We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just a bit greige.....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just a bit greige.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had two standard rooms for two nights - and the hotel was absolutely fine for a reasonably recent inner city box hotel. The staff we encountered were all very pleasant and efficient. The Doubltree gets brownie points from me for providing free wifi - something which was a deciding factor for me when choosing between this hotel and the Marriott (and the parking is cheaper). The rooms are well equipped and the shower room is great (again, loads better than the Leeds Marriott bathrooms). Sadly the rooms, though very well equipped and appointed (wine glasses, tumblers, bottled water and ice buckets - yay!) are all a bit greige and dull looking. The only splash of colour was a red chair - no cushions and only a mean looking and dull coloured throw on the bed. The room looks as if it was due for new carpet and paint - and though generally the room was very clean, the insides of the windows needed cleaning - and the inside corner of the shower needs to be cleaned with the door shut - there was a bit wodge of mould - only visible when you are in the shower.

It was odd that the second set of towels was not in the bathroom but in the wardrobe - which I only found out when I came out of the shower!
Minor niggles to some - but these are the sort of things that irritate me!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearls007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElN_1, Guest Relations Team at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments and we are pleased to hear you chose our hotel over other 4* hotels in the area. The complimentary wifi is appreciated by many guests and it is encouraging to see this played a part in your choice.

It is good to know you felt the room was well equiped, although the very simple colour-scheme we have in our rooms was not to your taste. We do like to hear all guest comments so that we can make adjustments and improve as and when possible.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,906
    1,323
    341
    115
    77
See reviews for
326
1,614
186
959
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (737)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

The staff were very friendly throughout the hotel, starting at check in. A few minor problems resolved very quickly. The roof top Sky Bar had great views a nice place to relax. Breakfast was very good. Location is very good with different bars restaurants close by. Would I stay there again, yes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank IanmNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

First let's discuss the positives. This is a premium property, well located, and featuring well appointed rooms. Instead of a TV you are provided with a Mac, which might not be to everyone's taste but I found it useful. The property is situated a few minutes walk from Leeds station. Rooms were a fair size and clean. Unfortunately that is where my positive comments end. Service and particularly staff attitude in this property are nothing short of diabolical and this all starts with poor leadership from the top. General Manager Stephen Turner sets the tone for the arrogant and ignorant way staff feel that they can deal with customers.

It all starts with the parking. No one blames the hotel for the limited space that they have but the way the space is organised needs improvement. Expecting a resident to park their car in the middle of a road at midnight then walk into reception to find a member of staff able to let you into the car park is simply not on. There is an intercom, why on earth can that not be activated and used instead? Not unsurprisingly I conveyed my annoyance to the Duty Night Manager. His attitude was one of 'so what'. Apparently, a complaint that his attitude was not appropriate then 'magically' transformed overnight into allegations that the customer was abusive! Yeah, that's right, staff ganging up on a customer who was rightly annoyed over the farcical car park entry procedure at midnight! No apology, no credible explanation, just a defensive blame the customer attitude.

A meeting was arranged the next morning with the General Manager. Well, once I had met him it all fell into place! The tone for an establishment is set by the person at the top. This gentleman was rude, ignorant, and downright hostile and aggressive. From the moment he met me he was dismissive of a very reasonable concern and simply wished to accept the version of events given by his staff. I was asked to leave the property. That's right, complain, and out you go! A frequent customer of Hilton Hotels all over the world just dismissed like that! Whilst discussing my apparent 'abuse' this General Manager was waving his arms about, invading my personal space, and using a tone and volume of voice entirely threatening and unwelcome. He was asked three times not to invade my personal space but he carried on. Unprofessional, combative, and no sense of customer service in any form whatsoever.

He was asked to provide corporate contact details. For the record Doubletree by Hilton Leeds is a franchise owned by the Scottish registered company City Inn Limited. I had to find those details for myself by conducting a trace on the VAT number. None of the details appeared on hotel stationery, a breach of company law. Also, why does it take a General Manager three weeks to forward on the same details? Surely, the GM knows who employs him? In my view this was yet another example of the obstructive and unhelpful attitude of the GM specifically and the hotel generally.

I am sure the property will come back with some rubbish in reply to this review. Those reading should note my long history of reviews on this site. When I think something is wrong then I say so, but you'll be hard pressed to find a review by me as negative as the one I must give to this property. Hopefully I will never have to write such a review again. As for the Doubletree by Hilton in Leeds, you can bet this is not over by any means!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank tgsh2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Excellent hotel - perfect for a business trip or short city break. Friendly and really helpful staff. Rooms are equipped with all the essentials you need (including Apple Mac!). Very clean and comfy. Nice location beside a very picturesque canal. Just couple of minutes walk from train station. Tasty food and nice bar. They have everything what you would expect from Hilton. If you planning to stay few days in Leeds this hotel definitely will not disappoint you! Recommended!
Have a look inside: http://youtu.be/XNDn44qvX8Y

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My boyfriend and I spent a night in this hotel and it really was amazing. We both live in York so it wasn't exactly a big break away, only up the road from home, but it felt like we could have been anywhere. We were on the fifth floor and the views were incredible - we were overlooking the canal and it was beautiful in the evenings.
It is a five minute walk from the station, if that, and just a five - ten minute walk into the town centre. Parking facilities were also available and are secure. It is located near a small square which has a couple of lovely restaurants located on it.
All the staff were perfectly pleasant, you also receive cookies on arrival - odd but nevertheless extremely yummy as well as complimentary bottled water, tea, coffee, sugar, etc. in your room.

The Sky Lounge bar is amazing!! No doubt the best bar I've been in probably - really nice food, a little expensive for the portions but otherwise great and the drink selection is good. The bar gives you an almost 360 degree view of Leeds and really is breathtaking. All the staff were wonderful - we had a problem with two drunk men harassing us and the staff dealt with them wonderfully and then gave us complimentary drinks to apologise for them.

All in all definitely go here! Beautiful interior, lovely staff, amazing views, prime location, great bar and extra facilities.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ejrdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Excellent hotel-fanastic and friendly reception staff, room was excellent- really nicely designed, canal view, apple mac provided, nice shower and comfy bed. Only very minor gripe was when using the downstairs bar having to wait a good 10 minutes to be served-there was just one person on and quite a few people waiting to be served. Other than that, really excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tristan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Spent one night whilst attending a concert at the first direct arena which is an easy 20 minute stroll from there. The hotel overlooks the railway station and is located beside a very picturesque canal . . Very nice rooms and staff are very helpful . The 13 floor bar has great views and is great for a nightcap . I would return if I was in Leeds again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duffy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,046 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Roomzzz Leeds City
#3 of 86 in Leeds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Address: Granary Wharf, 2 Wharf Approach, Leeds LS1 4GS, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Leeds)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Holbeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#3 Business Hotel in Leeds
#4 Family Hotel in Leeds
#6 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***Please note on 3rd January the check-out time is at 10am and check-in time is from 4pm.*** Our Leeds hotel, built in 2009, is part of the revitalised Granary Wharf area, next to Leeds station and the Leeds to Liverpool canal. All 333 of our bedrooms are styled with absolute consideration for your comfort and feature a 42" flat screen television, complimentary wi-fi and bottled water in each room. Dine in the sophisticated surroundings of City Cafe restaurant or dine alfresco on our south facing, canal-side terrace. There are two bars, our Ground Floor Granary Lounge bar and the very popular 13th floor Sky Lounge offering fantastic cocktails and dining options day through the night with breathtaking view of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing