We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLEAN,SPACIOUS AND CLOSE TO STATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Discovery Inn Leeds
Ranked #36 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were only staying for 1 night.We found the location great and the man on reception(Dale?)really friendly and helpful.I don't know why such a lot of other reviewers say the staff were rude.Our room was on the10th floor-it was large and clean.We had a great view of the city.My only moan is the smell from the shower room.This could be from the amount of water that spilled onto the floor despite using the curtain correctly.It was the smell of mould.But as we were staying for 1 night only,we decided not to mention the matter.We didn't have breakfast as my daughter had stayed before and knew that there was no cooked breakfast-off to Yates we went.But overall it was a great hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YOLO123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (956)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

668 - 674 of 956 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

As the many reviews of this hotel have stated, Discovery Inn is a perfectly adequate budget hotel in a central location. The rooms are attractively decorated, warm, plenty of hot water, welcome tray etc. 24-hour Reception. Excellent breakfast - cereals, grapefruit segments, ham, cheese, jams, rolls, breads, croissants, fresh filter coffee (a big plus in my book) all for £3.75. Best not to whinge if there is the odd noise of guests coming and going and from aircon units outside - this isn't the Ritz! I moved rooms on my first visit, but made allowances this time, eg the shower didn't work, but there was a bath in the enormous bathroom (all rooms vary in size and layout; also, I assume, in noise levels). I would recommend this hotel, especially if you are arriving by train and are planning to explore further afield - Harrogate and Skipton, for example, are within easy reach.

Room Tip: Luck of the draw, all rooms vary in size and position. 1001 in adjoining building - no 'through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luxurylover28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel, right in the centre of Leeds offers good value for money. I had a twin room which was very spacious, clean and tidy. Quick and easy check in and out. Would stay again. Convenient for railway station, trinity walk and of course the Scarborough Tapps

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank PaulandSam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Needed a room to stay for my son and me the night before we went on a post-application day at Leeds University. This hotel was great for what we needed. We paid £40 for the night, and my parents joined us and paid £35 (paying in advance). Breakfast was £3.75 each extra but was well worth it. A good choice in a pretty breakfast room.
Our bedroom was huge and worked well for a one-night stay. The room was fairly basic but perfectly acceptable. Staff were polite and helpful. Reception is not on the ground floor and you need to access it via a lift.
A few little luxury touches would brighten the room, and the lift seemed to have a life of its own at times but basically this is a good choice for budget accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichmondLass5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

this hotel is ideally situated opposite the train station but with that comes the noise from the trains and the ring road if you get a room on the front of the hotel.
I visited with my sister for 2 nights on the 3rd of march room was spacious and bathroom a good size.asked for extra pillows only paid £40 per night so was good value.would stay again but would ask for a room away from traffic.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank werelupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Considering we only paid £50 for the room it was great! Walked out of the train station and hotel was first thing we saw! Brilliant location. Rooms a bit dated but plenty of space! David on reception was very friendly & helpful and made sure me and my friends got rooms together and we had a good stay :-)

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kayleigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My wife and I stopped here 1 night on business, Tuesday 4th April advertised £40 a night week days and weekend. We were pleasantly surprised friendly welcome, clean and well presented, the room was very spacious room 1003. Continental breakfast all you can eat great value at only £3.75. Pictures on the internet didn't do this hotel justice, location 50m from the train station, 100m from the car park which if you enter after 6pm and leave before 9am the hotel will give you a discount voucher , so the cost of the parking was £2.80. Would use again for work or a cheap weekend away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Ibis Leeds Centre
#33 of 87 in Leeds
1,252 reviews
Quarry Hill
Travelodge Leeds Central Vicar Lane Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roomzzz Leeds City
#3 of 87 in Leeds
538 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Inn Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn Leeds

Address: 15 Bishopgate Street, Leeds LS1 5DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range: £38 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Discovery Inn Leeds 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 100 metres from Leeds City Station and less than a kilometre from the national motorway network, the Discovery Inn is an ideal choice for those who want the convenience of a centrally-located hotel without the overinflated price tag. We pride ourselves on offering excellent customer service, a warm welcome and an exceptional standard of cleanliness and comfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Inn Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Inn Leeds Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing