We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic but needs to choose its market”
Review of Roomzzz Leeds City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roomzzz Leeds City
Ranked #5 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Fantastic but needs to choose its market”
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Lovely hotel in a great location, clean modern rooms with everything you could possibly need including an ipod docking station, this is where the problem starts. The room prices are very competitive and we paid the same as a recent stay at a grubby Travelodge but this attracts groups of youngsters looking for a base to go drinking, this is fine but given the inclusion of the ipod it meant we were bombarded with pulsating loud music through the walls and realised we were surrounded by groups of young lads who presumably blocked booked, we had to repeatedly complain but even the young girl on reception didn't seem that bothered and didn't respond to the lads calling us petty. They need to decide if they want a bad reputation as a budget hotel or somewhere for the discerning traveller/city visitor

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spendleb48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomzzzLeeds, Manager at Roomzzz Leeds City, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and your positive comments. Please also accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Our pricing is structured around the product and we aim to always keep this competitive for our customers in a very competitive market.

I have taken note of your comments and have discussed with staff present at the time. We were initially informed about the issue at around 4:30 PM in the afternoon. The receptionist did intervene and speak with the guests concerned on two occasions asking them to lower the volume. On a weekend most hotels in the city cater to leisure guests and noise related incidents are higher during this time. This is also the case just when guests are getting ready for a night out which is between 4 PM until about 7 PM.

We always try to explain and make guests concerned understand that they are disturbing other paying guests. We would take a much firm stance if this occurs much later during the night (Our notice in reception specifies 10PM onwards). In this instance given the time of the incident the staff on duty did make a decision that the message was put across to the guests concerned and upon checking the volume was reduced as she could not hear it from outside the room door.

Our TV's and iHome’s are equipped with sound restrictions so as to minimise such incidents.

We are also now in receipt of your email to us and will be responding to you directly.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we will continue to revisit any procedures in place if they do not prove to be effective.

kind regards

Abhijit David
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    144
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
63
208
31
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 10 days in October 2011. The location, the room (smart studio) and the staff are all excellent.

One could not ask for a better location in Leeds city centre. It is close to the train station, bus stops, the best shopping and top rated restaurants and pubs.

The smart studio has a king size bed, excellent bathroom, a small sitting area with a view of the city, a very well equipped kitchenette, washing machine & dryer and a Mac Mini which doubles as a TV. The TV swivels 180 degrees to face the bed or the sitting area.

The staff are very friendly and helpful without exception. The housekeeping crew made up our room, bath and kitchenette spic and span everyday!

The property is built on a small lot and therefore the corridors are narrow for large luggage. The fire doors make your task of moving in and out a bit difficult along the narrow halls. The room doors close with a rather loud bang: so a neighbour returning late can wake you up. The wood flooring in our room (301) creaked a lot, probably due to faulty laying. These were minor irritations in an otherwise perfect stay.

Overall, we had an excellent stay and would not hesitate to go back next time.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the top floor if you want a balcony with a view. But these rooms are a bit smaller t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomzzzLeeds, Manager at Roomzzz Leeds City, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback and also for staying with Roomzzz.

I will certainly look into the areas of concern raised.

There is a sound proofing layer under the flooring which brings in a small degree of bounce to the floor and hence the issues you have mentioned. We can certainly look at minimising this in out next proactive maintenance programme.

Once again thank you for your helpful comments.

kind regards

Abhijit David
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Spent 5 nights here while attending a course in Leeds centre. Aside from the central location and reasonable price, the main attraction was the fully-equipped kitchen which was good enough to avoid having to eat takeaways or restaurant meals. The room was a nice size with a good TV, large comfortable bed, desk and seating area. There were perhaps a couple of "essentials" missing from the kitchen, particularly a cafetiere would have been handy, but that's getting into quibbling. Staff friendly and helpful. Only real criticiscm is that the room (on floor 3) tended to get quite hot during the night as the air-con was a little too noisy to leave on.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomzzzLeeds, Manager at Roomzzz Leeds City, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback and also for staying with Roomzzz.

I have taken note of you request for a cafetiere. We do provide some added essentials in our predominantly long stay, Leeds Headingley apartments which include a cafetiere.

As we continue to enhance the facilities provided we will certainly consider having a cafetiere in each apartment or at least having them available on request at the reception.

Once again thank you for your helpful comments.

Kind regards

Abhijit David
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at Roomzzz Leeds city and both times have been perfect. The first time we chose to stay in a Grande studio which was excellent, very spacious room with everything and more that you need for a comfortable stay. The under floor heating was excellent as was the modern feel to the room. The only complaint was that the Grande studios are situated to the rear of the building and have poor views. In comparison the second time we stayed in a Smart studio and even though it was a little smaller than the Grande you still get the same comforts as the Grande studio and you also get a great view too as most of these rooms are situated towards the front street. If I was to advise anyone on which room to stay in I would have to say the Smart studio, as it is still a large room with better views and the cost of the room is cheaper. The aparthotel is in a perfect position just far enough from the nightlife to be quiet and yet walking distance from call street with loads of busy bars and restaurants. There is car parking near which is cheap at the ncp you get a discount card from reception so it costs you £6 overnight. Both of our stays were excellent with the staff on reception being very helpful. Overall if you want a Luxurious stay in the centre of leeds Roomzzz is perfect.

Room Tip: Smart studios have better veiws but are slightly smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonyntracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

My wife and I stayed for one night on a city weekend break while dropping our daughter at University. We loved the city centre (very upmarket shopping and nicely priced restaurants) and this aparthotel blew us away. A large modern room with excellent facilities inc fridge, wasing machine and dishwasher. As it happens, we didnt need them but the room was very clean with modern furnishings. There is no breakfast but good coffee, pastries and fruit juice are available in the lobby. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: stay at the front as there is a train ine behind
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This is a fabulous alternative to traditional hotel. Excellent studio apartments, brilliantly equipped. No minimum stay. Daily cleaning service. Great price. If you don't want to go outside to shop for food, good selection of readymeals, drinks (including wine), goodies available for purchase from the 24 hour reception. Fabulous service from every member of staff - nothing seems to be too much trouble. Two minutes walk from station and centre of town. Cannot think of a single aspect to criticise! If this franchise doesn't thrive and spread to the rest of the country then there is no justice....!!!

Room Tip: If you are going to stay more than once, then pick up a 'royalty club' card from reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rthorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands of Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Absolutely loved this place. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly and welcoming and on entering our room I could see why. What a fantastic concept we had a large room with kitchen,lounge and very comfy bed everything you could possibly want was thought of. Way more impressive than a normal hotel room with great flexibility. Across the road from Malmaison and just around the corner from the city centre it was ideally located. we tried the indian nearby A & M I think it was called sited in an old clock repair shop and I must say this was the best indian meal ever but thats another review!. Will definately be back i feel a bit of prexmas shopping coming on....

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
1,991 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,251 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roomzzz Leeds City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roomzzz Leeds City

Property: Roomzzz Leeds City
Address: 10 Swinegate, Leeds LS1 4AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#4 Business Hotel in Leeds
#7 Family Hotel in Leeds
#8 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Roomzzz Leeds City 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 36 bed apart-hotel in the heart of Leeds. All rooms are fully air-conditioned and the most amazingly comfortable memory foam beds. Wi-Fi, local and national UK landline calls are free of charge. You will also find a modern fitted kitchen with a dishwasher and all necessary utensils. A free grab & go service with fresh pastries and coffee and fruits is served each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Roomzzz Leeds City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roomzzz Aparthotel Leeds City Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing