We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something a bit different”
Review of Kendells Bistro

Kendells Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Kendells Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 1,857 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$60
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Something a bit different”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Had heard good things about this place and it didn't disappoint. It's quite unique as there are no menus - everything is displayed on a giant blackboard. We had the set menu, but there's so much choice that it was difficult to choose. The food was fantastic, can't fault the service and the atmosphere made for a lovely meal. My wife is a vegetarian and they had plenty of choice for her too. We'll certainly be going back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,243
    315
    105
    49
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Having been recommended to Kendells by a friend who felt sure we must already be frequenting this hidden gem, we made our first booking (essential) on Tuesday 12th August 2014. We quickly realised why it had been so hard to get a table. The welcome, food and service were exceptional. Although I had only mentioned once in passing a family event, my daughter leaving to travel, every member of staff ensured we had the chance to celebrate it! A special place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Roz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and atmosphere”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We turned up on spec, hoping for a table, but with a place this popular we were pushing our luck a bit too far. No problem though, we were promised a table within the half hour and filled the time with a drink at the nearby Wardrobe bar, which was nice.
First impressions were of a great atmosphere, lively with a good buzz and full of people having a great time. Menus are chalked on big blackboards as they change every couple of days, and staff offered binoculars and to take a photo on our smartphone to make browsing easier. And what a choice! In line with French cuisine, dishes had an emphasis on meat and seafood although there are great-looking options for vegetarians too.
Starters of mussels in a cream and wine sauce and calamari fried with chorizo and broad beans were fabulous and just the right amount. Free bread, in true French style, was available for essential moppage!
For mains we chose calves' liver with mash, bacon and a rich sauce, sea bass with seafood and a provencale sauce, plus a side of simple mixed vegetables - all were faultless. Sadly no room for desserts, tempting though they were.
Service was great - friendly and attentive without being overbearing.
All in all, fantastic food and atmosphere - well-recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Geoff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, service and atmosphere”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

As I share the same surname as this restaurant, it was a must visit for me and my wife shortly after we got married. Having never visited before, I booked a table by phone, and shared a bit of small talk with the person on the other end regarding my name and the fact it would be our first official meal out as husband and wife.

When we arrived we were warmly welcomed by the maître 'd who congratulated us on our recent marriage. On taking our seats, two complimentary glasses of fizz were sent over to us with the regards of the restaurant, and this set the scene for the rest of what turned out to be a fabulous evening.

Service was great throughout, and our food was absolutely delicious. I loved the atmosphere and design of the room, and could frankly have eaten every single thing on the menu.

Following our starters and mains, we asked for the bill as we were pretty stuffed. Before it arrived however, a beautiful plate of complimentary desserts was brought over to us, with the message 'Felicitations Mr and Mrs Kendal' on it. We thought this was just the loveliest thing to have done, and combined with the earlier glasses of fizz, wonderful food and service, and lovely atmosphere in the restaurant, served to secure our custom for life.

I cannot wait to visit again when I am back in the glorious north. Thanks Kendells Bistro - you did great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

It's a great experience to eat at Kendells. Menu's change daily and the whole menu us written on chalk boards, quite unique! Binoculars are provided to help you to read the boards. The quality of food was fabulous, however the menu is quite limited! It's strange that a good quality steak is simply 'steak and chips' for £24.95, with not a mushroom in sight!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RachTruffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kendells Bistro also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Kendells Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing