt!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We stayed here as 3 couples doing a walk from Leeds to Chorley, and the main reasons for our choice were it's location reasonably close to the canal, they allow dogs to stay and reviews of 'excellent breakfasts and friendly service'.
Well I can report that the canal is still in its original location, however we struggled to find the latter two attributes.
In fairness breakfast was okay, but no better. The ingredients were all 'cheap', and considering the price the hotel charges I would have expected much higher quality ( decent sausages and proper fruit juice would be a good start. )
What lets the hotel down the most is the decor - I doubt it's been modernised in 30 years. If that's your thing then great, you'll love it.
Our bathroom had a big hole in the bath panel, and the old-fashioned hairdryer made a racket, whilst cold air limped out. I'm afraid all 3 couples were disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesandNichola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keighley
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Bradford North (Bingley) Hotel
5.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,101 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Old White Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
809 reviews
3.9 mi away
Oakwood Hall Hotel
Oakwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bingley
162 reviews
4.0 mi away
Five Rise Locks Hotel
Five Rise Locks Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bingley
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalesgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalesgate Hotel

Property: Dalesgate Hotel
Address: 406 Skipton Road | Utley, Keighley BD20 6HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Keighley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Keighley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dalesgate Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales, Bronte Country & only 10 minutes drive from the pretty market town of Skipton; The Dalesgate Hotel offers the ideal base for both business & Pleasure long or short term. The privately owned and independent Hotel was originally the residence of the minister to the chapel which stood on part of the site. It now has 20 en-suite bedrooms with all the usual amenities. It is easily accessible by road, rail & Leeds Bradford Airport is only a short distance away. In July 2014 the "Tour de France" will pass close by the Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dalesgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalesgate Hotel Keighley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing