We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive extras”
Review of Crowne Plaza Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Leeds
Ranked #20 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Expensive extras”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Have just returned from a three night stay at the Crowne Plaza in Leeds. The service, the rooms and the spa (pool etc) were absolutely fine. Unfortunately the extra costs let it down. They want to charge you £15 a day to park your car in their car park! £10 a day for wi fi! Breakfast £15.95! Although we had no choice but to pay for the car park. We did not use Wi Fi or have breakfast in the hotel because of the costs. What a shame they cannot offer some of these things free or charge or at a moderate cost.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolinesimonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Carolinesimonds,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are glad you liked the service you received from our staff. We apologize for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    589
    203
    86
    52
See reviews for
289
502
68
384
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

me and Tristan(boyfriend) stayed at the crowne plaza. It was so romantic and amazing. The staff were so lovely and kind. We will definitely be going back there. My friends recommended it to me as she stayed with her daughter for a couple of nights. There is a pool there and is open to kids and adults. The spa was amazing. The location was brilliant. Just a little walk away from the town centre AKA the shops. The parking was great although you do have to pay, it cost us £15 for the one night we stayed - not a problem considering what else the hotel offers. Breakfast was very appealing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shauna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisest, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some excellent customer feedback.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please be assured I have passed on your kind comments to all of my team, as they serve as a great motivator.

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Leeds as your preferred hotel of choice and may I thank you again for your recommendation to future potential guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Leeds very soon.

Kind Regards
Matt Byram

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I've stayed at this hotel before on 3 or 4 occasions but not for a while. From the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more welcoming, warm and courteous and remained so throughout our stay. We noticed the rooms have been renovated and are spacious and bright with comfortable beds and well equipped bathrooms. Nice to have enough space for a sofa in the room too, along with tea and coffee making facilities, free water and biscuits. Very effective air conditioning and the window opened slightly for fresh air so we slept without the aircon which is, in our opinion, a bonus. Breakfast was adequate but we would have awarded 5 stars had there been more variety. The offering was a little passe with trays of fried eggs and the usual other fried offerings. Overall we enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be of a good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisest, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some excellent customer feedback.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please be assured I have passed on your kind comments to all of my team, as they serve as a great motivator.

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Leeds as your preferred hotel of choice and may I thank you again for your recommendation to future potential guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Leeds very soon.

Kind Regards
Matt Byram

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My friend and I had booked a night at this hotel bed and breakfast and were very pleased. Despite discovering the agent we had booked through had approved a double room rather than a twin we had a lovely stay. The duty managed at the hotel was happy to do what he could to compensate us for the change in booking even though it was not the hotel at fault.
The room was clean and comfortable and the leisure facilities good, although the pool was a little smaller than it seems from the pictures. Breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice and the fact that it was served until 11 on a Sunday meant we could have a good lie in.
Overall we would not hesitate to book another stay at this hotel, we'd just remember not to use the sat-nav as it was not very reliable in finding the exact location of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisest, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some excellent customer feedback.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please be assured I have passed on your kind comments to all of my team, as they serve as a great motivator.

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Leeds as your preferred hotel of choice and may I thank you again for your recommendation to future potential guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Leeds very soon.

Kind Regards
Matt Byram

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Would like to say a big thank you to danni from reception, Irish lady Emma, Becky and a blonde haired lady from F&B thank you for making our stay warm and welcome yous are a credit to the hotel. All staff extremly friendly lovey lady from housekeeping to :-) thank you

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy11223344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisest, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some excellent customer feedback.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please be assured I have passed on your kind comments to all of my team, as they serve as a great motivator.

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Leeds as your preferred hotel of choice and may I thank you again for your recommendation to future potential guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Leeds very soon.

Kind Regards
Matt Byram

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My Husband and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for one night as a stopover on a long journey.
We arrived quite late but were still greeted with a friendly welcome.
The car park is outside the Hotel and costs £15 overnight.
The room was nice, really comfy bed!! Tea and coffee facilities and decent bathroom.
The breakfast was okay, buffet style- your standard holiday inn/Crowne plaza buffet breakfast.
Check out was quick, the lady on reception (Erin?) was very friendly!
On the whole this is a decent Hotel and I would recommend it to stay in.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyP186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisest, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some excellent customer feedback.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please be assured I have passed on your kind comments to Erin, as they serve as a great motivator.

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Leeds as your preferred hotel of choice and may I thank you again for your recommendation to future potential guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Leeds very soon.

Kind Regards
Matt Byram

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed at the hotel with six girlfriends for my 40th birthday in March 2014 and although everything was excellent, it was the staff that stood out for me and the girls (in particular Danielle who was a star and helped my friends with a few surprises for me during our stay). The breakfast is served until 11.30 which is perfect if you aren't an early riser. The pool/spa are clean and not too busy and I recommend the Swedish full body massage as a treatment.

I would definitely stay at the hotel again for location, quality, cleanliness and of course the service. I can't wait to go back with my boyfriend.

Helpful?
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#24 of 87 in Leeds
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Leeds

Property: Crowne Plaza Leeds
Address: Wellington Street, Leeds LS1 4DL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Leeds
#13 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel located in downtown area, 1/4 mile from Leeds train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Leeds Hotel Leeds
Leeds Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing