We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay and very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Innkeeper's Lodge Leeds Calverley
Ranked #7 of 25 Leeds B&B and Inns
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very nice stay and very helpful staff”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We booked recently for a three day weekend break. We were visiting family, so chose the Calverley Arms, as it was both convenient and reasonably priced.

Check-in was really easy, as I had booked in advance. Everything was explained by the Manager and we were directed to our room.

Our room was lovely and clean and very large. Unfortunately, it had two sash windows, one of which was permanently shut and one that we were only able to open about 9 inches. We did have a fan in the room. It was a very hot weekend and we reported it to one of the staff. The Manager came to see us and offered us another room, but as we had unpacked, we opted for another fan, which was supplied very quickly. The bed was big and really comfortable and that makes a difference! Very quiet even with the window open.

Other than the problem with the heat in the room, we had no cause for complaint the whole weekend. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and if we required anything, the staff made sure we were supplied with it. Manager, Bar Staff, Housekeeping and Breakfast Staff were all so helpful. The room was lovely and clean every time we returned to it.

We opted for continental breakfast, though you can pay for a cooked breakfast. The continental breakfast consisted of tea, coffee, fruit juices, cereal, fresh fruit, yogurts, toast, muffins, croissants, jams, marmalades and Philadelphia cheese portions! A variety of cheese portions would have been nice and maybe some boiled eggs. The staff are on hand to warm croissants, etc for you, if you require. Going down to breakfast was a very pleasant experience and staff made us feel very welcome. We felt very comfortable.

All staff responded very quickly to any requests we made. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: A quad room is very comfortable and lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheshireBeachbums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Leeds Calverley, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Leeds Calverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    69
    35
    27
    21
See reviews for
76
63
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Visited today after a 3-4 year absence. Was hoping things had improved as it was terrible. Our first impression was very poor as our table was that sticky we couldn't lift the paper menus up. We asked for it to be cleaned twice before our food arrived, still waiting.

The food was average, had to change the kids steak and chips as it was dripping with blood.

Belly pork very fatty and chewy.

Definitely not going back, which is a shame as it has a beautiful setting and a large garden.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badcurry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Leeds Calverley, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to the Restaurant and we have replied to you personally about this.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Leeds, Calverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leeds hotels

essex
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Stayed at this place for one evening as I was visiting family close by and first impressions were very good on arrival. Plenty of free car parking available and staff friendly enough whilst checking in. The room was huge and in very good state of repair. The facilities provided within the room certainly met our needs.

Breakfast was of continental variety and plenty to choose from. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend and will use this place again when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sc1fc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Leeds Calverley, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments following your visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My sister in Law booked a table for Father's Day and Father in Laws birthday and when I was told where we were going I was looking forward to my visit as my previous visit was 10 years before that and it was wonderful. My Husband, Son and I were the last of the party to arrive and we received a warmish but slightly rushed welcome and the waitress took our drinks order. The restaurant wasn't too busy at this stage, but eventually she came back to take our food order. We waited over 45 minuets for our food with no explanation as to the delay and when it came it wasn't all together and took another 5-10 minuets for all the dishes to arrive (10 people in the party) The food was very disappointing for the prices and the length of time waited. I had the Sunday roast with beef and it was probably the worst Sunday roast I've had. The roast potatoes were burnt although didn't notice at first as the beef and Yorkshire pudding were served on top of them. I mentioned this and the waitress brought me some more which were barely cooked!!! The gravy that covered my food was mainly grease and everything else was overcooked. The others in the party were also disappointed with their dishes too. We decided to order desert and this was a mistake!! At £4.95 for cheesecake I was hoping for better, unfortunately will never know as when it was again eventually served I was disgusted. The plate was so hot that the creme fresh it was served with had turned to a runny liquid and the plate was so dirty with old food stuck to it and 2 chips out of the side and dirty black marks all over the edges that I sent it straight back and as she lifted it away from me the bottom of the dish was even worse so I declined their offer of a replacement. The others in my party also had dirty plates too, it appeared as though they had just been rinsing the dishes under the hot tap and then using them. I decided to have a quiet chat to the managers away from the table mainly to bring the issue of low standards to there attention. There attitude wasn't the best and they told me all our plates go through the pot wash!!! That was it, no apology for the long wait, standard of food or cleanliness of crockery and they didn't seem to care. Looking around the waiting staff all looked rushed and gradually more unhappy during our 2 hour stay. I will not be visiting again and warning to others: do not be fooled by the pretty grounds and exterior.

Room Tip: Only ate in the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jobrady44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stopped for lunch and decided to sit outside in a sunny spot. where we noticed that seasonal salads were being served which sounded very nice as it was described in a full paragraph at a 12 pound each so we thought that we are up for a treat? How wrong and disappointed we were ! First it took ages to try to get the attention of the only two young and obviously inexperienced waitresses as they were running around like a headless chickens trying to serve the frustrated looking customers at a busy lunch hour. After nearly 20 minutes, we finally managed to order drinks of tonic water and a bottle of corona as well as the two seasonal salads. After a along wait, at last we got our drinks which were virtually slammed on the table by a miserable waitress and when I asked her to bring me an empty glass as I normally don't drink my beer straight from the bottle, she gave me a strange look and left in a huff then returned back with an empty glass and slammed it again on the table!! As it was a nice day, we decided not to spoil our lunch break by her pathetic attitude. It took a further twenty minute to get our seasonal salmon salads which to our disgust turned out to consist of three lettuce leaves sparingly sprinkled with grated carrots, a couple of peas and pomegranate seeds!! THATS IT!!! It was absolutely distrustful having to pay over £30 for two lousy salads and service. No wonder most of other diners including a couple of frail old ladies were happily munching through a pile of greasy chips and processed beef burgers which are cheaper option to salads!! When the waitress asked me if I enjoyed my meal as I was paying the bill, I frankly told her how pathetic the salads and service was and stormed out of that stinky place,
Having lately being generally experiencing a substandard poor services coupled with lousy over priced food in various dining facilities, we decided to limit our dinning out to a minimum and instead try to have picnics in the country side like the good old days!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glahoud1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

At 3pm on a Friday afternoon I thought it would be quieter after the lunch time rush. There were a few diners in and we were shown to a table. Waiting for our guests to join us we ordered some hot drinks; we were served a pot of tea and five minutes later the coffee arrived. Our guests arrived later and we ordered some cold drinks via the waitress but they didn't arrive and we were told they were very busy. We had to be personally obtain the drinks from the bar ourselves. Our food was ordered from a basic fixed price menu and served within a reasonable waiting time. The portions were just OK and nothing on any plate had a WOW impact. There were no staff around and nil points were scored for diner attentiveness. I had to walk around the restaurant after we had eaten to find staff to ask them for the bill. Not a good experience and I will not dine there again and I am glad we were not staying in the hotel bearing the poor service we were given.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chosen-Path
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stopped off for a late Saturday lunch. We had to wait quite a while at the bar. We got served eventually.

Saw the sign that said "wait here to be served". So we did. We waited and waited. There was a member of staff nearby relaying cutlery on tables and I'm sure she saw us.

Waitress finally must have realised that the tables could wait (they weren't full and there was no-one waiting to be sat at the tables she was relaying) and seated us.

She didn't direct us to a table that she'd been relaying, there were plenty of others.

I was surprised by the menu, as the food on offer was more interesting than your usual pub fare. We both decided what to order and we waited. Again. We waited a good while for someone to take our order. Tried to make eye contact with the staff but no luck.

The waitress that did take our order was friendly. It was just a shame that we'd had to wait so long. The restaurant didn't look busy at all.

It didn't take long for the meals to arrive and we both liked our food. I ordered toad in the hole, which was nice although I could have done with more gravy and the mash wasn't great. Good value though at £6.50. I would return, but only if I thought it wouldn't be too busy as I dread to think what it is like when it is busy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prawny82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leeds
Weetwood Hall Hotel
#33 of 87 in Leeds
781 reviews
Corn Mill Lodge Hotel
#48 of 87 in Leeds
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,211 reviews
Holbeck
Clayton Hotel Leeds
Clayton Hotel Leeds
#13 of 87 in Leeds
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Leeds Calverley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Leeds Calverley

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Leeds Calverley
Address: The Calverley Arms, Calverley Lane | Calverley, Pudsey, Leeds LS28 5QQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Leeds Calverley 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the picturesque village of Calverley, this pretty 19th century inn is a slice of Yorkshire calm that's equally close to the commercial hubs of Bradford and Leeds. So whether you're planning a short break or a business trip, it makes for an ideal escape.The Caverley Arms is a fine Victorian building with 14 rooms and a cosy pub. You won't have to wander far, then, if you're in the mood for a pint of cask ale or some heart-warming, seasonally inspired food.Judging from Victorian maps, the lodge's roots date back at least to the 1850s, but its stunning views over the Aire Valley are truly timeless. The pub's garden, which occupies a beautiful spot bordered by large trees and open countryside, is the perfect place to enjoy them, especially during summer.If you're feeling more active, there's lots of great rambling nearby and plenty of attractions to keep you occupied, from Pudsey Park, medieval Calverley Hall and the stunning Kirkstall Abbey to the hustle and bustle of Leeds City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Leeds Calverley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calverley Arms Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing