We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secure car park? Beware!”
Review of The New Ellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The New Ellington
Ranked #17 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Secure car park? Beware!”
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Arriving at The New Ellington gave a fantasic first impression. My partner and I arrived via car in the early evening and checked in. We were advised by the friendly gent on the front desk to park our car in the secure car park (which they share with an office) and assured us the car would certainly be safe at £14 per night. With our minds at ease, we went up to the room, which was tastefully furnished with a huge bed and gorgeous bathroom facilities - no fault can be found with them! There is attention to detail throughout the rooms and hotel - from the turn down service with complementary water to the thick fluffy dressing downs supplied in the rooms. Sadly, the same cannot be said about the breakfast - expensive to say the least - nearly £5 for 3 slices of toast!! Cheap, White tesco value bread - I was disgusted!! 'fresh' juice was in fact concentrate, and I daren't get started on the pot of gloop that was masquerading as jam. Tasted more like a cooli. However, what will in fact prevent my partner and I returning will be the parking. £14 per night and secure?? Rubbish!! Our car was damaged, probably by an office employee - there is no CCTV covering the hotel's parking spots and nothing was done to rectify the situation. The duty manager was 'away' and we were told we would be called to discuss the situation and as yet nothing. Meaning we have paid £28 to go home with a damaged car. Thanks New Ellington - brilliant customer service.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Terrorsnowbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    242
    98
    40
    25
See reviews for
47
429
23
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Just returned from a business trip in Leeds and was lucky enough for my company to book The New Ellington what a gem the attention to detail is fantastic the beds huge enough room for three people both broadband and wi fi in the room and not forgetting the Nespresso machine in the room.

I had dinner with colleagues in the restaurant and the price and quality was amazing not forgetting the collection of Gin.

Just been told I have to go back to Leeds in a few weeks and can’t wait to stay it certainly is a hidden gem!!

Room Tip: Staff Service Bar Prices Quality of Food
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danontravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We check in on Friday 24 March, hotel is amazing, nice and quiet, beds extra large, attention to detail in every area. The lounge was very lively in the evening giving the place a great atmosphere. A good bonus is the free wi-fi, other hotels in Leeds charge for theirs, sometime £15 per hour!! We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

fabulous little find, this boutique hotel has thought of everything. the room was spacious and well appointed. staff were courtious and helpful. the bed was huge! the bar area was relaxing and chic. would definitely stay agan, will recommend

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1116joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Often stay in Leeds for weekends and have stayed in a number of hotels in the city centre, this is now my favourite. 5 minutes walk to City Square, very comfortable bed, beautifully decorated throughout, friendly staff, nice bar area, off street car parking available, good value booked on Late Rooms. Can't think of any negatives,
Will definitely stay here next time we are in Leeds.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blanshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

I was taken as a birthday/valentines treat to this hotel and I can honestly say it is the most beautiful place I have ever stayed. The room was intimate (but not small) and exceptionally well decorated, the bed was huge. A lovely bathroom with a big bath and rain shower, as well as little things that we'd forgotten to bring (chanpagne and wine glasses in the room).
We loved the lovely bathrobes that were left for us in the room and the whole feel of the hotel as a chic boutique hotel, that didnt feel too over the top. The only things that let it down-parking, £14 (I think) for 24 hours and they failed to arrange the welcome package my partner had paid for (champagne etc), however this was refunded straight away. Would highly recommend this hotel, and we will likely visit it again in the future!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littleun83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Our delux room was beautifully decorated but very small for an alleged 'suite'. The staff were very courteous and discrete. We booked 'room only' and asked to see the breakfast menu the night we arrived to assess whether we would eat in or check out and get breakfast elsewhere. The prices seemed reasonable - £11.50 for full English & £7.95 for poached eggs & muffin so we decided to have breakfast in the hotel. On check out, our breakfast bill came to £33, with separate charges for tea, coffee and the toast we had ordered. Toast consisted of 3 slices of bread, admittedly cut in half, but for a whopping £4.95?! Silly us for assuming these were included? Perhaps, but had they been value for money we'd feel much less aggrieved.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101KatieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,095 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
192 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Ellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Ellington

Property: The New Ellington
Address: 23-25 York Place, Leeds LS1 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#12 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Ellington 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Ellington Leeds nestles amongst a row of Georgian buildings in the heart of the financial district of Leeds. Through its doors you will find distinguished and discreet personalised service. You'll find our decor sleek, stylish and warm and our facilities offer the height of functionality. Once inside you will not want to leave.Location is second to none, with culture and posh shopping all moments away from The New Ellington - but amidst the bustle of commerce and the vibrant nightlife, The New Ellington is a haven of serenity. A luxury boutique hotel par excellence -expect Egyptian cotton bed linen, luxury toiletries, comfortable beds, 24 hours in-room dinning, cocktails to die for and fabulous breakfast. Our guestrooms are immensely comfortable, uncluttered and equipped with state of the art technology, complimentary wireless and hard-wired Internet access, entertainment hubs offering connection for ipods, laptop output and high-definition TV input, Nespresso coffee machines, rainforest shower heads and 32 -inch flat screen televisions complete the picture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The New Ellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Ellington Hotel Leeds
Ellington Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing