We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Village Hotel Leeds South
Ranked #25 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Only stayed one night and only one gripe. 1 night £49 or 1 night £59 with breakfast included (when you book you are then offered a free breakfast but the cost still £50??). As it was I didn't book breakfast and when I got there it was £5.95. I really liked the hotel and think it was excellent value. There appears to be a good bar, café and gym although I didn't have time for any of them. the room was a fair size but was very clean. A few stains on carpet but overall very good. Not sure about staff wearing jeans. Otherwise staff were excellent especially at breakfast. Breakfast was typical hotel self service but there was plenty of it and was reasonable value. No complaints.

Room Tip: I was in 326 I think which was near to the road but it wasn't too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Leeds South, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your recent stay. We did have a problem with our website but that has now been rectifited, I am sorry that you experienced difficulties booking and any confusion it caused. The uniform will be changing in the next few weeks - the jeans are going!! I hope you get the chance to come back and visit us soon and get to try out all our facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    646
    313
    135
    84
See reviews for
341
806
63
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was lovely , loads to do within the place . The gym had good facilities and was constantly busy , with guests of the hotel as well as people who lived and worked close by. The town Tingley itself didn't have much to do , but we were down for a meeting so it was ideal . There was only a couple of suggestions I would make 1 being give people more than 5 rubbish channels !! Freeview would be acceptable x when there's a broken tile in the shower room maybe a bit of tape should go on it , yes an eyesore but would have reassured me that yous were aware if it . We did try and upgrade our room but all the top rooms were taken , but when were down next time we will be upgrading from the start x 10 minutes drive to the white rose , the biggest shopping centre I've seen

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dereknj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Leeds South, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. I am glad to hear you had the opportunity to use or leisure facilities. We are currently looking into upgrading out TV chanels and please be assured our maintainance team are dealing with the cracked tile. Our Upper Decks do sell out very quickly, it is a good idea to call us after you have made your booking where we can upgrade you before your arrival. The Upper Deck rooms do offer a full Sky package, giving you all sports and movie chanels too. The White Rose Centre is very close by and offers a great selection of high street stores. I hope you get the opportunity to visit us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in July was impressed at value for money paid. Rooms very clean and good TV and shower,bed very comfortable. Hotel staff extremely friendly ,helpful and efficient. Breakfast good ,choice of hot and cold food ,good service. Hotel very convenient for Leeds city centre by car.

Room Tip: We had a side room ,which was very quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Leeds South, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I am really pleased to hear you enjoyed you stay with us. We are indeed excellently situated for a trip into Leeds City Centre. I really do hope you get the opportunity to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

stayed here for 1 night. the pool and gym are excellent as shown in the hotels photos. a short drive into leeds city centre, and close to the white rose shopping centre, although not really near anything else. room clean and modern, not much choice on the tv. breakfast was lovely. good choice of fresh fruit, and quality ingredients in the full english. would stay here again if in leeds.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildberrytravelFY8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T, Public Relations Manager at Village Hotel Leeds South, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a nice review. Our leisure centre really does offer some superb facilities and the pictures on line are a very good representation. We are situated excellently for Leeds and White Rose Shopping Centre being just a few moments drive away from the hotel. Our standard rooms do only offer the basic TV Chanels but our Upper Deck rooms at just a £20 suppliment per night offer the full Sky package including movies and sports chanels. Its great to hear you enjoyed breakfast. I hope you do get the chance to come back to Leeds again as we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

stayed here last weekend booked and paid for 3 nights but only stayed 2 as the room was dirty, the bed and pillows were uncomfortable and breakfast was like a cattle market. firstly the glass in the room looked like it had been cleaned with a dirty cloth but i can live with that, then i lost my flip flop under the bed and when i moved the bed the dust and dirt that were under it was disgusting on closer inspection the dust behind the bed was thick and it put me off sleeping in it... when i filled the sink there was an eyelash hair in the water the towels in the bathroom were creased like they hadnt been changed from the previous guest... we had had some crisps on the bed in the morning and when we went to get into bed that night the crumbs were still in the bed they had obviously just pulled the sheets up. the carpets in the hallway need cleaning they had stains all over which didnt look very good on arrival. the walls are paper thin so can hear everything in the next room and there were people up and down the hallways at all hours of the morning talking on mobile phones.
first morning breakfast was fine but the second morning i found myself eating eggshell with must have been in the egg it was disgusting. on a positive note every member of staff i came across was lovely and helpfull. they did ask me on checking out early if it was any fault of theirs but i couldnt be bothered making a fuss. i wouldnt stay again, im sure there are a lot nicer hotels in leeds to stay at for the price you pay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzan119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

what a lovely experience this hotel was, the staff and service outstanding clean rooms
and very comfortable one of the best hotels that I have stayed at and the restaurant manager was so very efficient nothing was to much trouble for any of the staff at this hotel full marks .

Room Tip: can give no tips all rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamerla123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T, Public Relations Manager at Village Hotel Leeds South, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us such lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us. It is wonderful to hear you had such a good time. Your comments have been shared with our staff who are always delighted to hear our guests have had such a great time. We really do hope we can welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel for one night and had high expectations before going from reading some other reviews, however were disappointed with the experience. Our first complaint was that when we got to the room 5 of the lights were out and had to wait around for the maintenance guy to turn up. Whilst waiting, the housemaid came round to finish sorting out the bathroom despite being told our room was ready. Once this was sorted, we had a good evening out at a wedding, came back and slept well the bed was fine and comfortable. In the morning the breakfast had a good spread having pastries, cereal and cooked options it was very busy and rushed service and the food was mild in temperature due to being a buffet style but was enjoyed never the less. In the morning we also decided to use the pool facilities was slightly disappointed when we showed up and they was giving swimming lessons, when booking it wasn't clear that the public used this pool too, also the steam room smelt of mould and wasn't pleasurable to sit in. At the reception we was treated with a smile but when you pay good money you expect more than just a smile, we are not fussy and understand that everyone's stay is different, but this is our view of this hotel and don't recommend it for the price paid, you would get much better service at a Travel Lodge or Premier Inn at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Leeds South, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. Firstly I must apologise that your stay with us didnt meet your expectations, this is very unusual for us. I have passed on your comments to the relevant managers within the hotel who are currently investigating the issues you have raised and implementing re training where necessary. It is only thru feedback such as yours that we can make improvements. I am pleased to hear you had a good night out and a great nights sleep, our beds are really comfy! I do hope this one experience hasnt put you off trying us again if your are in the area. Please be assured this is a one off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Crowne Plaza Leeds
#20 of 87 in Leeds
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#22 of 87 in Leeds
2,021 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#15 of 87 in Leeds
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Leeds South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Leeds South

Property: Village Hotel Leeds South
Address: Capitol Boulevard | Tingley, Leeds LS27 0TS, England (Formerly De Vere Village Leeds South)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#8 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Leeds South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Leeds South is located just off Junction 28 from the M62, 6 miles from Leeds Train Station and 12 miles from Leeds Bradford Airport. Nearby attractions include National Media Museum, Leeds City Centre and Leeds Armouries. Village Hotel Leeds South has 115 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Leeds South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Leeds South Hotel Leeds
Village Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing