We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Ranked #10 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Hull UK
1 review
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel for Saturday night. Had a drink in Sky Lounge, booked a table at the restaurant followed by drinks in the bar. City Suite was great (£159.00) breakfast great. Would definately stay at any Mint Hotel. The only tiny problem was on this night there was only one member of staff in the bar and had to wait a while for drinks but the guy serving the drinks worked really really hard to get everyone served.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,001
    1,384
    358
    119
    80
See reviews for
344
1,689
194
1,007
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (768)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Can only concur with all the positive comments about the Mint - stayed on Saturday night, booked in advance through LateRooms.com. £79 B&B, including the complimentary jug of Pimms, which we enjoyed in the Skylounge on the 13th floor.
Room on the 3rd floor overloking the river - nice clean and airy with bathroom (shower) including all white accessories, including bathrobes.
Location is excellent, 5 minutes walk from the railway station, so handy for everything in the city centre (bars, restaurants etc).
Enjoyed breakfast with the deal (normally £15.95 !)

All in all, unbeatable for the price, considering it is a city centre site - will definately be returning !!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigJarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We didn't actually stay at the hotel so this review is cheating a little.. However we spent a full evening there and loved it so much we were quite disappointed to go back to our house in Leeds at the end of the night!

We began our evening in the restaurant on the ground floor. The food was delicious and the service very impressive. So many hotels have a token restaurant where you can predict the menu before you go in. This however was a reason to visit the hotel in itself.

After a delicious meal we wandered up to the Sky Bar where we sipped cocktails and watched the sun go down with a very cool crowd. The nice thing about the crowd were how varied they were, age, couples, groups, hotel guests and locals alike. The result was a relaxed atmosphere. The drinks were expensive but no more than we were expecting and no more than your average hotel bar.

The hotel surroundings were as plush as the interior. The location was ideal, central but not in the midst of the crazy part of town and with lots of similarly new restaurants and bars nearby.

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and would recommend a visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Stayed here as we enjoyed our stay at mint hotel Birmingham so much.... And we definately wasn't disappointed. Checking in early wasn't a problem, nice secure car park (£12 a bit steep though but I guess it is city center), free jug of pimms in the lovely bar, friendly staff and breakfast to die for. Wouldn't need to think twice about staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth10UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

This hotel has everything you could wish for. It is close to the railway station, close to the shops, close to bars and close to restaurants. The staff are superb-really friendly and really helpful in a very genuine way. The rooms have wonderful views and are quite spacious. The bar on the 13th floor is plush, relaxing and very reasonably priced. There is the added bonus that you can sit out on the balcony and have fantastic views of leeds and surrounding areas. The ground floor bar is not as busy and seems to be a rather nice 'chill out' bar with lovely big sofas and an outside seating area by the canal. The food in both the restaurant and the bar is exceptional and only £19.50 for a 3 course meal, it is not badly priced at all.The whole experience is fantastic. What a superb hotel this is! All credit to the great staff that work there. They were brilliant.

Room Tip: Get a junior suite and you get a lot of freebies:late check out, newspapers,sweets, cake,drink and 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elainematty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

I stayed here for one night and was mightily impressed!

You can see the hotel from the train station platform, but it's a bind to get to I ended up getting a taxi as my seemed to be blocked by rivers and railway tracks! However on the way back the hotel provided directions - I have to say was along some dank railway arches however they were covered by CCTV and well lit.

I checked in at about 10pm and for some reason I had to wait 10 minutes for my room to be ready. But the staff were polite.

I had room service which was at the same price as the CityCafe restaurant downstairs and the food was tasty enough.
For a great price (£65) I got a wonderful room, with it's own iMac! This served as the television, internet station and PC - fantastic and novel.

My room overlooked the train station however it was still quiet - other rooms overlook the canal.

The next morning I had a great breakfast although I did have to wait ten minutes for this: but Mint Hotel handled this well be providing free tea, coffee, juices and pastries to those who had to wait.

After breakfast I had a wander around the hotel - it's located by a canal which was teaming with fish, and there are a lot of things going on nearby.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Could not fault this Hotel, the room was outstanding overlooking the canal.
Service from every department was second to none. All facilities including the gym, sky lounge and cafe amazing also food and wine selection was perfect. One single fault with payment before hand as it was a surprise for my girlfriend I attempted to use a different account as we both check our online backing regularly I did not want her to see the booking. A quick phone call and great service from reception sorted this problem out straight away. Would most defiantly recommend to anyone looking for a romantic get away both me and my girlfriend loved this hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the 3rd floor+ as there is a lot of meetings very early on the 1st floor and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benjaminhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,183 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#24 of 87 in Leeds
1,990 reviews
Hilton Leeds City
#36 of 87 in Leeds
2,101 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Address: Granary Wharf, 2 Wharf Approach, Leeds LS1 4GS, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Leeds)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Holbeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#3 Business Hotel in Leeds
#4 Family Hotel in Leeds
#6 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** Please note that Bridgewater Place is close until mid-May. Diversion signs are in place however if you would like further information on this please do contact the hotel directly *** Our Leeds hotel, built in 2009, is part of the revitalised Granary Wharf area, next to Leeds station and the Leeds to Liverpool canal. All 333 of our bedrooms are styled with absolute consideration for your comfort and feature a 42" flat screen television, complimentary wi-fi and bottled water in each room. Dine in the sophisticated surroundings of City Cafe restaurant or dine alfresco on our south facing, canal-side terrace. There are two bars, our Ground Floor Granary Lounge bar and the very popular 13th floor Sky Lounge offering fantastic cocktails and dining options day through the night with breathtaking view of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing