We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sightseeing base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Discovery Inn Leeds
Ranked #40 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Wimbledon, London
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good sightseeing base”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

As the many reviews of this hotel have stated, Discovery Inn is a perfectly adequate budget hotel in a central location. The rooms are attractively decorated, warm, plenty of hot water, welcome tray etc. 24-hour Reception. Excellent breakfast - cereals, grapefruit segments, ham, cheese, jams, rolls, breads, croissants, fresh filter coffee (a big plus in my book) all for £3.75. Best not to whinge if there is the odd noise of guests coming and going and from aircon units outside - this isn't the Ritz! I moved rooms on my first visit, but made allowances this time, eg the shower didn't work, but there was a bath in the enormous bathroom (all rooms vary in size and layout; also, I assume, in noise levels). I would recommend this hotel, especially if you are arriving by train and are planning to explore further afield - Harrogate and Skipton, for example, are within easy reach.

Room Tip: Luck of the draw, all rooms vary in size and position. 1001 in adjoining building - no 'through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxurylover28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    336
    206
    94
    70
See reviews for
75
249
123
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel, right in the centre of Leeds offers good value for money. I had a twin room which was very spacious, clean and tidy. Quick and easy check in and out. Would stay again. Convenient for railway station, trinity walk and of course the Scarborough Tapps

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulandSam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Needed a room to stay for my son and me the night before we went on a post-application day at Leeds University. This hotel was great for what we needed. We paid £40 for the night, and my parents joined us and paid £35 (paying in advance). Breakfast was £3.75 each extra but was well worth it. A good choice in a pretty breakfast room.
Our bedroom was huge and worked well for a one-night stay. The room was fairly basic but perfectly acceptable. Staff were polite and helpful. Reception is not on the ground floor and you need to access it via a lift.
A few little luxury touches would brighten the room, and the lift seemed to have a life of its own at times but basically this is a good choice for budget accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichmondLass5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

this hotel is ideally situated opposite the train station but with that comes the noise from the trains and the ring road if you get a room on the front of the hotel.
I visited with my sister for 2 nights on the 3rd of march room was spacious and bathroom a good size.asked for extra pillows only paid £40 per night so was good value.would stay again but would ask for a room away from traffic.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank werelupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Considering we only paid £50 for the room it was great! Walked out of the train station and hotel was first thing we saw! Brilliant location. Rooms a bit dated but plenty of space! David on reception was very friendly & helpful and made sure me and my friends got rooms together and we had a good stay :-)

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayleigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My wife and I stopped here 1 night on business, Tuesday 4th April advertised £40 a night week days and weekend. We were pleasantly surprised friendly welcome, clean and well presented, the room was very spacious room 1003. Continental breakfast all you can eat great value at only £3.75. Pictures on the internet didn't do this hotel justice, location 50m from the train station, 100m from the car park which if you enter after 6pm and leave before 9am the hotel will give you a discount voucher , so the cost of the parking was £2.80. Would use again for work or a cheap weekend away.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The hotel was excellently situated right across the road from the train station so very easy to find. The room we had on the 6th floor was a good size. The double bed was comfortable but only one pillow each. There was a large area where you could get dressed with a full length mirror. The bathroom was big enough with plenty of hot water but hardly any pressure in the shower. The room itself was very clean. We could hear the air con fan all night and scaffolders decided to erect scaffolding right across the road at 7am on a Sunday morning!!!! Not the hotels fault but the windows aren't very sound proof. Breakfast is continental but there was lots of it and very fresh. The man in the room was lovely, friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the air con fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Ibis Leeds Centre
#29 of 87 in Leeds
1,186 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#21 of 87 in Leeds
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roomzzz Leeds City
#5 of 87 in Leeds
512 reviews
Park Plaza Leeds
#39 of 87 in Leeds
2,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Inn Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn Leeds

Property: Discovery Inn Leeds
Address: 15 Bishopgate Street, Leeds LS1 5DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Discovery Inn Leeds 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 100 metres from Leeds City Station and less than a kilometre from the national motorway network, the Discovery Inn is an ideal choice for those who want the convenience of a centrally-located hotel without the overinflated price tag. We pride ourselves on offering excellent customer service, a warm welcome and an exceptional standard of cleanliness and comfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Inn Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Inn Leeds Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing