We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Room”
Review of The New Ellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The New Ellington
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Lovely Room”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stayed here on business and was pleasantly surprised, The room was huge and very comfy, The evening meal as tasty and well presented! The breakfast was very nice and the staff at breakfast time were really friendly, I would go back again deffo!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNewEllington1, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear oakham07

Thank you for sharing your recent positive experience with us and with the Trip Advisor Community.

I was pleased to read that you were pleasantly surprised with our bedrooms and your experience during dinner and breakfast and that you found your stay with us relaxing and enjoyable.

I have shared your comments with the team and they are delighted that you found them friendly and helpful.

If you would like to stay again please let me know and I will arrange the details personally.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    240
    98
    40
    25
See reviews for
47
428
23
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilsyth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed here for 1 night whilst in the city on business. The we booked a deluxe room because it had a seating area and all of the pictures showed 2 chairs however our room only had the 1 chair, which meant 1 of us had to sit in the desk chair or on the bed which was a slight disappointment. Also every time we left the room, when we went back in we had to setup the TV as the power seemed to be cut to the room completely. Apart from that the room was lovely and very clean. It was close to some nice bars and restaurants but far enough away that you didn't get the noise from them. The hotel doesn't have it's own car park which means you need to park in one about 5 mins walk away but they do give you a discount token for it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pammy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TNE123, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Pammy0,

Thank you for fitting in the time to share with the Trip Advisor community your recent stay.

I was delighted, as well as the team are, that you had an enjoyable time with us and that you found the cleanliness acceptable and you enjoyed our unique location.

Please accept my apologies with the TV I wasn’t aware of this fault and rest assured I am having this matter dealt with as a matter of urgency.

If you back in town again whether it be business or pleasure please let me know and I would be delighted to make the reservation for you.

Warmest Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Beautiful hotel. Different, classy and very comfortable. Rooms are nicely designed. Definitely worth the stay.

We checked in at late night with so we only had the breakfast in the morning. Emily, the lovely lady on shift, added a whole new level of "great experience" to our stay. She greeted us nicely and sat us down to our table, almost made us feel like as if it was our own restaurant. She tailored every request to the highest standards and always had a smile. In short, to me, this kind of service towards guests is a sign of a great hotel that has trained their staff to maintain the highest standards of hospitality. Which, to be honest, is the kind of treatment you would expect from a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Imran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNewEllington1, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Imran,

Thank you for your sharing your positive experience with other Trip Advisor readers.

I was particular delighted you have taken the time to mention one of the team and Emily sends her thanks for you recognising her service.

Next time you must arrive earlier and enjoy our extensive new menu and gins from our ever growing collection.

Warm Regards,

Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night before a wedding in Leeds. Hotel is very nicely decorated, our room was very clean and nicely done out. Towels and bathrobes were a good size and the bed was massive. Gin bar looked excellent although didn't get chance to sample it. Staff were all friendly. Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank K8NSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TNE123, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear K8NSH,

It is always a pleasure to read and share with the team comments like yours and thank for you taking the time to share your positive experience with the Trip Advisor Community.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our luxurious towels and bathrobes as well as the decoration in the rooms.

Next time you visit you really should try one of our 150 Gins which will be increasing over the next coming months.

Please let me know if you are in the area again and I will arrange the details personally.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had not stayed at the New Ellington before, but had been recommended it by a friend who lives local to the hotel and we were excited to stay there.
Unfortunately, when we entered our hotel room, there on bed front and centre was a cushion with a dubious, dried white stain stretched accross it. Not what you want to see on a supposedly fresh and clean bed and I'll spare you the photos. More dried white and unfortunately identifiable spots were on the woodwork next to the pillow, while the headboard above had names carved into it.
And just to round things off; the bed below, supposedly a king, was in fact two singles with a gap in between, in order that the king sized sheet spanned them.
Naturally, my wife whose birthday it was, was not impressed and the suspect cushion was hastily taken down to reception, who seemed less than keen to accept it in its present state. At this point, I was told we could not move rooms as housekeeping had left for the day and as we had the only non-feather bedding available, the room we were leaving would not be able to be remade for someone else to then occupy (a blessing for them I guess!!) We were only offered a move the next day.
The bedding itself seemed clean to the naked eye, so reluctantly we stayed in the room overnight, both minding not to accidentlly role over and disappear down the gap. Then at six in the morning, our joy was compounded when we were both awoken by the air-conditioning unit offering up a prolongued, loud and accurate impression of a rain storm. If only we could have drowned our sorrows with a view of a brick wall and a car port; oh wait!! (To be fair, it is the centre of Leeds and location wise, the hotel is good)

In a rare show of efficiency, we were moved over to a new room the following day, next door to the old room in fact. This new room was everything the other wasn't and while I would maybe suggest there is a fine line in this instance between boutique hotel and glamourised travel lodge, it must be said barring a ridiculously overcomplicated shower/bath/shower system I have no complaints about the second room. Had in fact we been met with this room from day one, this would be an altogether different and happier review. As it was, the trip was soured by that awful introduction to the New Ellington and not just having to stay in that appaling first room, but having to pay for the pleasure to boot.

I think the biggest disappointment however was an no point did anyone ever think to apologise, at any level either during or after our stay.

Room Tip: Avoid room 202!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank WoodFishTheIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TNE123, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear WoodFishThell

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The New Ellington on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my personal apologies for the team not dealing with your concerns in the right manner, this is something I have taken up personally for the first room not meeting your expectations.
As previously mentioned all our headboard and pillows are steam cleaned to ensure that they are clean but due to the nature of the fabric it can leave some residue on the fabric which comes from the material itself. We are in the process of changing the both the headboards and pillows and once we are satisfied the new fabric will not wear in the same way.

I was delighted that the second room met with your approval and that you enjoyed the remainder of your stay with us.

I do hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back, and if you wish to do so, please let me know.

Warm Regards



Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed with family for my daughter's graduation and the experience was excellent from the moment I walked through the door! Friendly efficient staff who made us all feel very welcome - even offering to take group photos to help us remember the day. Bedrooms are large roomy and five star (huge king size beds). Gin bar is definitely worth checking out! Great value - great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TNE123, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear John G,

Thank for you taking the time to share your positive experience with the Trip Advisor Community.

I was pleased to read that your experience was excellent from the moment you walked through the door. I have passed your comments on to the team regarding the extent of your stay and they are delighted you had a memorable time with us.

I was personally delighted to read the comments concerning our beds which are becoming quite a talking point!

If you would like to book again then please let me know and I shall arrange the details personally.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Beautiful room, good price, amazing shower, huge bed, GREAT sleep, beautiful smelling soap!
Was here for a business trip, close to city centre, would definitely reccomend!

Only downfall was breakfast- had prepaid, and the hobbs were broken, so could only have a bacon or sausage sandwich from under the grill, I asked about the sausages and found out the were cooked yesterday and just rehearted- breakfast wasn't cheap so thought that was a bit off. When asked for breakfast refund on checkout the receptionist appeared to not know that the kitchen was having issues and didn't have the authority to give the refund- was emailed very shortly after advising the refund was in place.

All and all would def reccomend, such a beautiful beautiful hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vicmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TNE123, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear vicmark

Thank you for taking the time sharing your positive review with the Trip Advisor Community.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our beautiful boutique rooms and the location of the Hotel.

I was disappointed to read your comments concerning breakfast. We did experience a mechanical failure in the kitchen which meant that we could only offer a limited breakfast. I am unsure why someone told you that it was food re-heated as all our food is freshly cooked. Please accept my apologies for not being able to provide you with one of our hearty Yorkshire Breakfasts.

The next time you are visiting Leeds and wish to stay with us please contact me personally and I would be delighted to make the reservation for you.

Warm Regards



Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,095 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,251 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Ellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Ellington

Property: The New Ellington
Address: 23-25 York Place, Leeds LS1 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#12 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Ellington 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Ellington Leeds nestles amongst a row of Georgian buildings in the heart of the financial district of Leeds. Through its doors you will find distinguished and discreet personalised service. You'll find our decor sleek, stylish and warm and our facilities offer the height of functionality. Once inside you will not want to leave.Location is second to none, with culture and posh shopping all moments away from The New Ellington - but amidst the bustle of commerce and the vibrant nightlife, The New Ellington is a haven of serenity. A luxury boutique hotel par excellence -expect Egyptian cotton bed linen, luxury toiletries, comfortable beds, 24 hours in-room dinning, cocktails to die for and fabulous breakfast. Our guestrooms are immensely comfortable, uncluttered and equipped with state of the art technology, complimentary wireless and hard-wired Internet access, entertainment hubs offering connection for ipods, laptop output and high-definition TV input, Nespresso coffee machines, rainforest shower heads and 32 -inch flat screen televisions complete the picture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The New Ellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Ellington Hotel Leeds
Ellington Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing