We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Used to rate Shabab as quite average but....”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shabab Restaurant

Shabab Restaurant
Ranked #158 of 1,805 Restaurants in Leeds
Price range: US$19 - US$32
Cuisines: Pakistani, Afghani, Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Since the 1970s Shabab restaurants have been fighting against the red-flocked flock of Indian restaurants spreading across the UK in all their tasteless glory. By bringing authenticity and style to Asian cuisine, the Shabab brand has shown that eating Indian isn't just about grabbing a bite with beer. At Shabab we believe in serving freshly prepared great tasting food to our diners in a friendly environment. Our knowledgeable staff is keen to recommend our house specialities or prepare your favourites from our a-la- carte menu to suit your taste.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Used to rate Shabab as quite average but....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

No problem to be seated but lighting is a bit on the dark side.

Good varied menu regular new additions. Qualitu of food is good. Staff friendly, attentive but not obtrusive and always ready to advise on dishes.

Recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hayner1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    189
    69
    54
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Once again top service and wonderful food, this time we were a group of 8 we hadn't booked and they were busy but they squeezed us in. lovely food amazing service, friendly and efficient. Abbas our waiter had a great sense of humour.
Every time we come we order something different as there is so much to choose from, and every time it's amazing.
Can't wait to come again!

Thanks guys,
Sam, Kris and the gang xx

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great food, depends who is front of house for service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have been to this restaurant a number of times, the most recent being 1st August 2014. I like the fact that you can oreder food 'off menu', stuff that isn't there but they will agree to serve it without question. The quality is very good, the service does seem to depend upon who is the head of house for want of a better expression. Sometimes they are more attentive than others. Despite that it's a great location, especially if you have trains to catch and the food is always very good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Notdunroaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guiseley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Six of us went here on a wim last week after a day at the races.
Although we hadnt booked a table we were seated straight away. The staff were very friendly and offered suggestions on what to order. The service was fast and efficient for a busy saturday night. The food was delicious, very tasty and not greasy. For a restaurant in town it is very reasonably priced. Having visited a lot of Indian resteraunts, this was vertainly very good. I will be visiting again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambodia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food, outstanding service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

My and my husband have walked passed this place many times and always commented on how delicious it smells (but to be fair what Indian restaurant doesn't?) and last night we decided to give it a try for the first time.

Firstly the inside of the restaurant is beautifully decorated, an eclectic collection of hanging lamps and umbrellas combined with the dark wooden carved tables give this place a real authentic feel.

As soon as we walked in I must say the service we received was some of the best we have ever experience at any restaurant full stop. We eat out quite but are very rarely so impressed that we feel the need to write a review.

We started by ordering the customary popadoms and pickle tray. The selection of pickle trays that came with it were delicious, one in particular was possibly the tastiest I have ever been served. We had difficulty choosing a starter as everything sounded so delicious, but after a few recommendations from our server Roco, decided on Paneer tikka (which we were told is entirely made by the restaurant themselves) and a king prawn stir fry. Both of these were delicious, the stir fry came in a very delicate almost sweet sauce, and the paneer a very generous portion size for the price.

We had the same dilemma in choosing our main courses. It is not often we get to see anything on an menu at an Indian restaurant that is new to us but there were at least 4-5 speciality dishes on the menu that we hadn't come across before so opted to try two of those.

We ordered a smoked lamb dish and a lamb nahari, which we were told was the most popular lamb dish on the menu. The smell of the smoked lamb when it arrived was simply divine, the taste was even better! I would come back for this dish alone. The nahari wasn't as much to our taste (although this may have been because we were comparing it to the smoked lamb!) but never the less the lamb was so incredibly tender it just melted in your mouth.

Throughout out meal we had not just Roco come over to make sure everything was ok with our food, but two other waiters, all with smiles on their faces and you could tell this wasn't because they were obligated but that they actually wanted to make sure we were enjoying everything.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant, Although we visited just after 10pm on a Thursday night so the place was very quite, I get the feeling that even when the place is packed the service would still be brilliant as on paying our thanks to the manager on the way out he told us that the staff had been with him for years, some as long as 8!

Thank you all for a lovely experience and see you again soon.

Dan & Donna

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oehlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shabab Restaurant also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Shabab Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing