We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Convenient, Cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Clean, Convenient, Cheap”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in June as we were visiting family. The place was spotlessly clean and had a free buffet breakfast which really made the stay economical. Breakfast was cereals, toast, pastries, croissants, fruit, scrambled eggs, sausages and beans with coffee and fruit juice plentiful.

The family room was a bit cramped with the sofa bed up. It was a bit of a squash but you could just about get around the bed to the window. City centre hotels do not tend to be that spacious so we accepted this as standard.
Bathroom was smart, clean and modern but no bath - just a large shower cubicle.

We were on the 5th floor so we didn't hear any noise despite us overlooking the main road at the front.

Room was clean and nicely decorated. The main bed was comfortable with choice of soft or firm pillows but the mattress on the mechanical sofa bed had seen better days and my daughter complained of uncomfortable springs.

Car parking was £5 per night, payable on arrival to reception who give you a code for the barrier.

Good economical place to stay but not if you are using the sofa-bed!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoH1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to record your comments regarding your recent stay with us and I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay! I'm sorry your daughter found the sofa bed to be a little uncomfortable and as we are getting another 18 new sofa beds on Monday 25th June I will make sure we replace the one from your particular room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    292
    96
    21
    6
See reviews for
110
177
28
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

been there for 4 nights, the stuff was extremely helpful and kind, the food was ok, rooms are new and clean, cannot beat that price :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richiesuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk UK
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for two nights recently over the Diamond Jubilee weekend. We have stayed before and we were again delighted with our experience.
We booked early through the Holiday Inn website and paid £41 for each night in a double room with a breakfast included. The breakfast is simple and help yourself but it certainly hits the spot. This is very good value indeed.
Car parking is secure and costs £5 per night and only £3 if you are a Priory Club member.
The location of the hotel is great with easy access to the city. If you don't fancy a walk then the Leeds taxis are excellent value for money.
You can get a meal at the hotel but we have always eaten out. There is a huge choice of eateries in Leeds to suit every taste and budget.
Service at the hotel was always polite and professional with reception always staffed. Wifi is charged at a daily rate but there is internet access near reception on a pay as you go basis.
Leeds is the 'party night out' capital of the north. That is the conclusion we have reached after many visits over the past few years so don't be put off by all male or all female groups at this hotel, dressed in an assorted array of weird and sometimes amusing clothing. They are managed well by the hotel and seem to be allocated rooms on lower floors. We have never been disturbed yet. Most hotels in Leeds seem to cope well with the 'party' ideology balancing the differing needs of their guests.
To conclude, this Hiexpress is very good and we will certainly use again in the future.

Room Tip: Upper floors for quiet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suffolkholidayperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts on our hotel and I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay! As you say, it does pay to book early as you can get some really good rates on the Holiday Inn Express websites. I look forward to seeing you next time you're back in Leeds!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Located the hotel easily enough, but had difficulty finding the entrance. Good hotel, good food, and all the staff could not have been more helpfull. Parking £3 per night, which is good value. Nice clean room, and although facing a busy road, was reasonably quiet. T.V. was a bit difficult to change channels, and there was only 2 tea bags, and 2 coffee portions, but not a complaint. Free wi-fi in public areas. Enjoyed our stay, but the Stirling Hotel is slightly better (sorry Leeds staff) and has more facilities near by.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cowal64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I stayed at this hotel for the weekend (25-27 may) with a friend in a twin room. Its situated about a mile from the shops and university so not too far to walk and there is a bus stop down the road that will take you to the city centre for £1. The hotel is clean and modern with fairly big rooms however there is no wifi in the rooms, no fridge, no room service and no meals available in the hotel after breakfast. The breakfast included is good with all the basics such as cereal, fruit, toast, pastries, sausage, egg and beans. I would stay again as it was fairly cheap and generally a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amymadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed here in April 2012 for a night and as it was a rush job ,couldnt argue with the hotel,but the main problem was the finding of it as the sat nav couldnt locate it.
Roadworks on entrance are easily missed and hotel should advise this as we drove around in circles to get the right exit.
Breakfast free for all,but prefer more selection,wouldnt stay here again as i prefer to more near the city as this was agood walk away .
couldnt fault staff or cleanliness and room quite nice.parking good

Room Tip: check for roadworks with hotel before you go
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dvdwrght7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I stayed at this hotel with 2 friends for one night in May. There was a double bed in the room and a fold out couch that had already been made up as a bed for our stay.

After staying the one night on the fold out couch I returned home and on the following evening began to notice bites on my right forearm, about 12 of them scattered up and down my arm but nowhere else. I checked first online then checked with my doctor and were told they looked exactly like bed lice bites (and itched like mad!)

I emailed the hotel and told them what happened, I was replied to the next day and told the room had been inspected by Holiday Inns contract cleaners and they found nothing. I don't know who this company were and when I spoke to the hotel manager she told me they are independent but I'm not sure, I asked if I could get a company to check the room but was told this would not be possible. From there I was just told that I must have got the bites elsewhere ( after a night in Leeds going from bar to bar the only place I stopped for any amount of time was on the holiday inn fold out couch, but this fact was ignored). I asked for a refund or some form of compensation from both the hotel manager and area supervisor but was offered nothing. I was basically treated as if I was after something for nothing and this was definitely wasn't the case. I've stayed in plenty of hotels and never complain, I just felt that being bit to death after staying in a hotel and then holiday inn accepting zero responsibility was pushing it a bit far! I won't be staying in any holiday inns in the future after this experience

Note: I should say that it is perfectly plausible that I could have got the bites outside the hotel, but I just thought I would post my experience and let people make up there own mind.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mr-F-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudithMillea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
There are some inaccuracies in this review. It was not cleaners that inspected the room but an independent firm of pest control specialists (BPCA members) and their report was passed to yourself which confirmed that they could find absolutely no trace of any kind of biting insect or anything that may have caused the marks.

In your own words you confirm “I should say that it is perfectly plausible that I could have got the bites outside the hotel” and with expert advice we can say for certainty that there was no evidence that this happened in the hotel bedroom when it was inspected less than 24 hours after you reported it.

Any such report from a guest is taken extremely seriously and experts are called in. As I advised you at the time, it is always best to check with occurrences like this and I was pleased that the room was found to be completely clean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Ibis Leeds Centre
#29 of 87 in Leeds
1,186 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Leeds
#18 of 87 in Leeds
1,925 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre
Address: Cavendish Street | Off Kirkstall Road, Leeds LS3 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a central location and good value at the modern Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre hotel. Park in our secure car park, and enter Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre's vibrant Lobby where you can take advantage of free WiFi and our friendly staff are waiting to greet you. Our contemporary 7-story hotel is set in leafy grounds and you can help yourself to an inclusive buffet breakfast each morning before taking the 15-minute walk into Leeds' city centre. Handily located just off the A65 and 8 miles from Leeds Bradford Airport, Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre is easy to reach by car. Catch up on work with free Wi-Fi and host events for up to 35 guests in our 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. You're a short drive from major businesses in Leeds city centre. Hop on a bus at the stop outside our hotel or stroll to the city centre's cosmopolitan shopping and nightlife in minutes. You can watch Leeds United FC play at Elland Road Stadium or enjoy cricket at Headingley Stadium, both 10 minutes' drive from the hotel. Choose from simple, tasty meals on the evening menu in Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre's inviting Great Room. Unwind with a glass of wine on leather sofas and surf the web. You can watch TV on the big screens and chat to our friendly staff in the bar. Our newly refurbished rooms feature modern decor, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and en suite shower room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre Hotel Leeds
Holiday Inn Leeds
Leeds Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing