We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, considering the price...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Discovery Inn Leeds
Ranked #38 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not bad, considering the price...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

Very handy for the train station, Cockpit, shopping and various restaurants and bars.

Specious rooms, gigantic bathroom, comfy beds and good heating. Friendly staff on reception. A bargain at 35 quid a night.

The only downside is forking out a tenner deposit for the television remote.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank too_many_baguleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    314
    192
    87
    67
See reviews for
66
230
112
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

The hotel is central and close to the station. That is the plus point. It was an odd hotel in the fact that you have to go to the 3rd floor to reception. Once I checked in I made my way to the room and was immediately surprised by it. It looked nothing like the pics online. It was small, bit grubby and very dry. I checked out the bathroom and saw it just had a shower and a broken set of taps on the sink. This meant I couldnt use the sink plug to get washed or shaved. Whilst looking for a socket I noticed something under the bed. I looked and saw it was wrappers and bottles from a previous resident. Surely they could have cleaned the room properly couldn't they ? And, as mentioned on other reviews, I was greeted by a note on the TV saying that "remote is available from reception for a £10 deposit." Certainly WILL NOT be staying here again. For the price you can get much better in Leeds.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leeds hotels

Birchington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

I needed somewhere near the train station and it was £30 for the night which is cheap. But even £30 for too much for what I got.
I arrived 10pm on a snowy Sunday night (if just one of those 3 things wasn't the case I would have turned around and found somewhere else). First you have to go to the 3rd floor to reception, it's like arriving at some kind of detention centre. Then I had to go up to 5, get off the lift, and walk up to 6. My room (631) was COLD and shabby. The secondary double glazing was open at the bottom, and I couldn't get it to shut. I rang reception and someone came up and jiggled it about a bit, til he got it to close - "don't touch it" he said. The curtains felt dusty, you know, that smooth dusty feeling.
No remote control for the TV but a terse note advising you that you could go back down to reception for one, for a £10 deposit.
There was no duvet, just a sheet and a thin blanket. There was another thin blanket in the wardrobe. I tried with both of them til midnight when I had to ring down for two more blankets ("you want two??" he said, as if it wasn't early January in northern Europe), but he did bring them up quickly. The pillows were the thinnest I have ever seen. The bedding DID smell clean, although the bedspread was not clean, I took it off rather than sleep under it. There was a mattress protector under the flat sheet, and a weird rustling zip-up protector under that. I am 5'5" and the bed was too short for me. It was very cold all night.
There was thick dust on the wall light fittings. One window had two large cracks in it with old yellowed sellotape covering the cracks; the sellotape was so old it had mould under it. The window nets were not clean. No safety chain on the door. I decided not to look closely at the carpet (which looked old), and just kept my shoes on until I got in bed.
The room was at the back and there was the constant noise of some kind of generator or something; I wear foam earplugs otherwise I wouldn't have slept through its very loud and constant hum.
The towels and the bathroom were clean. However, the radiator in the bathroom, despite being on at no.5, its highest number, was COLD and there was no double glazing in the bathroom. It was COLD. No soap, only half-full handwash. Shower was terrible, water pressure not-existent.
Breakfast (not included) was, predictably, OK but not inspiring. The lad on duty didn't say a word, even when another guest said "this bread is very stale". He just stared at her til she said "oh well" and put it in the toaster. The croissants and breadcakes looked like someone had sat on them. The branflakes also tasted stale. The coffee was OK. The room was cold.
The whole place needs decorating, with new beds and pillows, and a deep clean. THEN it will be worth £30-40 a night.
My advice is: avoid like the plague.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAMANTHA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
242 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Very handy for the town centre and railway station. The room was quite large with a good sized bathroom, but you do get quite a lot of noise from the external streets.

I paid just over £40 for room only - there was a £10 deposit required for a remote control for the TV, which was a bit odd.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Coach55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

The double room and ensuite were what i expected for the price,the room was clean and functional. We had to pay a £10 deposit for the remote control to be able to use the TV which was a little odd as i cannot imagine many people trying to run away with a tv!. As we were staying on a Friday night and at the front of the hotel we were kept awake until 4pm with people going home from pubs and clubs so we did not have a restful stay. Im afraid we won't be staying here again as i would rather pay a little more for a peaceful nights sleep.

Room Tip: Avoid a room at the front of the hotel during a weeknd
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolPinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaham harbour
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

I'm not sure how they do it but £35 per night for a double room in a city centre hotel is remarkable. Remarkable when you consider the rooms are warm, clean and spacious. The staff we encountered were friendly and accommodating.

Many thanks

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mick_and_Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lundin Links, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

I was on a training course (Tuesday night) at the Novatel but didn't want to pay Novatel prices for a bed. The Discovery Inn is opposite the station and as I came in by train it was perfect. At £50 for a double room in central Leeds it was great value. There were all the services in the room I'd expect. The hair-dryer was broken and the radiator in the bathroom wasn't working but these are easily fixed and I did report them on departure. I can't comment on the breakfast as I had this at the Novatel. I LIKED: Location, price, comfy bed, huge bathroom (room 709), great shower, coffee and tea facilities, fairly quiet, lots of places to eat within minutes. I DIDN'T LIKE: hair dryer broken, bathroom radiator not working, TV in window bay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alantomkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#20 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Roomzzz Leeds City
#3 of 86 in Leeds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza Leeds
#36 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,812 reviews
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,095 reviews
Ibis Leeds Centre
#28 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Inn Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn Leeds

Property: Discovery Inn Leeds
Address: 15 Bishopgate Street, Leeds LS1 5DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Discovery Inn Leeds 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 100 metres from Leeds City Station and less than a kilometre from the national motorway network, the Discovery Inn is an ideal choice for those who want the convenience of a centrally-located hotel without the overinflated price tag. We pride ourselves on offering excellent customer service, a warm welcome and an exceptional standard of cleanliness and comfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotelopia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Inn Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Inn Leeds Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing