We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap city centre hotel- ideal for a night out.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Discovery Inn Leeds
Ranked #41 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Cheap city centre hotel- ideal for a night out.”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

The Discovery Inn is opposite the main railway station in Leeds and is therefore ideal for people who aren't familiar with the town centre.We booked online via a comparison website and got our room for £37 with a weeks notice, which was quite reasonable.

Our room was on the 8th floor- the layout is a bit of a maze as you have to check in on the 7th floor, the overall feel being cheap and cheerful. However, it was clean, tidy, the shower was warm, the bed was quite comfy and they offer discount overnight parking if you get out of the secure car park (5 minute walk away) before 10.30am of a weekend. We declined the Continental breakfast at £3.75 so can't comment on the food.

The only real negative points were the broken window in our room, overlooking the interior courtyard of the hotel, otherwise a decent stay for the price of a taxi home.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyYorks77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    335
    205
    94
    70
See reviews for
74
248
123
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I stayed here for two nights to watch a rugby league game in Easter this year, and found the place very near the railway station, very clean and pretty much everything you would want in a hotel for a single bed. The guys at the front desk were very polite and everything was pretty straight forward. If I came to Leeds again, I would most likely stay here again. The instructions on floors and lifts were a bit confusing though.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themarinelines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

we travelled for one night stopping on the 30th of march wasnt really sure what i was expecting when getting there after reading the reviews on here but when we arrived we were checked in with a lovely friendly recepionist called david we got in our rooms early in return of some chocolate bars for when he goes to africa for the children in a couple of weeks, room clean and tidy excellent location for train station shops and pubs was certain parts of the hotel that felt ghostly but would deffo return of i was going back to leed :)

Room Tip: i stopped in room 720 really quiet but didnt have a view but thats not what i was there for so all g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayhappy1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Having read some very entetaining reviews, I wondered if I should cancel my booking.
However, maybe the staff are new, maybe the direction signs to rooms are new, maybe the several signs at entrance to reception are new,(upper floor receptions are quite common in European city hotels) maybe the contract laundry tubs coming in ever morning are a new arrangement ,or just maybe trip advisor shocked the owners into upgrading, certainly lot of recent paint. But what do I know, having experience in the Group Travel trade, and seen some real slum hotels.

SO.Discovery is just below the staion, and clearly visible. This curving building is mainly shops at gropund floor, so you go into the narrow entrance and follow the clear signs to lift and reception above. Friendly guy on reception warned us to pay deposit on TV remote ("Too many stolen") gave us excellent Leeds map, and key.

Clear signs to room, on large size for cheap hotel, slightly odd size to fit building shape. Clean comfortable beds, trad. sheets and blankets not duvet. Staff responded instantly to minor problems-more pillows, faulty lamp. Odd shaped but efficient en-suite , no dog hairs ! Plenty of morning hot water, constant pressure (common morning hotel problem). good range of TV programmes,(got £10 deposit back on leaving) Busy road outside, buses, trucks etc but good double glazing so low hum ( But I live near Heathrow so you early fliers give us hell). Tasteful pics on walls. Light breakfast worth the £4.00, or try Yates's round corner, probabaly better than their evening meal.
Much better at Charcoalgrill restaraunt oposite, (Persian) bring your own wine from off licence next door. Great food, very resonable prices.

So, personally, it was agood visit, topped of by a visit to Leeds Variety Theatre, a classic, with a one night gig by Steeleye Span and Maddie Prior (who they ?), and Leeds wonderful markets, So, two happy and satisfied old fogies, who do NOT work for Discovery.

Room Tip: If traffic hum gets to you, ask for rear room., and probably garbage views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John-Ball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Arrived here 25th March for a 2 night stay, mainly chosen for location and price. The reception greeting was good and I left my luggage as the room was not ready. The decor in the public spaces is good and gives a good first impression, but when I got in my room, shabby with battered furniture, including a wobbly wardrobe! The room was freezing cold and had mould growing on the bedroom and bathroom walls/ceiling. I paid £8 for wifi, which did not work in the room. I asked for a refund but was told I could use it in the public areas so no refund was possible. You also have to pay £10 deposit to get a TV remote, which tells you all you need to know about the clientele they normally get. When I complained about the cold room, they did provide a plug in radiator, which was welcome. The bed was dreadful, soft and lumpy, with wafer thin cheap pillows, nasty. Breakfast is extra, don't bother, you don't get a good choice and the room is like a prison diner (I imagine). Overall not great, you can stay at Ibis for the same money and get a good standard. I checked out a day early...say no more

Room Tip: Go to another hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCMMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leeds hotels

Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

Picked this hotel due to lower price compared to others in Leeds, however still pricey for what it was. Location fantastic, right near the train station. Very weird design of building, you have to get a lift to the 3rd floor to check in - bizarre - then lifts to other floors. Not a welcoming atmosphere. The room was dated & one of the most uncomfortable beds I've slept in with only one flat pillow each. Bathroom was big & tea/coffee facilities ok. On return from night out I wanted tv remote which you had to get at reception & pay a deposit for - on way back to my room i was in a lift with a man who was clearly under the influence of something - this I found very intimidating as lift very small & felt vulnerable. I have booked to stay here again - purely due to cheaper price & location.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noubydarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2013

As I stayed there for a business trip and I am self-employed, it was economical; very friendly and helpful staff; very clean; the room was serviced and spotless each day with top ups of coffee and teabags; the breakfast was basic but more than adequate with plenty of fresh coffee. The hotel couldn't be closer to the station and I could walk to my meetings each day.

Wifi seemed expensive - I paid £3.00 for an hour - lost connection after a few minutes and that was my session finished; 24 hours is £8.00 which presumably means multiple sessions? I had a room at the back and at the end of a corridor which was probably a good option; there was quite a bit of activity and coming and going during the late evening and I know another guest found the noise in the corridor annoying. I'm not sure I would want to spend a Friday or Saturday night there, as I booked out on Friday morning a load of lads arrived - possible stag night? Generally first impressions are that the hotel decor is a little "tired" but the cleanliness makes up for it; have £10 cash to hand as a deposit for the remote or you can't watch tv!

Room Tip: The hotel is right in the city centre - go for a back room for some quiet - though the view is of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieS-V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Ibis Leeds Centre
#29 of 87 in Leeds
1,186 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#21 of 87 in Leeds
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roomzzz Leeds City
#5 of 87 in Leeds
512 reviews
Park Plaza Leeds
#39 of 87 in Leeds
2,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Inn Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn Leeds

Property: Discovery Inn Leeds
Address: 15 Bishopgate Street, Leeds LS1 5DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Discovery Inn Leeds 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 100 metres from Leeds City Station and less than a kilometre from the national motorway network, the Discovery Inn is an ideal choice for those who want the convenience of a centrally-located hotel without the overinflated price tag. We pride ourselves on offering excellent customer service, a warm welcome and an exceptional standard of cleanliness and comfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Inn Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Inn Leeds Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing