We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a cheeky weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Stayed here for two nights with my husband for a city break.
Stayed in many holiday inn's and this one is fine.
Make sure to book a room off the main road and at the back of the hotel as the traffic never stops and you can hear everything.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foxyfaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2010

I stayed in this hotel with my partner on the 27th of november, i booked the hotel a week before and i think it was the only room left, it cost £57 pound for one night which i think is a good price. The hotel has on site car parking for a small fee, the hotel reception staff could have been about for friendly and give us such information like check out time and which time breakfast started. We were on the top floor of the building, their was 2 lifts but we decided to take the stairs!!. The room was really nice and was way better than what we were expecting, the bathroom was loving with a walk in shower. The hotel offered a tourist book on Leeds which told you about good places to eat and shop. There is a shop about 2mins walk away were u can buy magazines, sweets etc. We choose to get a taxi into Leeds centre as it was dark, it cost about 3.50 there and about 6 pound on the way back (flagged a taxi down, and it was after 12) The clubs in Leeds are amazing!, drinks are alot more expensive than were i am from. The breakfast was not very nice, yet i am abit fussy but sinse it was free i didnt complain!.
I would stay in this hotel again, i enjoyed my stay here and in Leeds!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SparklingDust21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

We booked here because it was within walking distance (10 mins) of my hospital appointment.
It was cheap (£62) and really ...OK. The beds were comfortable; we had a choice of hard & soft pillows.
The staff were helpful (and local): they let us check in early and leave the car for an extra 3 hrs over our time, no problem. Parking in the hotel car park was £5 a night.

DOWNSIDES
The shower made a really high pitched whistling noise though that woke me at 4am, as did the air con which comes on at odd times. I had to shut the shower door and turn off the air con. Street noise really wasn't a problem (we were on 6th floor).
The breakfast was a let-down: watery scrambled eggs and/or sausages with toast. Cheap sour yogurt, cold croissants, dry pain au chocolat - everything was the cheapest possible. The orange "juice" and coffee were just horrible.
We should have walked into town and had a full English at the Wetherspoons on Park Row.

All in all: you get what you pay for. This hotel is great for a night or two, as a base. For longer, we would've paid more for more comfort

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Awkward_Veggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Good, clean and inexpensive.
Average quality breakfast, but more than adequate and no extra charge.
Perfect modern hotel for a good value overnight stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuartDurham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

CNot a 5* hotel of course, but couldn't fault the place -especially with the brand new beds! Great value for money with all aspects obviously very carefully planned. Staff were extremely obliging. The room was spotless and comfortable and the breakfast, whilst not a banquet, was good quality food and plenty of it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fran095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

I stayed here as the Royal Armouries Holiday Inn was booked up - stayed for 2 nights while on business - great food , ice cold beer (a must for me!!) and rooms as always in Holiday Inn very comfortable - Some staff were very friendly and some not so ! but I guess thats not much of issue !!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zelig33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Stayed here this weekend. We alternate between bare bones hotels and top of the line depending on how last minute we go away. This was last minute however the truly awful wrap was booked. Room sleeps 3 and we asked in advance if it could be four and were told no so friend booked a Single elsewhere. Arrived to find 2 double beds so not sure why we were told this?

Bathroom was clean but main room carpet covered in stains ESP near bedside table. View was amazing! A road and wastand - billliant! City centre? We walked about 35 minutes to get there and a taxi back was 6 quid.

The breakfast was ok but nothing special - sausages and scrambled egg, toast, yoghurts etc. Don't give it too much credit though as for the price of this hotel over another basic hotel like the wrap, it's not a free breakfast it is just factored onto your bill.

Also our friend at another hotel went back to our room at 3am while we were out, the staffer him in to get his bag as he told them he had lost his card. They blocked ours too,useful for him to get his stuff but he could have been anyone!! They didn't see him earlier an even if they did should not have let him in our room and blocked our access, though this was very dodgy!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashe-n-Daz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Ibis Leeds Centre
#32 of 87 in Leeds
1,242 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Leeds
#20 of 87 in Leeds
2,061 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre

Address: Cavendish Street | Off Kirkstall Road, Leeds LS3 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range: £53 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a central location and good value at the modern Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre hotel. Park in our secure car park, and enter Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre's vibrant Lobby where you can take advantage of free WiFi and our friendly staff are waiting to greet you. Our contemporary 7-story hotel is set in leafy grounds and you can help yourself to an inclusive buffet breakfast each morning before taking the 15-minute walk into Leeds' city centre. Handily located just off the A65 and 8 miles from Leeds Bradford Airport, Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre is easy to reach by car. Catch up on work with free Wi-Fi and host events for up to 35 guests in our 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. You're a short drive from major businesses in Leeds city centre. Hop on a bus at the stop outside our hotel or stroll to the city centre's cosmopolitan shopping and nightlife in minutes. You can watch Leeds United FC play at Elland Road Stadium or enjoy cricket at Headingley Stadium, both 10 minutes' drive from the hotel. Choose from simple, tasty meals on the evening menu in Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre's inviting Great Room. Unwind with a glass of wine on leather sofas and surf the web. You can watch TV on the big screens and chat to our friendly staff in the bar. Our newly refurbished rooms feature modern decor, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and en suite shower room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre Hotel Leeds
Holiday Inn Leeds
Leeds Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing