We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Contemporary class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Contemporary class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2010

Stayed at the City Inn on our anniversary, and once again, the tripadvisor reviews turned up trumps for us. We booked a non-refundable promotion rate which gave us a fantastic deal. From the first moment to last the staff were friendly and professional - they helped us with directions, recommended places to drink and we made use of the free DVD library late at night. Our room was spacious enough (we went for the smallest) and was nicely presented and comfortable - clean, bright and contemporary which went with the theme of the whole hotel. In fact, the whole place was pretty immaculate.....bear this contemporary/minimalist styling in mind if you don't like that sort of 'thing' because if you're looking for character and charm, it won't be for you - the reception area in particular is Minimalist with a capital 'M'. Breakfast was delivered to our room for a very reasonable small fee and was enjoyable and plentiful. We also made use of the 'Sky Lounge bar' which has panoramic views of the city on either side of the hotel - stylish, chic and comfortable. The hotel really is conveniently located - walking through the 'dark arches' is an interesting experience! It's actually a really interesting piece of architecture with an array of interwoven waterways through it. At the other end of the arches is an underpass under the main train line - inside which is constantly playing some sort of weird and wonderful moods music that sounds like the sort of thing giant robots would listen to whilst they build planet sized space stations light years from earth. Well I liked it, anyway! The main train station is right next to the hotel (the arches are underneath the station) but we didn't notice any noise whatsoever - we'd requested a quiet room which they complied with, placing us on the opposite side of the hotel. Parking was also very easy for the hotel - in the arches and just a few yards away. An attendant from reception approached us as we drove in and sorted it all our for us. In summary, an excellent hotel - thoroughly recommend it. Great location, price, value, staff, food and rooms. Oh - nearly forgot the Apple wi-fi / entertainment - the DVD was a bit of a faff

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glockdanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,947
    1,349
    346
    118
    77
See reviews for
327
1,649
189
981
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (750)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

We have stayed here twice now and love it. The bar on the 13th floor is lovely but very busy and expensive. The rooms are modern , clean everything you could want and well worth the money. Great location for shopping the car park is £10 for 24 hours in the arches next to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandyLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

Room 518 overlooked the canal. Double bed was huge and comfortable. Apple Wi fi was a bonus. All meals were fine. Roof top bar gave great views over the city. Close to the city centre which was really good. No complaints at all. Breakfast during the week with the business people there could be a bit crowded. The weekend was very quiet and spacious !!!
Would not hesitate to use this hotel again. Am going to use City Hotel in Birmingham next.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedgehog1Rugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

Booked this hotel as a result of the comments made on here. Was easy to find and park nearby. Location was very good for shops and nightlife. Arrived earlier that 3pm and the staff were very willing to check us in but we did some shopping first and came back, Rooms very spacious and comfortable. Great that they served breakfast until 11am, had to wait 15min to get a table but it was worth it. Have stayed in a few hotels in Leeds but will be going back to this one again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandHoneymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
187 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

There are many good, even great aspects about this hotel - but to their cost the high ratings here lead you to think it will be perfect - it is not - but still, one of the best chain hotel options for Leeds.

Good things:
Early check in accommodated
Room good design - well thought out tea coffee, iron, safe etc
PC option - but see below
Good location - dodgy tunnels to walk through - but that's Leeds, and they're well lit

Bad things:
Reception slow with many queues
Breakfast was OK, hot food generally just plated up in kitchen from a buffet there - not made to order. Cold food very good.
PC / TV combination - hard to use and turn off. In evening internet usually not working due to heavy usage across hotel. Would be much better to have TV separate on wall.
Food cost - room service for fish and chips and cheese, and a glass of wine - almost £30! Was quite good, but not worth exceeding my expenses claim limit!
Housekeeping - rooms whilst generally clean are not spotless.

The area - good and bad. Just a short walk to town, but walk the wrong way and Leeds can be "colorful" - in a hundred yards was propositioned for "business" from a pregnant prostitute, and a "good time" by an elderly man. Guess you could earn from one to pay for the other - if that's your thing!!

All in all an good option for a chain hotel - ticks many boxes if you're prepared not to expect the very best. A good all rounder rather than the best.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManxQueenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

This is my second visit to city inn and it never fails me great location with really friendly staff and good rooms it was a really comfortable bed had a good nights sleep and the shower was great in the morning with free shower gel etc.
The breakfast experience was fantastic with a good choice of food and very attentive staff who could not do enough for you if in leeds visit this hotel it is the best .

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deano223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

This was our first stay at City Inn, Leeds on the 30th October 2010, and we weren't disappointed at all.It is a splendid modern hotel which was excellent value for money and has great facilities both in the rooms and around the hotel. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveatkin30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,098 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Hilton Leeds City
#33 of 86 in Leeds
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,046 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#12 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Address: Granary Wharf, 2 Wharf Approach, Leeds LS1 4GS, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Leeds)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Holbeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#3 Business Hotel in Leeds
#4 Family Hotel in Leeds
#6 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** Please note that Bridgewater Place is close until mid-May. Diversion signs are in place however if you would like further information on this please do contact the hotel directly *** Our Leeds hotel, built in 2009, is part of the revitalised Granary Wharf area, next to Leeds station and the Leeds to Liverpool canal. All 333 of our bedrooms are styled with absolute consideration for your comfort and feature a 42" flat screen television, complimentary wi-fi and bottled water in each room. Dine in the sophisticated surroundings of City Cafe restaurant or dine alfresco on our south facing, canal-side terrace. There are two bars, our Ground Floor Granary Lounge bar and the very popular 13th floor Sky Lounge offering fantastic cocktails and dining options day through the night with breathtaking view of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing