We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Ranked #9 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2013

This place is modern and well and fit for the young person on the go for pleasure or business.
The rooms are well laid out, spacious and comfortable.
The icing on the cake is the Sky bar, a place where after dark you can see virtually the whole of Leeds in a relaxing, very modern bar serving a wide choice of beers and cocktails, a little pricey but what do you expect from an extravagant place like this.
Beware the Sky bar does get busy in the evenings no matter what day you choose but relax and enjoy the experience it is one for living.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marmaduke1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,090)
There are newer reviews for Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,028 - 3,034 of 4,090 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2013

great business hotel, all MAC, free wifi, breakfast perfect. A nice area to if you want to venture out. However, the roof top bar is pretty good. Blink and you will see Canary wharf of 15 years ago! Perfect for work, on the way a great sandwich bar. You cant fault it!

Room Tip: dont hesitate book it!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chocolatebis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

I stay in Leeds regularly for business and this is most definitely my first choice
Lovely rooms. Hilton breakfast. Kings bed.
Effecient professional staff.
For once, I had a view of the canal rather than the train station! lovely food served via rapid room service.
It's deffo the Place to stay in central Leeds.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hd2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Stayed here in January 2013 with my boyfriend after a recommendation from a colleague. Booked in advance and got a very good price for the one night stay for £47.50. Decided to take advantage of an upgrade offer by Hilton to a junior suite as we have previously done this at the Hilton at Gatwick Airport where the difference was amazing. We paid an extra £29 for this and we had a larger room on the second floor. We were slightly let down that there was not separate lounge are as advised it was a lovely bright large room and still good value for what we had. The sky bar was very nice, on the pricey side but the cocktails are lovely and the views are spectacular and it was great not having to leave the hotel to experience it!
It is a great location surrounded by new posh bars and restaurants and the hotel was clean and fresh and had all that you could need. The staff were friendly and helpful.
We did find the hotel a little difficult to find on foot if you do not know the area as it is it well signposted from the train station and the are several short cuts to get there! Nice place to go for a walk around the docks also. Would stay again and recommend to a friend. Thanks.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rosalyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Stayed here for wedding anniversary more because of the location relative to our chosen restaurant than anything else. Based on the location for the price it was a good choice, however, as it's very close to the train station some of the northern facing rooms look out over it, so suggest trying to get a room not facing north, we quickly got a room change when we saw the view with no fuss.

The hotel as a whole is very clean, very smart and the staff were great. The rooms too were smart and clean with Apple Mac's doubling as TV's which was handy as we could stick in the iPod's and use it as a stereo. The only thing I'd put down as a disappointment was the room size, for the price you pay I would have expected something slightly bigger, as it's a city centre hotel though I suppose that's expected.

Breakfast was good, lots of choice and decent food too, however, if you've booked a special deal which includes breakfast ensure at check-in that you get breakfast on your tariff, they tried to charge us but we managed to argue the fact as I double checked with reception the night before that breakfast was included.

The Hotel's "Sky Bar" on the top floor is great, good atmosphere, friendly staff and a great view over South Leeds, If that's not a contradiction ;) but be aware that because of the popularity of the bar there can be a lot of drunken residents and non-resident revellers alike using the lifts late at night. I think this may be the reason the hotel seems to also attract a lot of "party people", this meant check in on saturday afternoon was very busy, suggest getting there as early as possible on a Friday and Saturday night.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces anywhere other than north Try and get a room away from the lifts so that you...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

well equipped and comfortable-stylish hotel-with good deals available. We stayed on a busy Saturday the last Weekend before Christmas. It did not start well, we arrived before check in time and were told that we had to check n in a couple of hours-ok the room might not be available but I would have thought we could have done the formalities? We were able to leave our bags and park the car (car park charges we concluded were worth it as it is very close by and this is a city centre hotel. When we came back and checked in the staff were friendly and welcoming-the room was a good size and well laid out-no bath just a shower but thats not a problem for me.
We had book on a half board basis and after drinks in the buzzing sky lounge we went down to the restaurant and enjoyed a very pleasant dinner-There was quite a bit of noise from other guests late into the night-morning but we put this down to Christmas high spirits.Breakfast was reasonable. Check out was where my problems came-Firstly despite the bill clearly showing Dinner bed and breakfast the full restaurant bill was also added.When I pointed out that we were half board an allowance was deducted £15 per head-not generous and not mentioned in the restaurant -the menu which we were shown had an a la carte page and what seemed like a table d`hote page. We were left feeling disappointed and after being told by customer services that it was a communication problem that we had highlighted which would be put right.
It was the first time that we have been in a position where we did not know about the cost of our meal until we were checking out and really ruined what had been a pleasing stay to that point.
Our half board deal was noy as good a bargain as it seemed when booking.

Room Tip: watch out for the upgrade options-
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Been visiting Doubletree, or in its previous guise City Inn & Mint Hotel for the past 8 years. Pleasing contemporary decor, superb breakfast, awesome cocktail lounge on the 13th floor, mint clean, good location, discount parking voucher from reception.
Yes the Sky Lounge cocktail bar is pricey but you are rewarded in spades with simply the best views of the city, beautifully lit and a suitable clientele that befits. We always start the evening with a drink or two before venturing out the short walk through the railway underpass to the centre.
We must have visited this hotel 20+ times in the last 8yrs and paid (£54-£109 B&B). When we have ventured elsewhere in Leeds we have generally been let down by cleanliness, decor, food, location, price. Large comfy beds, Apple Macs in room, superb power shower and good lighting in the bathroom.
In this time there was only ever one glitch when the hotel was changing ownership/name in September/October 2011. Although I am hyper critical (grumpy so & so maybe) this was the occasion that I experienced the most superb professional customer service ever by Megan Lolley (believe she has since married/congrats) which to me stood out to be exemplary within the industry. It most certainly did not put us off returning, in fact we have visited more subsequently.
The reason for writing this review, I was researching restaurants in Leeds and realised this site would be nothing without we the reviewers! My previous review this being only my second was more of a moan/setting the record straight on what people perceive as being good food on an all inclusive. It is all too easy not to report on the good or great.
Double Tree is SUPERB!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chillypillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
2,015 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,282 reviews
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#22 of 87 in Leeds
2,078 reviews
Hilton Leeds City
#37 of 87 in Leeds
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre

Address: Granary Wharf, 2 Wharf Approach, Leeds LS1 4GS, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Leeds)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Holbeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#3 Business Hotel in Leeds
#4 Family Hotel in Leeds
#6 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: £69 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** Please note that Bridgewater Place is close until mid-May. Diversion signs are in place however if you would like further information on this please do contact the hotel directly *** Our Leeds hotel, built in 2009, is part of the revitalised Granary Wharf area, next to Leeds station and the Leeds to Liverpool canal. All 333 of our bedrooms are styled with absolute consideration for your comfort and feature a 42" flat screen television, complimentary wi-fi and bottled water in each room. Dine in the sophisticated surroundings of City Cafe restaurant or dine alfresco on our south facing, canal-side terrace. There are two bars, our Ground Floor Granary Lounge bar and the very popular 13th floor Sky Lounge offering fantastic cocktails and dining options day through the night with breathtaking view of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing