We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value ,lacks a bit of wow” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Ellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The New Ellington
Ranked #11 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good value ,lacks a bit of wow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Booked junior suite for a one nightwear in leeds.

Firstly I must say the room rate was good value. the room itself was fine ,good size, good bed and all pretty well as it should be .

Front desk guys were fantastic, very helpful, very friendly and all requests action very well. It was all ok my only comment is it does lack any real wow factor but given the room rate and the very keen staff it's worth a stay...great value if you need a room with a bit of space and very central

Room Tip: Junior suites very good value for city centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNewEllington1, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Richard c

Thank you for sharing your positive experience at The New Ellington with the Trip Advisor Community.

I was pleased to read that you found us good value, and that staff were very helpful during your stay.

If you would like to book again please let me know and I will arrange the details personally.

Warm Regards



Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    225
    94
    39
    25
See reviews for
44
410
22
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked this hotel because we have previously stayed there and enjoyed our stay. We were on a short break for our honeymoon and I think that's why we were disappointed with the mistakes as it was a special occasion for us. Firstly the good points: Nice quiet hotel in a good location just a short walk from the city. The staff are friendly and the rooms are quite spacious.

The negatives: We checked in and the first thing we had to do was empty our bin from the previous guests!! The safe didn't work and we had to ask reception to sort it, there was no coffee for the machine, no bottled water in the fridge and the milk was lumpy and sour!!! The milk was a mystery as it was not out of date and this baffled the receptionist but on checking out we saw the milk stored in the housekeeping cupboards not in a fridge!!! This might explain why it's sour! The hotel states guests benefit from complimentary internet however through our 2 day stay we never benefited from this as it did not work on any of our appliances! We told reception who stated they had no other complaints however last week there were issues so maybe these hadn't been rectified.

It's a shame about the above because these were silly mistakes which all add up to an average hotel and average stay which was disappointing when we were on honeymoon :-(

I wouldn't avoid this hotel as if the above was sorted and some care was taken over the rooms, then this would be an ideal hotel for a city break as it has potential and we witnessed this on our first stay we we enjoyed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from lifts and if you like fresh air and being able to open a window, then don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stan420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNewEllington1, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Stan420

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor Community.

I was pleased to read that you found the rooms spacious, the staff friendly and that we were in an ideal location for your visit to Leeds.

Please accept my apologies for your room not being up to standard upon arrival. Our housekeeping team are trained to be extra vigilant, and I can only put the points missed down to human error, of which we all fall foul to at times.

We would love to welcome you back to The New Ellington, and when you return please let me know and I will arrange the details personally.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from the new Ellington hotel after an amazing nights stay , the hotel is modern , quirky well designed with everything that you could need for an amazing break , the rooms were large , clean and very well thought out ... Beds really comfy and a fantastic nights sleep , we were on a dinner , bed & breakfast package so did eat in the restaurant which we found to be a very high quality meal with great service and we could not fault it. We also enjoyed the bar which served a large selection of gins but also as a none gin drinker was pleasantly surprised at the other selections. All in all a great night It is my 5th visit to Leeds and I have stayed in many of the other standard larger hotels and have got to say the Ellington was a lot nicer and I found the staff and customer service brilliant ... Thank you and we will be back

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNewEllington1, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Nikki B,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience at The New Ellington with the Trip Advisor Community.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your entire stay, and that you took advantage of our fantastic Dinner Bed and Breakfast offer.

If you would like to stay again please contact me personally and I will arrange the details.

Warm Regards

Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Leeds is a vibrant city, but in its midst is a discreet, delightful boutique hotel. The rooms are well appointed, with great air conditioning, power showers and top rate beds, with a surfeit of pillows. Staff are generally efficient with an attentive manager. The gin bar has over 140 different gins.
At times, especially during the week, it is quiet and Digby's the restaurant serves top notch steaks.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vincitveritas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNewEllington1, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Vincitveritas,

Thank you choosing The New Ellington as your base during your visit to Leeds and York. It was a pleasure to meet you and share your experience of your travels over the many years.

I was pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our food offering in particular our steaks “Top Notch”

I have shared your comments with the team and they are thrilled with your comments.
If you are ever in the Leeds area again you know where to find us!

Warm Regards,

Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

I booked this room as a bit of a treat for my hubby and me. One of the attractions being the gin bar. We had a warm welcome and were given our room key. Opened the door and we were overlooking the building site!!!!!! which was fully operational and extremely noisy.We asked to be moved and swiftly were, to a rather dark depressing room, with a dirty toilet rim and a thick layer of dust on the lampshade and the wood framing in the room. Moved again this time to find a disgustingly stained armchair and a complimentary bathrobe with complimentary make-up all over it from the last guest! who knows? apologies were made but no sign of the manager or any effort to speak to us at any point, no robe replacement, and the chair which we asked to be removed stayed in our room.very disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lorraine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNewEllington1, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear lorraineb,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with other Trip Advisor readers.

I am always disappointed to read reviews which don’t meet to our guest’s expectations.

We are fortunate enough for Leeds to be enjoying a birth of regeneration and as such there is building work taking place in the city.

The one you are referring to is opposite the hotel, the noise is kept to a minimum and if any substantial noise is to happen we ensure all our guests are informed prior to arrival.

The building work takes places during a week day when the majority of our guests are out so this does not impose on our guests stay or experience. I am truly sorry if this dampened your stay.

I understand that you spoke with one of my Duty Managers during your stay and on check out so I am at a loss why you thought this hadn’t been dealt with my one of the management team.

Please accept my personal apologies for any short falls during your stay and I have dealt with your concerns with my management team to ensure they don’t occur again.

If you are returning to Leeds in the future and would like to stay again then please contact me personally.

Lorraineb, once again please accept my apologies for any shortfalls.

Warm regards



Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night before a wedding nearby the following day. I booked it because of its proximity to the city centre and train station.
Unfortunately by the time we got there it was quite late so didn't get to take advantage of being so close to the city centre. However, on arrival we received a very warm and friendly welcome.
The hotel is situated down a quiet street slightly away from the main bars and clubs so was nice and peaceful during the night. The decor was very nice, it seemed like the sort of place that might be used by business people on stopovers. The room was massive and there was a great selection of tea and coffee, including herbal tea which I find it usually not included in rooms.
Although it was a short stay, I was impressed with the hotel and it's price and would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank cellophanestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNewEllington1, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear cellophanestar

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with the Trip Advisor Community.

I was pleased to read that you liked our central location, our décor, and the size of our rooms.

Next time why not take full advantage and dine in our restaurant, or try one of our Gins from our growing collection of over 150 Gins

If you would like to stay again please let me know and I will arrange the details personally.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed here for one night as a stopover to the dales, we found it to be in a great position for the town centre shopping etc, we had an executive room which was large and very comfortable with a small balcony. We had a meal in the restaurant which we enjoyed as well as the breakfast. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we would certainly return if we are ever in Leeds again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MichelleChris_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNewEllington1, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear MichelleChris_13

We do appreciate our guests sharing their experience with the Trip Advisor Community so thank you for taking the time to write your review.

t is always a pleasure to read positive comments and I was pleased to read that you liked our location and that you enjoyed your room and meal the evening you stayed.

If you would like to stay again please let me know and I will arrange the details personally.

Warm Regards


Stuart Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Quebecs
#7 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Malmaison Hotel
#14 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Ellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Ellington

Property: The New Ellington
Address: 23-25 York Place, Leeds LS1 2EY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#8 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Ellington 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Ellington Leeds nestles amongst a row of Georgian buildings in the heart of the financial district of Leeds. Through its doors you will find distinguished and discreet personalised service. You'll find our decor sleek, stylish and warm and our facilities offer the height of functionality. Once inside you will not want to leave.Location is second to none, with culture and posh shopping all moments away from The New Ellington - but amidst the bustle of commerce and the vibrant nightlife, The New Ellington is a haven of serenity. A luxury boutique hotel par excellence -expect Egyptian cotton bed linen, luxury toiletries, comfortable beds, 24 hours in-room dinning, cocktails to die for and fabulous breakfast. Our guestrooms are immensely comfortable, uncluttered and equipped with state of the art technology, complimentary wireless and hard-wired Internet access, entertainment hubs offering connection for ipods, laptop output and high-definition TV input, Nespresso coffee machines, rainforest shower heads and 32 -inch flat screen televisions complete the picture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The New Ellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Ellington Hotel Leeds
Ellington Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing