We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Leeds South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Village Hotel Leeds South
Ranked #25 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel and attended a Christmas party night with work. The hotel was a great location as its so close to the M62. The party was so much fun it was well organised and the food was excellent considering the large number of people that attended. I stayed overnight also, the room was lovely, the bed was so comfy. The shower was really powerful even though the hotel was full the water pressure didn't diminish. The only down side was that the room was a little dark even though I had all the lights on! I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catdurham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    702
    580
    282
    120
    78
See reviews for
309
705
54
404
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

We have just spent 2 nights at The Village celebrating birthday's with family and friends and the overall standard of the hotel was very good for the price paid.
The reception area was lively and the staff very attentive and helpful during check in and throughout the weekend.
Our family room (adapted double room) was clean and comfortable and being on the top floor presented impressive views over Morley and the surrounding area. We had to shuffle the pull out bed into a new position to allow access to the wardrobe but floor space was quite sufficient.
The facilities offered at the hotel were very good although we had no opportunity to try out the pool and fitness area.
We were very pleased with the inclusive breakfast which offered great choice and well prepared food.

On the negative side, the following points were noted ...

The weather was very cold and we suffered a thick fall of snow overnight. In the absence of an independant thermostat we were not able to increase the temperature which fell quite low and no attempt was made to clear the car park which proved extremely treacherous throughout the weekend especially for those in rear wheel drive cars (not us thankfully).

Although the bedroom was good to look at it was not good to see due to dim lights apart from directly above the bed .... interesting !!!

Overall the hotel was ideal for our requiremets in terms of location and cost , perfect as a base for getting out and about the area and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMJH1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Having stayed in Farnborough I was looking forward to staying in the Leeds equivalent and booked an upper deck room again. The hotel is clearly busy and so too are the staff! The room was a little disappointing it lacked that crisp and fresh feel and the towel was well past it's best with raggy edges and going thin. No matter I thought I know that the food will be to a good standard in the restaurant but even that didn't live up to Farnborough's standards Sorry but it all fell a bit short of expectation and someone needs to risk assess the steam outlets on the steam room as just having a warning on the outlet cover isn't going to stop someone getting scolded!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatboyriding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scunthorpe
Level Contributor
92 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

I attend the village leeds south once a month on a workshop.
The facilities are great,its easy to get to of the motorway - & the staff are friendly.
The conference facilities and set up are great, you help yourself to drinks coffee tea machine and sinks in the fridge, along with danish pastures fruit etc on tap.
The room are airy and comfortable.
The lunch is good, nothing brilliant but its hot and fresh.
The pool and gym look great,however I haven't used them.
A busy hotel, with good facilities.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Les N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heysham, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Very disappointing. This is a friendless, unappealing hotel. Small rooms with the basic comforts for the price of £99.00 b&b. yes you get free parking, but that is where the appeal stops. I had an electric heater in my room, quite dangerous, room service was poor as was the food. Uncomfortable bed and noisy corridors. Unconcerned staff who does what the computer says. Will never return. There are lots of hotels in this city that offer better value and comfort.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

I have stayed at the vilage south quite a few times now and really enjoyed my visits.
The rooms have always been very clean, i booked online and payed £59 b&b for one stay and in a great jan deal payed £39 b&b inc eve meal for two so check their website for these offers.
The food in both the verve restaraunt and the victory pub are very good but in my experience the noise in the pub can be very loud at certain times with big tv screens showing football so if you are wanting a quiet eve this is best avoided.
The pool is lovely and clean as are the changing rooms sauna and steam rooms so its well worth a visit before you check out....staff are friendly but reception needs more of them.

Room Tip: I would avoid rooms on the lower floors ie 1st and 2nd as in my opinion seemed of less standard howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
259 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel- on a Friday evening it's usually buzzing, it's in a strange location off the M62 in a business park with nothing really nearby to walk to. The hotel is modern and the the rooms are spacious and modern in design- there is a pool and gym. The hotel has a Starbucks a bar and restaurant and regularly hosts tribute nights. Staff are always helpful. The hotel regularly has "deals" on it's website and mine and my friends deal was bed breakfast and 3 course meal for less than £40 each - a bargain! You would definitely benefit from having a car to stay here but certainly worth a visit and a great nights sleep

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Crowne Plaza Leeds
#15 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#24 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Weetwood Hall
#28 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Leeds South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Leeds South

Property: Village Hotel Leeds South
Address: Capitol Boulevard | Tingley, Leeds LS27 0TS, England (Formerly De Vere Village Leeds South)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#8 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Leeds South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Leeds South is located just off Junction 28 from the M62, 6 miles from Leeds Train Station and 12 miles from Leeds Bradford Airport. Nearby attractions include National Media Museum, Leeds City Centre and Leeds Armouries. Village Hotel Leeds South has 115 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Village Hotel Leeds South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Leeds South Hotel Leeds
Village Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing