We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, U.K.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Recent one night stay for a romantic weekend surprise. Granary Wharf site is stylish, several nice restaurants and bars very close by. Reception staff dealt with our arrival quickly and efficiently, and provided us with lovely welcome cookies, a nice touch. Our Junior Suite room was exceptional, and well worth the extra spend. Great views over Leeds and out to the countryside, great bed, very stylish throughout. Apple pc and Apple tv were nice surprises. We had a drink in the Granary Bar, which was fine, but nothing special. Having done lots of research on places to eat, and finding that it's very hard to get a table on Saturday nights, I followed a local review of City Cafe, which turned out to be the restaurant in the hotel. I'll give that a seperate review, our meal was first-rate and the service was very good too, and more pleasant views over the Granary Wharf area. After dinner we visited the 13th-floor Skybar, what an experience! A lively, vibrant cocktail bar, full of smartly dressed twenty-somethings sipping mojitos and taking in even better views from the balcony. Not cheap, but well worth the money. In the morning we had breakfast in our room, delivered on time, and with a smile. Overall a great stay, would definitely return. Makes the actual Hilton around the corner look very poor indeed.

Room Tip: Our room (1016) was fabulous, certainly one of the best Hilton rooms I've stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,907
    1,323
    342
    115
    77
See reviews for
326
1,614
187
960
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (737)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

First time we have stayed at Double Tree hotel and it was very good. Loved the warm chocolate cookie we recieved at check-in. Note, check-in is 3pm but we got in early and at 3pm the queue was miles long! Rooms are very comfortable, have everything you would expect all tucked away neatly. Shower was always hot and lovely White Company toiletries. Bar on 13th floor is lush but beware if you want a seat up there you have to book a table, we didnt and there was quite a few emty but reserved. Breakfast was really good, buffet for all the cold food then choose from wide range of hot food brought to table along with hot drinks and toast. Check out was not unitl 12pm so had time for a walk into town before hand. Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Opt for a room on the higher floors, better view and also fab cocktail bar on 13th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

This is a very bright and airy hotel. The location is great for all that Leeds has to offer. Staff are very attentive and the breakfast is also very good. We had a room over looking the canal which was so quiet. The only draw back we had - the room was far too hot for us to have a good night sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal. The other side of the hotel ovelooks Leeds City Station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cymrobangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Stayed here just for one night. There were 6 of us staying here altogether in 3 seperate double rooms. We all had spacious and clean rooms. Our room had a great view over looking the canal. Some of our friends faced over the train station. The rooms are very modern with Mac pc's in. Large, powerful showers with lovely toiletries. We didn't have the breakfast BUT as it was £15 we decided to eat elsewhere! We got a good deal for our room as normally rooms can be quite expensive. We would stay here again as it was a great location from the train station and just a short walk into central Leeds. You are given a tasty warm cookie too which is a nice touch! We did also try the 'sky lounge bar'. This is on the 13th floor of the building and does have a great view. However, it was very busy, limited seating with a lot 'reserved' and for the price of coktails we wouldn't visit again. There are nicer bars in Leeds that this!

Room Tip: We had a room facing the canal- a lovely view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Previously the Mint Hotel, I had stayed in one for the first in Birmingham which was equally as good so this is why I chose this hotel. Since then it has been taken on by Hilton and is still as wonderful. I have paid similar prices for hotels in Leeds which are nowhere near as good - you get alot more for your money. The entrance was welcoming and grand along with the staff, the rooms are comfortable with extras you do not tend to expect these days, I loved the Apple TV along with free Wi-Fi. The bathroom and shower were superb - I could go on but I think you get the idea by now.
I ate in the hotel - dinner and breakfast - service and the quality of the food was excellent. Parking was not a problem - safe and right next to the hotel and easy to find. I really felt I was in the "trendy" part of the city - there are restaurants close by, the city centre very near and if you are travelling by train the station is very close. The view from my room was great - I partly overlooked the station but the trains did not bother me at all.
I will definately return - I am already booked into the same hotel in Glasgow next month which I am looking forward to. Oh and the free giant cookie was delicious.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boos21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-Upon-Tyne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for a friends birthday party in Leeds. We didn't know anything about it but friends were staying here so we decided to do the same. The hotel is in a great location within 5 minutes walk of the train station, supermarket, shops, bars etc so we didn't need to get a taxi anywhere. On arrival we were given a warm chocolate cookie which was amazing and we asked if we could all stay on the sane floor as there was a group of us and they were more than happy to accommodate.

The room was spacious and beautifully decorated. The shower was powerful and the bed comfortable. There is even an iMac tv in every room. We had great views from our room on the fourth floor and plenty of space to get ready and put your belongings.

We paid for bed and breakfast and were not dissapointed with the choice. We had a selection from the cooked menu which was very tasty and well cooked. We also had some bits from the continental breakfast section which were also lovely. We had booked online and they didn't have all the guests down for breakfast so we did end up having to speak to the waitress to get this sorted but it was dealt with swiftly and with no real hassle on our part.

We booked through trivago and it only cost £75 for a double room with breakfast which was great. The parking is £12 for duration of one nights stay which isn't cheap but parking in Leeds is pricey anyway. You can pay an extra £3 for valet parking.

Overall, great hotel and I'd gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladyrokeby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

One of my only complaint so i will get it out of the way is about hotel`s lack of parking and when you do find it , its the cost £12 for 24 hours .
The check in was very speedy and we checked in a little earlier than normal with no problems with complimentary warm cookies ( the best ive tasted).
The rooms are great (room 633) and cant find a fault ,spacious and clean . showers are nice and powerful .
we found the hotel in a very good location to all the resturants and bars in leeds its also near to the train station . we did visit the sky lounge later in the evening but found it very pricey for drinks £8.95 for a cocktail (sorry thats another complaint )
The breakfast was lovely plenty of choice and fresh , it was very busy at the time we were there, but it was a sunday morning .

Would we stay again....... of course

Room Tip: a room on the canal side a little less noise from the train station .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kim23777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#24 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Roomzzz Leeds City
#3 of 86 in Leeds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Address: Granary Wharf, 2 Wharf Approach, Leeds LS1 4GS, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Leeds)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Holbeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#3 Business Hotel in Leeds
#4 Family Hotel in Leeds
#6 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***Please note on 3rd January the check-out time is at 10am and check-in time is from 4pm.*** Our Leeds hotel, built in 2009, is part of the revitalised Granary Wharf area, next to Leeds station and the Leeds to Liverpool canal. All 333 of our bedrooms are styled with absolute consideration for your comfort and feature a 42" flat screen television, complimentary wi-fi and bottled water in each room. Dine in the sophisticated surroundings of City Cafe restaurant or dine alfresco on our south facing, canal-side terrace. There are two bars, our Ground Floor Granary Lounge bar and the very popular 13th floor Sky Lounge offering fantastic cocktails and dining options day through the night with breathtaking view of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing