We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, great service..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Leeds South
Ranked #26 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Staffordshire, UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great service..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

I recently stayed here on business as I had meetings nearby. It's in a great location, just a few minutes from the M62 and ideal if you don't have to be in the centre of Leeds.

My initial one night booking, via Laterooms, cost me just £79 (inc. breakfast) for a double room; I then had cause to stay a second night and managed to add the second night by calling the hotel's central reservations direct. This shows that, in many cases, 'cheap' hotel sites are not necessarily the best place for a deal as hotels wise up to giving customers what they want - at the right price.

My room was a standard double of a reasonable standard although the MP3 dock didn't work and the bathroom on the small side, although clean. To be honest I've stayed in far better rooms for the money but this isn't bad if you just need a room for business.

A note of caution though - check the football fixtures when you're staying.. I arrived the night Arsenal met Leeds in the FA Cup and this meant that the pub, just off the lobby of the hotel, was packed out with local residents getting the run of the place over paying guests!

One final moan would have to be the room service; the menu is the same as the restaurant and isn't much use if you just want a sandwich so the saving grace is that there's a Starbucks in the lobby.

So on to the positives - the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the location is great if you need to get around Leeds / Bradford and other parts of West and South Yorkshire. There's also a retail park just one junction away with many food-chain outlets to offer choice, if not quality, to the hungry visitor.

In conclusion, this is not a bad hotel but don't expect luxury or frills - just a decent bed for the night.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffsMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    596
    292
    121
    80
See reviews for
321
729
57
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Rooms a bit tired furniture flaking and also room dusty.
Leisure facilities are great and front of house staff are very friendly.
Only really bad thing is even when air con turned off there is a constant noise coming through the ducts which is quite annoying.
But will return as leisure club is great alone.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A17ACR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel over Christmas 2011 - the second time we've had a short break with this as our base. The hotel is fairly new so still fresh, clean and contemporary which we prefer. We opted for a double superior bedroom so it had a kingsize bed which was very comfortable. There was sufficient space and the bathroom was also nicely furnished with a lovely big shower head. One strange thing was that there was a kind of 'shutter' on the wall of the bathroom between that and the bedroom so when the bathroom light was on it shone through - not great in the middle of the night. On the other hand we found the main room to be a bit dark - it was difficult to see clearly in the wardrobe for instance. However, that's the only real problem with the room.

It's worth saying that this hotel organises lots of events and we have found it to be a bit noisy so I'd recommend packing ear plugs if you're a light sleeper. The staff are generally very friendly and helpful although can at times be a little unprofessional - ie lady on reception discussing over the telephone a fight that had broken out the night before.

There are good facilities: bar, restaurant, fitness facilities, Starbucks. Unfortunately breakfast can get very busy and the staff, whilst working really hard, are not always organised so we did have to wait quite a while and ask three times for our hot drinks - but I put that mainly down to the fact that it was Christmas so very busy.

I'd definitely stay here again when visiting our family. We've tried a few different hotels in the area and this comes out top every time.

Room Tip: Double superior if want a King Size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hethb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Stayed last night@this hotel,after our Christmas party.the function was good and the food not bad,very slow coming out.it was gone10by the time we'd finished.the hotel itself is very average,staff on reception very good.the whole Place is very dimly lit which is very odd!we took advantage of the facilities and went for a swim,the pool area is very spaciou and nice.the worst thing about this hotel was the room,it was poky dark and very dingy.all in all a very average place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WakefieldAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

I stayed for one night on a business trip, I arrived later in the evening but the room was kept for me. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, modern and tidy, the only thing I would say is that the room was a little on the cool side. So I settled down for the night, I am a light sleeper and normally can't sleep that well for the noise inside the hotel but this was different. There was constant traffic noise that kept me awake, also the selection of pillows were either lumpy, pancakes or too thick. So I wouldn't say it was my best nights sleep. The breakfast was very nice with a good choice and very helpful staff.

Overall very nice clean and tidy hotel but with a couple of draw backs

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessiemol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Had an overnight stay on the way to Northumberland and was impressed, rooms really clean and comfortable and pool and spa facilities excellent.

Dinner in the bar was spoilt by music so loud it was unbearable and we had to leave, however could not hear this from our rooms.

Breakfast good, staff friendly

Room Tip: Better to be on a higher floor away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed here during the Christmas holiday and took advantage of the Hotel's special 'visiting relatives' package. The hotel was busy with lots of families. The accommodation was of a very high standard and the staff were friendly and helpful. We would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Leeds area and we are definitely going back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Crowne Plaza Leeds
#16 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Leeds South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Leeds South

Property: Village Hotel Leeds South
Address: Capitol Boulevard | Tingley, Leeds LS27 0TS, England (Formerly De Vere Village Leeds South)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#8 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Leeds South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Leeds South is located just off Junction 28 from the M62, 6 miles from Leeds Train Station and 12 miles from Leeds Bradford Airport. Nearby attractions include National Media Museum, Leeds City Centre and Leeds Armouries. Village Hotel Leeds South has 115 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Leeds South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Leeds South Hotel Leeds
Village Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing