We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food and a cool venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Distrikt Bar

Distrikt Bar
Ranked #290 of 1,808 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$32
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, Spanish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing food and a cool venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Me and my boyfriend went on a Wednesday for lunch for the half price tapas, he had noticed it one day shopping in Leeds and had decided that we should go. Though it was empty, we walked in and seated ourselves down and was greeted by a lady who was stood at the bar. We started off sitting upstairs but ended up sitting downstairs with the cool music. Had a selection of tapas which was gorgeous, especially the ribs, the meat was beautiful. Though it was empty, we did not get overly interrupted by the staff and we were left to enjoy our meal and drinks.

Though we went in the day, I imagine it would be a really cool evening venue as well, would definitely go again in the evening!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aisha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    62
    15
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed- ok food, awful service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Booked a table, we arrived half an our earlier and no one greeted us at the door, We stood at the bar for over 5 mins before we were acknowledged even though we were stood in front of 3 men behind the bar talking. When we sat down the man came over as said no need to go the bar I will serve you at your table... 20 mins later we still hadn't been asked for drinks, even though the place was empty! Finally we were served- the food came
It was pretty average we didn't get a check back on a table and we had to go to the bar to pay as no one came to clear our plates. It's a shame because last time I came a few weeks ago I had the most amazing night great food and amazing service, this time I felt the staff were rude, didn't care at all and I won't be returning

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank harrietttttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Why the good reviews??”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We went by trip advisor but were left very disappointed.Booked a table but no one greeted us.Had to find someone at the bar who just said sit anywhere.We ordered some wine and several dishes.I wouldnt say the place was very busy except one large table of girls as was only 6.30pm.We waited about an hour for any food.We were so hungry by then I had to grab one of the waiters and ask for some olives to just tide us over.When the food did finally arrive it was pretty bad.The lamb was cold,the whitebait portion was tiny,the ribs were dry and contained just bone with no meat and the p.bravas was no where to be seen.When we asked and finally got the forgotten item it came out so spicy it was impossible to eat.The only good thing was on speaking to the management about the whole evening she deducted the food from our bill so we just paid for the 2 bottles of wine we had.However we dont get out much together and it was a shame we picked somewhere that let us down so badly.Why the good reviews?Its some of the worst tapas ive eaten.We must have been really unlucky or the chef has changed??Unfortunately wouldnt return or recommend :(

Helpful?
Thank RIGGSY666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Stumbled upon here looking on trip advisor for somewhere new to go ( we eat out in Leeds a lot).
Decided to give it a go as we fancied tapas type cuisine. Great atmosphere and music even at 7.30 pm when not too busy. Buzzing!!
Had a lovely bottle of Malbec and a selection of tapas which were all superb! And yes the ribs were divine !
Will most definitely be returning and would like to visit late evening for a more club atmosphere.
It's young and lively !!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GorgeousV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Tapas!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stumbled upon this place looking for a taste card restaurant, from the outside it looks a bit dodgy as it wasn't lit up and down a side street but what a lovely place though! Nice staff and good music. They had happy hour for beer on but because we were ordering food we couldn't choose both, which was fine, the beer in general was pretty expensive though! £5 for a pint of Leffe but other more familiar beer for a lot less. The tapas was really great though, we got 7 of them to share between us both, and that was far too much! They were much bigger than usual tapas portions, almost starter size, we struggled to finish them all, sadly couldn't. Very good value for money! Staff were very friendly. The only downside i would say is i like to see what i am eating, and because of the mood lighting/dark red lighting (which was nice, if it were just for drinks) it was the only negative, maybe have it a bit more lit up in the bit people are eating food? Just a suggestion! Thanks! Will visit again :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Priestessofmars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Distrikt Bar also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Distrikt Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing