We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel for a stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leeds East
Ranked #42 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We used the hotel for a stop over on the way from Scotland for which it is very good. The hotel is nice and clean with parking in front and the staff very friendly. It is in a village where you find what you need for a stop over (food, supermarket, petrol, ..). The breakfast is included and OK. The free WIFI is appreciated. It is probably fine for visiting the area but it is now 'near' Leeds. We would happily come back another time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Morten J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE_LeedsEast, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds East, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the hotel. I was delighted to read your comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel and friendly staff, please be assured that I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the team.
Once again thank you, guest feedback is always appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Karen Wood
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Leeds East
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

If you're travelling around Leeds it's ok,
if you want to stay in Leeds no much too far.

Hotel is clean, asked for quiet room, efficient staff gave us a very quiet room.

Bed are not as good as Premier inn but still ok.
Breakfast OK except the instant coffee, come on Holiday inn all hotels offers grounded coffee nowadays.

Check-in process could be much simplier I've booked via Booking so hotel had all my credit card details, still they asked me for some deposit by credit card (no mini bar in the room, no spa can't really see what else other than the hotel room can be charged on the credit card!?) then day of check out I had to come to the desk again, it's useless. Check Premier in & Best Western process they are much more easier for travellers, this could save you staff to refill the beans of coffee of your future investment.

BTW sorry for my english I'm french.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE_LeedsEast, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds East, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the hotel. I was delighted to read your comments regarding your clean quiet guest room and efficient staff.
I was however sorry to hear that the bed was not to your satisfaction, the beds are of high standard as guest comfort is of great importance to us, also please be advised that ground coffee is available to guests in the hotel dining area.
Thank you also for your comments regarding check-in procedures, we do ask for a pre-authorisation payment card prior to check in which is hotel procedure, however, I am sorry if this caused any inconvenience to yourself.
Thank you once again for your comments, guest feedback is always appreciated in order for us to review and improve our services and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Karen Wood
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We've stayed here before, it's a very good Holiday Inn Express. Unusually it hasn't been downgraded with the new combined 'heating air con' units. This means you have a nice little electric oil filled radiator that you can put on if it gets a little chilly during the night. The location is great, convenient for many places and about a mile from the local train station for Leeds.

We had a problem one night, we could hear some sort of engine running until about 4 am. We thought it might be some sort of irrigation system in the field next door but when we checked it clearly wasn't anything outside. I think someone may have left a fan running in the kitchen. So if it happens again we will pop down and sort it out before going to bed.

One warning about Leeds. It's a nice place to visit but has a very nasty local council who charge people to park on the street in the evening! In addition most streets have double yellow lines when there is no need. This means if you go into the city in the evening by public transport you have to risk your life walking across a city full of drunks. It seems th anti driving policy encourages drinking. I would avoid Leeds in the evening. On principle we have a policy of not spending money in Leeds, we don't want evey town to become like this.

If you take the train to Leeds you can then get another train to York. So this hotel is a very good option for a short break. One day in York and perhaps another day out and about. Otley is a very nice place, even better on market days.

The staff at this hotel is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank J123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE_LeedsEast, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds East, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the hotel, I was delighted to read your comments regarding the hotel facilities, location and friendly and helpful staff, however, I would like to apologise for your sleep disturbance due to an unexplained noise during your stay, If we are aware of any problems we would always investigate and rectify the problem or subject to availability change your room.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Karen Wood
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I booked this room for an overnight stay with the Mrs as we were attending a 30th birthday nearby. The room rate seemed a little pricey at £85, but we were booking quite late.
The hotel itself is clean and not showing many signs of wear and tear, the reception staff were efficient and friendly and the rooms were spacious enough for our short stay with hardly any luggage.
The breakfast is good but it's more geared to a continental style with only sausage, scrambled egg and beans for the hot options. Some bacon would have gone down a treat!

Overall: Pretty good, I would stay again and would recommend if the location fits your plans.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PlaneCrazyMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE_LeedsEast, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds East, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the hotel and for your kind words regarding your clean guest room, efficient and friendly reception staff and good breakfast. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the team.
Once again thank you guest feedback is always appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Karen Wood
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed here over the weekend quick getaway with the wife as we wanted to spend the day in Leeds at the Trinity Centre.
Best priced hotel we could find that included free parking and a breakfast option. Paid £55 for the night.
Hotel room was very clean including shower and toilet wasn't expecting that for a budget stay.
Check in was smooth very quickly done and friendly reception staff.

The 'free' breakfast was a little tasteless although there are enough options to set you on your way for the day including hot eggs, sausage and beans. Fresh juice, hot beverages, yoghurt and cereals. Don't expect the fresh stuff you get at larger hotel chains. The eating area isn't huge so imagine if full it would be quite cramped.

The bed was a good size but uncomfortable including the pillows. I woke up with back/neck ache but i am quite picky with my mattresses.

Good place quick cheap getaway wouldn't stay more than 1 or 2 nights max.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kingsley p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE_LeedsEast, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds East, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the hotel, I was delighted to read your comments regarding good value for money, clean guest room and friendly reception staff.
I was however, sorry to read that you found the free breakfast tasteless and the bed uncomfortable, the hotel prides itself on high standards and I regret that we did not meet your expectations.
Once again thank you for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Karen Wood
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This,if it is not all ready the worst hotel in the IHG Estate, is a very close contender to utterly crap. Other than the Roebuck Hotel in Ware this is a the worse nights sleep I have ever had. The beds are so pathetic that sleeping together has a whole new meaning for which there is no choice other than to comply. Unless you wish to spend the night fighting to get comfortable or enjoy sleeping in the groove spend a few pounds more and go elsewhere.
"Breakfast Included" also has a new meaning Its called Continental Plus Sausage, Baked Beans and Scrambled Eggs.
Overall Assessment DREADFULLY AWFUL.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank michaelcairney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE_LeedsEast, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds East, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the hotel. I was disappointed to read your comments regarding the hotel beds and breakfast.
The hotel prides itself on high standards and I am sorry that you found the bed uncomfortable and did not enjoy the free breakfast.
Guest comfort is of high importance to us and I would like to thank you once again tor your comments, guest feedback is always appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Karen Wood
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night. Was perfect for the price. Ive stayed in many overpriced hotels but after staying here would recommend holiday inn everytime. Tea and coffe facilities. Television if u need it. Also breakfast included in price.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE_LeedsEast, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds East, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the hotel. I was delighted to read your lovely comments. The hotel prides itself on high standards at good value for money and I am pleased that we met your expectations.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Karen Wood
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Leeds Centre
#29 of 87 in Leeds
1,216 reviews
Holbeck
Clayton Hotel Leeds
Clayton Hotel Leeds
#13 of 87 in Leeds
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leeds East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leeds East

Address: 2 Aberford Road | Oulton, Leeds LS26 8EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Leeds
#10 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#17 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: £44 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leeds East 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leeds East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leeds East Hotel Leeds
Holiday Inn Leeds
Leeds Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing