We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did the job, just!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Crowne Plaza Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Leeds
Ranked #15 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
213 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Did the job, just!”
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Generic business hotel with good sized rooms and only 5 mins walk to centre. Was there on a Saturday and the distance seemed to have put off the nightclub crowd that seem to fill other Leeds hotels at the weekend, so had a quiet stay which was great.
That said, not the greatest Crowne Plaza I've stayed in. Double glazed windows had condensation inside them and the bathroom looked a little tired and old (and probably so did I after trying to make a booking to stay here via the ICH call centre, a big, big mistake since it is an 0870 number charged at about 30p/minute and ate all my money before I could complete the booking!) Breakfast was fine, but utterly generic. Powdered scrambled eggs and tasteless bread.
Complimentary water came with the room, which was a nice touch: but one of the bottles had already been opened!
It was fine stay, but as I walked back to the station that Sunday I felt I could have done better.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ICE-Zugfahrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    574
    199
    82
    49
See reviews for
284
485
67
371
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peebles, Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2009

I now stay at this notel regularly. Struggling to fault it, good service, lovely pool, always get an upgraded room. Haven't actually used the restaurant (always room service) but food is fine. Also only 5 mins walk to Leeds City Centre. Some traffic noise at night but not particularly loud. Strongly recommend to people visiting Leeds.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunslairbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2009

I have recently stayed at this hotel and would like to compliment the staff on their professionalism. The staff were all curtious and pleasing. The hotel is a nice hotel but a few things let it down. The hotel is a good 5 minutes walk from the city center but mini mode restaurant (which is voted best restaurant in Leeds) is only a little way down the road. The Spa is okay and the gym is adequate along with the swimming pol,sauna and steam room, which are all worth a visit..

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eizabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

This is possibly the worst Crown Plaza I've ever stayed at. Tatty rooms, bodged repair jobs, a bathroom from the 1980's - I can't believe they charge premium prices for a premium room!

Back to the Marriott for me next time!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stairpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2009

We got this as a top secret hotel on last minute.com and for £50 it was ok but wouldnt rush back. About a 10 min walk to centre. Seemed to be short staffed and there was either no one on reception or just one person on. Gym was ok. Staff in spa helpful. Room ordinary and dated. Bathroom could do with a refurb. We had a leak from the ceiling in the night and when we advised this the next morn the reply was 'Why didnt you say sooner?' Well we didnt want someone coming in the room at 3am when we realised!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliw2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
424 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

This hotel is clean and comfortable and sited right in the heart of Leeds. It is efficiently run and well managed.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

Overall the hotel was fine - not cheap but it had a swimming pool which was of an adequate size. Our bedroom and the whole of the floor smelt strongly of new carpet and fluff from the carpet stuck to everything. The room itself was fine. In fact the word "fine" and "adequate" keep springing to mind as suitable adjectives for most of the hotel. Location was quite good. I have to say the staff were very good - a credit to the hotel. Breakfast was disappointing and the dining room was crammed between 09:30 am and 10:30 am. The food was not very good and they kept running out of things. What really let the stay down was the small, old fashioned bathroom. It really was not acceptable in a hotel of this price. The receptionist explained they were redecordating the bedrooms and laying new carpets first as this was easier than replacing the bathrooms. Believe me, they need to replace the bathrooms. Overall I much prefer Bewleys but they don't have a pool. The car parking is extortionate.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S_G_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 86 in Leeds
1,946 reviews
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
3,089 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Leeds

Property: Crowne Plaza Leeds
Address: Wellington Street, Leeds LS1 4DL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Leeds
#12 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel located in downtown area, 1/4 mile from Leeds train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Leeds Hotel Leeds
Leeds Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing