We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cold steak and overcooked ( Microwaved) lamb shank”

Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #713 of 1,805 Restaurants in Leeds
Price range: US$32 - US$58
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: In a quiet leafy lane in the Headingley conservation area, Haley's is a convivial yet refined hotel just a few miles from Leeds city centre. The elegant restaurant offers stylish modern British cooking with inventive flair, from monkfish stuffed with black pudding and wrapped in Parma ham to lamb rack with juniper and thyme crust. An informal lounge serves salads, sandwiches and lighter dishes.
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cold steak and overcooked ( Microwaved) lamb shank”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The room was very overcrowded, the single beds were were comfy and the reception staff friendly. The restaurant finished serving at 9pm and the breakfast ( which we missed ) finished at 9.30 am !!.I left some underwear in a drawer and after several emails being told it wasn't there ( by housekeeping) the receptionist finally went and checked herself and found it.!! Hotel was not easy to find, even with satnav. After a long drive we would have welcomed a long drink, did ask but were told bar did not open til 6.30pm and we were not offered a drink, this was about fourish.Would not stay again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluecellio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Located about 10 minute from the main road. Easy 15 minute by bus to the university and city centre.
Very clean room and toilet with many towels and good supply of toiletries!
Had very quiet nights, which to us is important for a good restful sleep. The staff was friendly and helpful.
Did not have the opportunity to try out the restaurant, but the menu looked inviting and reasonably priced.
Highly recommended and would stay if in Leeds again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Zid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Carvery”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Visited carvery on Sunday to celebrate a birthday, we had a room to ourselves as there were 16 of us, we were met by a lovely waitress who showed us to the room, The meat on the carvery was excellent a choice of beef, lamb, pork ,gammon, turkey we had 3 vegetarians who happy with there choice, (always a worry at a carvery!!!) the vegetables were great quite often a little tired in carvery's sat about too long. We all had a sweet I had cheesecake, but could have apple sticky toffee pudding to name but a few, no complains from anybody. Finished off nicely with coffee. We arrived at 12.30 and didn't leave until 3.30 we were not rushed or hassled at any time. We shall certainly be visiting again for our Sunday lunch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Another average meal in an English hotel”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Having ordered a meal - looking forward to Sausage and Mash with summer vegetables I was very disappointed. The starter was fine but the mash on the main course had so much mustard in it that it was actually unpleasant, it was inedible!!
The waitress was very attentive and offered an alternative but too late!!
I was to say the least a little disappointed - chefs cock-up!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SunshineRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Nice and clean great breakfast and so very quite even thou it was fully booked. Stayed two nights but would use it again next time we are visiting Harrogate

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haley's Hotel and Restaurant also viewed

Headingley, Leeds
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Haley's Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing