We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great centre for a weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leeds East
Ranked #41 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great centre for a weekend break”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We spent Easter weekend at the hotel, which is a great base to visit Leeds, and York is only half an hour away. The hotel is clean and comfortable, and surrounded by trees (unlike many lower cost hotels that are located in industrial estates). The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Anne on reception. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiddleyWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE_LeedsEast, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds East, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear RiddleyWalker,

Firstly, may I thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel. We do truly appreciate the feedback and always aim to be provide the best service we can.

As you have correctly noted, we are indeed well located for travelling around, with easy access to the M1 and M62 whilst still being place in a quiet and more rural area. All our rooms are fitted to the same, modern standard and we are glad to hear you found yours to be comfortable.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our team, including Anne. I will be sure to pass on your positive feedback to her.

We look forward to seeing you next time you find yourself in the area.

Kind regards,

Jamie Hayes
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    182
    58
    17
    7
See reviews for
121
156
26
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

The holiday inn is always reliable and I never have any complaints, it's a good place to stay on business trips as it is close to the M1 and the price is very reasonable. The staff are friendly and helpful, the atmosphere is welcoming and great.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemma_478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE_LeedsEast, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds East, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Jemma,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Leeds East. We are appreciative of all feedback and are always looking how to make your stay even better.

Your description of the hotel as a 'great place to relax' is very pleasing to read, as we are always aspiring to ensure all our guests have a comfortable and relaxing stay with us. I hope we continue to have you staying with us for the foreseeable future.

Kind regards,

Jamie Hayes
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Have stayed here on a number of occasions. Staff are always really friendly and helpful. Very short distance from J44 M1 so tends to be popular. Rooms are clean, modern, comfortable and fairly spacious. Toby Carvery next door - best to book as it is very popular. Have not used but people do order take away Pizza or Curry and have it delivered. Three Horsehoes pub is a short walk up the road and has a great menu - very popular. Cold Buffet breakfast (plus scrambled egg and sausages) from 6.30am means you can get on the road early.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE_LeedsEast, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds East, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Teri G,

thank you for taking the time to leave a review for our hotel on tripadvisor. We are always grateful for feedback, from one-off and regular guests alike.

It is pleasing to hear that you find our hotel to be well equipped and well located for your needs as a business traveller. As you rightly point out, our accessibility to the M1 and also the M62 make us at an ideal location for getting around Yorkshire and beyond. Also our ample sized, complimentary car park means you will never have difficulty finding a place to park of an evening.

Thank you for your kind words about our staff. We always strive to offer a high level of service at the Holiday Inn Express Leeds East and our team are here to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jamie Hayes
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Nice hotel, updated rooms. Pub over road, but nothing much else. Did find a Lidl and dominos just round the corner though. Staff friendly and polite.

Room was adjacent to the pub bins. amazing how much noise bottles make being disposed of late at night!

Room Tip: Ask for one not facing the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Durham_Bloke_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE_LeedsEast, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds East, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Leeds East. We appreciate all feedback on how we are doing and are always looking to improve the experience of our guests.
I apologise for any disturbance you experienced with regards to external noise. We will endeavour to, where possible, assign guests a room of their preference.

I am pleased to hear you found our modern rooms to be comfortable for your stay with us. We aim to provide a consistently high standard of service.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Jamie Hayes
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed one night at a bargain price. We were greeted warmly by friendly efficient staff and were given a double room on the first floor accessed via a staircase. The room was warm, clean and furnished to the standard one expects from a budget hotel, however the appearance was marred by large areas of staining of the ceiling from what I think has been a roof leak. The beds were a little soft but choice of pillows is a nice touch, shower efficient with loads of hot water.The free wifi worked well with good download speeds Breakfast was included and the scrambled egg were delicious.
Would stay here again when visiting Leeds.

Room Tip: If you have mobility difficulties ask for a room on the ground floor as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppycatNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE_LeedsEast, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds East, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear poppycatNewcastle,

Thank you for taking time out to review the Holiday Inn Express Leeds East. Feedback from our guests is always greatly received and we are always looking on how we can improve the experience of our guests.

I am glad to hear that you found the room to be up to your expectations, but I can only apologise regarding the stain on the ceiling. We will investigate further into this issue and would like to reassure you that this is not the standard we aspire to.

It is pleasing to hear that you found the services and amenities at the hotel to be of good quality and efficiency. Our Express Start breakfast is complimentary to all of our guests and includes a selection of continental items with sausage, scrambled egg and baked beans.

We look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jamie Hayes
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We had a really good overnight stay at the Holiday Inn at Oulton. Having stayed previously at the Holiday Inn, Garforth, this one was far superior, probably because it is purpose-built budget accommodation and it is far better than the Premier Inn at Halton owing to the good quality Toby Inn next door. As a frequent visitor to Leeds it is now my overnight hotel of choice. The room and breakfast deal was good very good value.
Breakfast offered lots of choices in a pleasant dining area. There were plenty of continental-style choices on offer with limitless tea and coffee. The hot choices were OK. Steamed or micro-waved scrambled eggs were improved b plenty of seasoning and butter. The sausages were basic "value" grade but with a good portion of baked beans they were palatable. But at the special room and breakfast price it was a good deal!
The room was clean and tidy but with minimal hanging space for clothes. The décor was fresh and the bed was very comfortable. A clean, modern bathroom with plenty of hot water was very welcome.
The decor and layout of the room was very reminiscent of the Campanile chain, which I like- but it was not quite as stylish. Nevertheless, it was a very pleasant stay, good value and I'll choose this hotel again!! Premier Inn watch out!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE_LeedsEast, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds East, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Chris P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We do take all feedback we receive on board and are always looking at how to improve your time with us.

I am very pleased to hear that you found our bedrooms, with their fresh and modern designs, to be a comfortable place for you to spend the night. All guests staying at our hotel enjoy a complimentary breakfast, along with complimentary parking and WiFi. When it comes to our scrambled eggs, we do intentionally leave the task of seasoning up to the guest, so they can do it to their own taste!

It is great to hear that we are going to be your hotel of choice for Leeds from now on, and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Jamie Hayes
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Greeted by courteous & friendly staff. Arrived 30mins early & the room was ready and available for me.
The room was basic but ok for an overnight stay, it was also very clean & tidy. The bed was a little lumpy but have slept on worse, also had a choice of soft or firm pillows. Great shower and plenty of towels.Breakfast was disappointing with very little choice, considering the room & breakfast cost.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds East, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Myk M,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We appreciate your kind words regarding our friendly staff. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. I am sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations with regards to the breakfast program. We are working hard to ensure that our breakfast service meets our guests expectations and value your feedback.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Leeds Colton
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries
4.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leeds East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leeds East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Leeds East
Address: 2 Aberford Road | Oulton, Leeds LS26 8EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Leeds
#10 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#17 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leeds East 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leeds East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leeds East Hotel Leeds
Holiday Inn Leeds
Leeds Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing