We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Midland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Midland Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Leeds B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had one night here, it was lovely. The room was clean and more than large enough. Breakfast was delicious, the hotel was conveniently situated for our needs. The staff are extremely friendly, and a mention to the supervisor leanne who did everything she could and more for us. Thankyou, we look forward to staying again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janebria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    41
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
30
56
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our recent visit to Leeds. What a great find. We were visiting Leeds to attend the Belgrave Street Feast. The Midland is just a short walk from a railways station which enabled us to reach the centre of Leeds in just 10 mins.
The accommodation is in a coverted stable block and has been very tastefully done...basic interior but everything to hand and nice and clean. Plenty of tea/coffee in the room to make a cuppa. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the breakfast was delish. They were very accommodating of our two little chihuahua's and set up a table for us in the bar area so we could bring them into breakfast with us. Which we very muvh appreciated. Would highly recommend and we have already booked another stay in June

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank greystoned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Great little coffee shop. Sat outside in the sun with lovely coffee and tasty bacon butty. Very good service. Recommend for breakfast or lunch. They have great locally sourced cakes aswell. Well priced. St aidens nature reserve just round the corner for a walk before or after.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank muffin1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed for 1 night whilst attending a pre wedding get together at nearby Oulton Hall. On arrival we were shown to our room (room 2) and advised that the heating came on at around 5pm, but if we needed heating before then, we could use the oil filled radiator. Unfortunately the hotel were experiencing some difficulties with their boiler, so we had no heating or hot water, so the oil filled radiator came in very handy! We mentioned the lack of heating when we went out and were told that they were aware of the issue (it wasn't just our room that was affected) and were dealing with it. When we arrived back after attending our function, the heating was still not working, but we managed perfectly well with the additional radiator.

Breakfast the next morning was excellent. The staff were extremely apologetic about the lack of heating and hot water, and presented us with a box of chocolates, bottle of wine and bouquet of flowers by way of an apology.

We would certainly recommend this pub if you are not feeling flush enough to pay the rates at Oulton Hall. The rooms are fairly cosy, but certainly large enough and well equipped for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimmoDerby_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We just stayed here for one night with our little dog on our way to visit family. We found the owners and staff really friendly and welcoming and the room was lovely with a great bathroom. Breakfast was really good too. Would definitely come back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hughesey2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely room, warm and comfortable. Food was good and staff friendly and attentive. Great local atmosphere in the pub. Good stopover. Near railway station to get you into Leeds. Altogether a very good stay, thank you.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Was really happy with our stay here. Lovely accommodating polite staff.. Lovely clean room.. Good value for money and the breakfast was lovely.. Would definitely stay again.. Cant recommend it enough Thank you

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisallcoat, Owner at The Midland Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, they will help with motivation so much.
Thanks again
Regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leeds
Roomzzz Leeds City
#5 of 87 in Leeds
512 reviews
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holbeck
Clayton Hotel Leeds
Clayton Hotel Leeds
#13 of 87 in Leeds
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland Hotel

Property: The Midland Hotel
Address: 97 Aberford Road, Leeds LS26 8LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Midland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Midland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing