We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel built from several houses in a terrace in central Leeds”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The New Ellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The New Ellington
Ranked #11 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice hotel built from several houses in a terrace in central Leeds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

This is a pleasant hotel seemingly constructed from several red-brick houses in a terrace in central Leeds. Good food. Nice bars. Nice decor. A refreshing change from the usual chain hotel. A slight disadvantage is having to trust your car to valet parking.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear HonestJohnBangkok,

Thank you for taking the time to share with Trip Advisors users your positive experience with us during your recent stay in Leeds.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our excellent food and beverage offering, as well as the unusual décor that differs us from other hotel brands.

In regards to your comments concerning valet parking this is not our usual standard and was something arranged by the company who invited you to their launch event.

If you are ever staying in Leeds again please let me know, and I will arrange the booking personally.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    228
    96
    39
    25
See reviews for
46
417
22
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel was presented well but the service and dining experience (breakfast) was terrible. although the bedroom was nice, there was an empty fridge and no water available. after complaining about the breakfast we were told to leave our email address and the manager will contact us personally! (why couldn't they just refund us?) In my opinion this is not a four star hotel! it may appeal to the eye but the standards are very basic. it's not all about the look it's also about the presentation .

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Tracey K,

Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay with, as much as we value feedback from our guests, it does have to be placed in the actual context of your stay. I understand from the team on duty that we accommodated your requests throughout your stay and prior to your arrival so I am unsure why you feel it was basic service.

I have e-mailed your party who stayed with us concerning breakfast and after speaking with other guests who enjoyed theirs coupled with testing the items myself, all I can assume it is more personal taste that you didn’t enjoy our freshly made food which is sourced from the highest quality local suppliers. I am also a little perplexed if the breakfast was so bad that your party ate all of it.

I am of course sorry that you will not be returning to the hotel and should you change your mind please let me know and I can make the arrangements personally.

Best Wishes


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Not worth the money. Poor amateur service, the guy running the bar, also reception couldn't find the key to open up? Advertised as coffee machine in every room you would of thought there would be the coffee pods to go with it and the water was still in the machine from the previous guest. Shabby decor, not a real kingsize bed, 2 beds pushed together, not even bottled water in the room. The glasses on the drinks cabinet were extremely dusty like they had never been touched, mini bar? Only one small carton of milk which would be given at milk time in a primary school. Not worth the money, extremely disappointing, I would not re comment this hotel to anyone.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience, it is difficult to comment as we don’t know when you stayed with us, however I have checked the guest feedback for the last six weeks and there has not been anything mentioned like you have commented on.

I am not sure why you would think that we had two beds pushed together unless you have reserved a twin and moved the beds yourself.

The coffee pods are located in the draw under the machine and our housekeeping team fill the coffee machines with water daily for our guest’s.

We do provide fresh milk in our all rooms and this is a ¼ pint if you do require more than this can be requested as detailed in our Room Directory.

If you would like to provide me with details when you stayed and can look into this personally for you.

Warm Regards,


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Modern, boutique-style hotel. Well decorated and furnished. The room was very luxurious and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Very friendly staff. Quite difficult to find - tucked away from the main road, but this means it's nice and quiet. Still only 5 minutes from the train station. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Love_Sea_And_Ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Love_Sea_and_Ski,

It is always a pleasure to read comments from our guests who have truly enjoyed their experience and thank you for taking the time to share this with Trip Advisor readers.

The team were delighted that you found them friendly and they hope they have the opportunity in the future to look after you again.

Should this be the case please contact me personally and I would be delighted to make the reservation personally.
Warm Regards,


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Was in Leeds on business and stayed here for a couple of nights. Refined, great interiors, good sized rooms and comfy beds. The breakfast was probably one of the best I've had in hotels - strongly recommend the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. Centrally located too, about 5 minute walk from the train station.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bivlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear bivlar,

Thank you for kind comments concerning all aspects of your stay it was a pleasure in-particularly to read your comments concerning your breakfast and I have shared this with our breakfast chef.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and should this be the case please contact me personally and I would be delighted to make the reservation personally.

Warm Regards,


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed here for a mature Hen Weekend. We had a private dining room for a wonderful dinner. The staff were extremely helpful throughout the weekend.
The only slight negative was that some rooms were not cleaned until very late in the day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cinn52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Cinn52,

It was pleasure to look after you all on your Hen Weekend and it was a pleasure to serve you all in our private dining room.

Please accept my apologies if you felt the rooms weren’t serviced earlier in the day but after speaking with Housekeeping we thought you still in your room’s midday not shopping as we discovered.

I do hope you have a special wedding day and if you do considering returning in the future please contact me personally and I would be delighted to make the reservation personally.

Warm Regards,


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I had the pleasure of holding my birthday celebrations at The New Ellington back in February. We hired one of their private rooms and arranged a fixed menu for a small party. It was a fantastic evening and the staff could not have been more helpful or accommodating. The food was delicious and the cocktails were lovely too. I would highly recommend this hotel to those looking to hold a celebration or party in a small, intimate environment!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank FPaynter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNewEllington, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear FPaynter,

Thank you for sharing your experience and it was delighted that you enjoyed your birthday celebrations.

The team and I remember looking after you and were extremely pleased that you had a memorable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back for future celebrations!

Warm Regards,


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Quebecs
#8 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malmaison Hotel
#12 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Ellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Ellington

Property: The New Ellington
Address: 23-25 York Place, Leeds LS1 2EY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#8 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Ellington 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Ellington Leeds nestles amongst a row of Georgian buildings in the heart of the financial district of Leeds. Through its doors you will find distinguished and discreet personalised service. You'll find our decor sleek, stylish and warm and our facilities offer the height of functionality. Once inside you will not want to leave.Location is second to none, with culture and posh shopping all moments away from The New Ellington - but amidst the bustle of commerce and the vibrant nightlife, The New Ellington is a haven of serenity. A luxury boutique hotel par excellence -expect Egyptian cotton bed linen, luxury toiletries, comfortable beds, 24 hours in-room dinning, cocktails to die for and fabulous breakfast. Our guestrooms are immensely comfortable, uncluttered and equipped with state of the art technology, complimentary wireless and hard-wired Internet access, entertainment hubs offering connection for ipods, laptop output and high-definition TV input, Nespresso coffee machines, rainforest shower heads and 32 -inch flat screen televisions complete the picture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The New Ellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Ellington Hotel Leeds
Ellington Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing