We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Ranked #10 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Been to the mint in Leeds a couple of times and you will not be disappointed. The decor is modern, the staff are attentive and the facilities are very good.

Room - modern room with all the mod cons, in the main this is great however the tv controls are through the imac and this makes the switching between programs. Also you cannot see a tv guide which means you have to flick through the channels to see if there is anything you want to watch.

Gym - The gym is well equipped with running machines, cross trainers and weights. There is water and towels available, just remember you can only get to the gym from the right hand lift.

Food - The breakfast is great and all very tasty. I also had dinner in the Mint and some bits were excellent while others were OK. The risotto starter was pretty tasteless, there was nothing horrible about it but also nothing right. The main course of pork belly was very tasty and also well presented. The only criticism was that the portion size was so small it resembled a starter. This meant I also had to have dessert (which I usually miss) as I was still hungary, and the rhubarb crumble was excellent if again a little small.

Staff - Very helpful and attentive and check in and out was pretty painless

Overall I would definitely return but I hope they sort out one or two minor issues.

Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Wildsnoopster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,003
    1,386
    359
    120
    80
See reviews for
344
1,694
194
1,008
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (769)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We stayed at the Mint hotel on a Saturday night in April.

We arrived around 10pm and there was no space left in the car park (which is £12 per night) and so we reluctantly agreed to the valet parking (£16 for the night.) Having driven for 5 hours to get to Leeds, I was keen to unwind rather than explore the nearby dark streets and tunnels searching for a more reasonable parking option.

Check in was reasonably fast and we were soon in our room. The room was bright, clean and modern with an imac TV/internet terminal. We were on the canal side which was quiet. The bathroom was clean with a powerful shower.

We ventured upstairs to the bar (which was packed) though a staff member did welcome us and showed us to a table near the windows. We were just too late to go outside onto the terrace, but it looked like a cool place to have a cocktail. We opted for a nice bottle of wine instead (second time lucky as they didn't have the first choice in stock)

A delicious, full cooked breakfast was included in our room rate (though after the parking price we did check with one of the very friendly and helpful staff that this was the case!)

We'd stay here again, but do feel slightly ripped off by the parking which cost 22% of what we paid for the room.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmesse2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Had a very pleasant one night stay here. Room was very high quality and really appreciated a proper Mac computer in the room available free.
Breakfast was also one of the best I have had in a larger chain hotel and the gym although small was also clean and easy to use.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mysticmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Stayed at this hotel before so knew we where going to have good value for money we
Went with my familey great room so clean and fresh and loved the imac in the room
Reception was friendly getting my familey rooms together on the same floor what a view over the canal and leeds also there was no noise which i was expecting for a city centre hotel
Breakfast was taken on the terrace the breakfast staff are a credit to they manager it was so nice to see staff so helpful and smiling and the presentation of the food was wonderful if you don't stay here you would have missed out.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deano223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Great hotel, except for the stupidly complicated in-room tv/computer with no instructions and a hotel bar that charges 10.25 GBP for a medium size glass of wine! I stay in approxiamately 30 - 40 hotels a year and have never been ripped off to such an extent before! You have been warned!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We stayed 2 nights over the weekend. The hotel is lovely, the rooms are very bright and clean. The area is great too just a 5min walk into city centre and there is a couple of restaurants and bars right outside. It's very quiet in the rooms, there is no noise from outside. I would defiantly recommend this hotel and I would
stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljw82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We stayed at Mint Hotel for a weekend over the May Bank Holiday and had a really great experience. The room was comfortable and about what I would expect for the price, i.e. simple, modern, trendy and clean. Internet access on the Apple TV was a great bonus and proved useful. We were on the 10th floor and we experienced no noise from the Skylounge on the 13th floor. However, we were facing the canal side of the building (great view) and I can imagine the other side of the building overlooking the station could be noisier. If I have one complaint of the room, it was a little warm but the that is common with hotel rooms and Mint does have the advantage of an opening window. Breakfast was fantastic with a great choice of what appeared to be quality sourced ingredients. We experienced none of the delays in getting a breakfast table, at least before 09.30 on a BH weekend - in fact we managed to get a table overlooking the canal quay both mornings. We used the Skylounge and it was obviously one of "the" places to go in Leeds. For my middle aged taste it perhaps lacked some of the chilled out atmosphere of some cocktail bars but it looks good and was buzzing and the cocktails were good. Staff were very helpful and friendly throughout the hotel. Location was superb, only 5 minutes walk from the station and never more than 15 minutes from most of the central Leeds sights/shops/venues. Probably the best UK city hotel we have stayed in for a long time and we managed to get a superb rate by not relying on one price comparison website.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrightonBelle_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,187 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#24 of 87 in Leeds
1,991 reviews
Hilton Leeds City
#36 of 87 in Leeds
2,104 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#14 of 87 in Leeds
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Address: Granary Wharf, 2 Wharf Approach, Leeds LS1 4GS, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Leeds)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Holbeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#3 Business Hotel in Leeds
#4 Family Hotel in Leeds
#6 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** Please note that Bridgewater Place is close until mid-May. Diversion signs are in place however if you would like further information on this please do contact the hotel directly *** Our Leeds hotel, built in 2009, is part of the revitalised Granary Wharf area, next to Leeds station and the Leeds to Liverpool canal. All 333 of our bedrooms are styled with absolute consideration for your comfort and feature a 42" flat screen television, complimentary wi-fi and bottled water in each room. Dine in the sophisticated surroundings of City Cafe restaurant or dine alfresco on our south facing, canal-side terrace. There are two bars, our Ground Floor Granary Lounge bar and the very popular 13th floor Sky Lounge offering fantastic cocktails and dining options day through the night with breathtaking view of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing