We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would have been good but”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Ranked #9 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Looked great nice big room and good price BUT bathroom hadnt been cleaned wet towels shower gel and hair everywhere. They didn't even apologise properly but just gave me some more towels. Shame as could have been great for then price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howardd1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vijay B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Dear Howardd1000

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at our hotel.

I am very sorry that what could have been a great stay was spoiled by the poor standard of bathroom and I can assure you that this is an exception to the standards we are proud of. I have discussed your feedback with my team who have asked for their apologies to be linked with mine.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel and restore your trust. Should you wish to discuss this further or when you are returning please contact me directly on vijay.bhandari@hilton.com.

Kind regards

Vijay Bhandari
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,087)
There are newer reviews for Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,650 - 2,656 of 4,089 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

I recently stayed here with my boyfriend where all staff were very friendly. The rooms were nicely decorated and very clean and modern. We went up to the bar on the 13th floor thinking we'd just have one and it was brilliant! Everyone in Leeds was coming to this bar like the bar in the hilton Manchester. Would recommend popping up there for at least one. The breakfast the next day was also enjoyable.

Room Tip: Visit the bar on the 13th floor!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulaDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights for Leeds festival and will be back next year aswell.

Room was very spacious and iMac was a fantastic touch, ice box located on our floor. Very handy.

Hotel was spotless very clean and staff very friendly always plenty of staff on hand to help out. Very warming and safe.

Stayed in many hilton doubletree and this has been our favourite by far.

Beautiful view of boats and water from our room big full length glass windows to widen the view from the room.

Would easily pass as a higher star rating.

Could not fault atall. Very pleased with my stay. See you next year!


Very nice to have a warm welcome for younger couple to the hilton as usually we get funny looks from the staff being 21 but this hotel made is feel very welcome.


Quick check out aswell.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ultraviolet12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Check-in was clinical rather than welcoming, and we were not offered a minibar key (although the minibar was included in the room deal). The resturant meal was poor - the food was dry, had little taste and was not presented that well. Breakfast however was very good. The room was good, very clean and quiet. The use of the Apple Mac computer is always a bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I had never stayed in a Doubletree until this one and it was booked by a work colleague so I had little expectations other than some "Hilton" hotels being a little tired. However I was very nicely surprised by this one. The hotel seemed very new, everything was very clean. Staff allocated us rooms whilst we were at our conference in one of the meeting rooms so we were ready to go straight to our room once finished to freshen up for a night out in the city centre. The Apple Mac was a bonus!! (remember to log out of Facebook before you check out..) as was the warm cookie!
Had a great night sleep and the staff were nice and friendly at check out. I didn't have breakfast so can't comment.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loubird123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

There is no doubt about it, this is a very good hotel. It is clean, modern, well laid out and a great location. The rooms are a decent size and are clean and well though out. The Sky Bar is a great venue and a must to visit.
As with most hotels, its quite expensive for drinks and food - but we expect that anyway so not a major issue.
The only faults I could find is there should be more information when checking in. We were not informed where or at what time breakfast was to be served and we also were not asked if we wanted this. We instead elected to have it brought on room service to us, a little over priced at £16 per head.In defence of the hotel though, the information on breakfasts is displayed in the room, it tells you the name of the room where breakfast is served - but not where this room is. We did not know where the restaurant for evening meal was and again, we were not invited to book a table - which we probably would have had we been asked.
We were also slightly disappointed that we did not have a double bed in our room - instead, 2 singles which had been pushed together.
All in all though, a nice hotel which could quite easily be a great hotel if for a few little tweaks.

Room Tip: Ask specifically for a double bed if you want one!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevehome1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Great location for hotel, right by the canal and near some nice bars and restaurants. Very close to train station which is very handy.

The hotel foyer was very welcoming and staff friendly warm cookie on arrival very tasty!

The room was standard, it had everything you need. Tv a little small and annoyingly had no tv guide on it. Bed was comfortable.

My main gripe with the room was the bathroom, it smelt of drains. It was big and cleanish, although the grouting was orange and needed a good clean. The shower was good when it worked! (it broke mid shower on my last morning!) the toiletries were nice.

I had a nice view of the railway tracks which was pleasant to watch and i didn't hear the trains at all unlike some reviewers.

Breakfast was fantastic, with lots of choice. The service was slow at times.

I had an evening meal one night in the hotel which i cannot fault.

Overall an average hotel but the location makes it ideal for a short break or business trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miffy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
2,015 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,280 reviews
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#22 of 87 in Leeds
2,078 reviews
Hilton Leeds City
#37 of 87 in Leeds
2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre

Address: Granary Wharf, 2 Wharf Approach, Leeds LS1 4GS, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Leeds)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Holbeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#3 Business Hotel in Leeds
#4 Family Hotel in Leeds
#6 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: £69 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** Please note that Bridgewater Place is close until mid-May. Diversion signs are in place however if you would like further information on this please do contact the hotel directly *** Our Leeds hotel, built in 2009, is part of the revitalised Granary Wharf area, next to Leeds station and the Leeds to Liverpool canal. All 333 of our bedrooms are styled with absolute consideration for your comfort and feature a 42" flat screen television, complimentary wi-fi and bottled water in each room. Dine in the sophisticated surroundings of City Cafe restaurant or dine alfresco on our south facing, canal-side terrace. There are two bars, our Ground Floor Granary Lounge bar and the very popular 13th floor Sky Lounge offering fantastic cocktails and dining options day through the night with breathtaking view of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing