We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay at the Double Tree”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Well back again at the Double Tree and we weren’t disappointed booked early to get a good deal and found our room on the fourth floor was clean bright and airy as per usual and even though we had checked in early it was no problem mind no cookies in the oven so had to get them later.
All the staff were helpful and cheery and on both nights of our stay we slept well and weren’t disturbed by noise during the night or in the morning, the Hotel is in a great location and looking out over the canal basin on a sunny morning is a treat to wake up to.
We will be back in Leeds in a couple of weeks and hopefully will be lodging in this great hotel again so bye for now see you soon PBV

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely but I prefer looking out onto the Canal basin area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,380 - 2,386 of 4,180 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Very convenient location near to station and short walk to main shopping areas. Rooms good size, clean and well equipped with everything we needed for a short stay. We had an evening meal in the hotel which was OK but nothing exciting. Would probably eat out for dinner if we stayed again as lots of fabulous restaurants in Leeds. Breakfast was excellent though, a wide variety of both cold and hot food and eggs cooked to order meant they were fresh and not just kept warm on the buffet. The only downside was the lifts, there always seemed to be a queue and had to wait for what seemed like ages, but this would not stop us staying again as everything else was very good. Reception staff polite and helpful and the cookie they give all guests was delicious! We would definitely stay again when visiting Leeds.

Room Tip: Higher rooms overlooking canal very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SEBNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We recently Stayed here - as a Diamond member I stay at lots of Hilton Brand hotels but this is an excellent example of the Brand. We are fans of the Doubletree and in particular Leeds - ideal location if travelling by rail, Great location both in the immediate vicinity for everything you need Shops for the usual supplies , coffee shops, restaurants etc. It is a 10 minute walk to the centre of Leeds (Genuinely).

It is a modern and very clean hotel - staff are friendly - we have not had a dinner in the restaurant but the breakfasts a fantastic - get there early though as the hotel does get busy at weekends. The sky Lounge is also a must great views and great cocktails.

Rooms are great - we did get an upgrade - the showers are fantastic and the facilities are what you would expect good quality, the apple computer/TV is a bonus.

Great team very friendly, very customer focussed and keen to help. One small criticism the lifts are very slow

We are already planning the next trip

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BS-SGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Good hotel nicely located, well appointed rooms clean comfortable beds .Apple macs in room nice touch and the Sky Bar is a nice bar with fantastic views ! Has quickly become our favourite hotel in Leeds

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was my first visit on a weekend for leisure rather than on weekdays for business and we opted to take the King Suite.

We arrived at 3pm, the earliest advertised check in time to annoyingly find the hotel car park full (Car parking is not pre-bookable at this hotel). We ended up parking at a nearby uncovered car park for the same rate though, although this was also nearly full.

Staff were very friendly at check in, and we were told that our room wasn't ready yet so we were given two drinks vouchers for the bar which we were more than happy to accept. By the time we finished our drinks, the room was ready.

My main gripe about this hotel: the lifts are INCREDIBLY SLOW. There was a queue of about 30 people for the lift and it took at least 15 minutes to clear. One of the three lifts was out of order which didn't help matters, but still, the other two lifts seemed intent on stopping at every floor and re-opening the doors after shutting etc etc. There didn't appear to be any stairs as an alternative, not that it was really an option when on the 11th floor. This seems to be a recurring problem - when I have stayed in the past and all three lifts have been working, there have at times been long waits for a lift.

The suite was spacious, bright and clean with a nice southerly view towards Bridgewater Place rather than the noisier view of the station which I usually get in the Double Rooms. Two computer / iMacs were good, with the living room TV being hooked up to a Bose speaker system. Ample storage and everything else that you would expect including toiletries and tea/coffee etc. The mini bar was a little underwhelmingly stocked compared to a normal Hilton - a short of Gin and Vodka, two cans of Coke, two beers and a white wine, plus mini pringles and a kit kat. No hint of whether it was complimentary or chargeable so we left it well alone.

It was bout 18 degrees and sunny that day but we seemed to have great difficulty keeping the room cool despite there being two separate air conditioning systems; one in the living room area and one in the bedroom. The windows don't open very far and we had the air con on full blast for most of the day and night without much luck. As it was south facing, the sun shone in through the windows from sun rise to sun set.

We popped out briefly for food, the city centre being about a 5 minute walk away under the railway bridge. It took at least 5 minutes for the lift to find our floor, and it called at almost every single floor on the way down. Upon returning at about 6pm, there was still a queue of about 30 people for the lifts which took about 10 minutes to clear.

Great views from the Skylounge on the 13th floor. Seemed very popular which ensured that going in to the evening the lifts were still very busy. Prices were a bit painful - two cocktails came in at just under £20.

Bed was very comfy but the bright lights from the air con controls lit up the entire room - ended up folding up a piece of paper and sticking it to the wall to cover it up! Corridor noise was quite high in the morning as people began to leave their rooms to check out - lots of slamming which was audible in the room.

Again, staff very friendly on check out. Opted not to have breakfast - had it here before and whilst it's good, it's not £15 good!

Room Tip: High floor, south side, to avoid train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

A very nice hotel in a great location in Leeds. The rooms was quite small but newly refurbished and very quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. You have a really good steakhouse just a few meters from the hotel and a roof top bar with a balcony.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimZon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Really great area of Leeds, right near shops and restaurants. Try the Italian in the square outside the hotel.
The staff were great, the bar on the top floor is worth a look. The room nice and modern with an iMac!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PeteAndSuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
2,065 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 87 in Leeds
2,138 reviews
Hilton Leeds City
#37 of 87 in Leeds
2,253 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#16 of 87 in Leeds
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre

Address: Granary Wharf, 2 Wharf Approach, Leeds LS1 4GS, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Leeds)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Holbeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#3 Business Hotel in Leeds
#4 Family Hotel in Leeds
#7 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: £67 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** Please note that Bridgewater Place is close until mid-May. Diversion signs are in place however if you would like further information on this please do contact the hotel directly *** Our Leeds hotel, built in 2009, is part of the revitalised Granary Wharf area, next to Leeds station and the Leeds to Liverpool canal. All 333 of our bedrooms are styled with absolute consideration for your comfort and feature a 42" flat screen television, complimentary wi-fi and bottled water in each room. Dine in the sophisticated surroundings of City Cafe restaurant or dine alfresco on our south facing, canal-side terrace. There are two bars, our Ground Floor Granary Lounge bar and the very popular 13th floor Sky Lounge offering fantastic cocktails and dining options day through the night with breathtaking view of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing