We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Is it me, or are most curry house the same ?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Purple Garlic

Purple Garlic
Ranked #64 of 186 Restaurants in Keighley
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Silsden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Is it me, or are most curry house the same ?”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

I'm no curry officionado, but I do like a good, fresh-tasting spicy meal. I have nothing to complain about this place, but to me it basically served the same sort of curry you can get anywhere and everywhere. Probably pre-made sauces with a bit of a dash of coriander or extra spice, along with your meat of choice to satisfy the descriptions. Tasty if you'd had 10 pints but otherwise pretty average. Service was ok, with the normal "is everything ok with your meal" interruption half-way through. If there was a category for "nothing special" this is the mark I would give this place.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    22
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Having had many take always we decided to eat in. The staff were lovely and the atmosphere and restaurant itself were just right. The food was lovely with the only gripe being the shells left on the prawns meaning we won't be ordering that dish again. Overall we had a lovely evening and will be returning!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJh88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Food good, rest grubby”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The food was good and the service excellent but it is let down by its décor. The toilets are dirty and grim and the restaurant area needs a good clean.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food and great service”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We have had takeaways from Purple Garlic a few times, and they are always much better than any other in the local area. My boyfriend and I ate in the restaurant recently, and really enjoyed it. We were seated quickly and given really friendly, attentive service, and didn't had to wait long at all for our food. The food itself is good; not amazing, but a very decent standard. For the prices you pay, I'd say it's very good value.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FElliott22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lukewarm Bhajis - chewy chicken”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We too have just recently moved to Silsden my bhajis were lukewarm in fact one was almost cold - my main I have frankly eaten better from Asda and made better ones myself. Very disappointed but then we did used to go to seemas in Ilkley before we moved and most likely will be going back there as we have yet to find other restaurants to match their excellence both in food and service. sorry Garlic Purple but dont think we will be paying another visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Therese A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Purple Garlic also viewed

Keighley, West Yorkshire
Keighley, West Yorkshire
 
Keighley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Purple Garlic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing