We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Discovery Inn Leeds
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Novotel Leeds Centre(Leeds)(Great Value!)
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Clayton Hotel Leeds(Leeds)(Great Value!)
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Park Plaza Leeds(Leeds)(Great Value!)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Leeds Centre(Leeds)(Great Value!)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,006)
Filter reviews
1,006 results
Traveller rating
190
408
229
103
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
408
229
103
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationcontinental breakfastcity centreroom was cleanexcellent locationlarge bathroomplenty of hot waterq parktriple roomtea and coffee making facilitiesshower gelwould stay againfirst direct arenastayed one nightshort stayexcellent value for moneycar park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
674 - 679 of 1,006 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

A good location for the trains, taxis, shops and nightlife. The hotel is a bit tired but was clean and served its purpose well. The rooms were spacious and although a bit shabby we had everything we needed.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LPW24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

In Leeds for ska festival stopped at Discovery Inn,cheap budget hotel adequate for our needs,friendly staff,discounted parking no complaints at all.We had problem with toilet it got sorted by time we got back.If you want clean cheap digs you can't go far wrong with this place.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank clarksville69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This review is based on room 709 only. Therefore I cannot vouch for any of the other room.
We went in Leeds last year and stayed on the Novotel.

This year we decided on the Discovery Inn for around £10 less.
We booked on line, and selected a quiet room, when asked.
Never stayed in one before so didn’t know the concept of not having your traditional foyer/reception area, bar or restaurant.
The man on “reception”, was very polite indeed.
The room.
On entering our room the first thing we noticed was a notice on our window informing us the sash/secondary glazing windows do not stay open.
Wrong. The windows were already slightly open, and couldn’t be closed.
As it was a nice hot day, this didn’t bother us too much. So we never mentioned at the time.
As the room overlooked a main and side street, it seemed a trifle noisy, but wasn’t to worried as it was a late Saturday afternoon when we arrived.
The rest of the room looked like it could have done with a good cleaning. Whilst it wasn’t “filthy”, a good dusting wouldn’t go a miss. A lick of paint is needed to. The shared bedside lamp was covered in cobwebs, and the trim was hanging off. No radio/alram clock.
The mattresses on our beds have defiantly seen better days. No actual springs coming through, but you get the feeling, any day now. No pillow protectors either. My pillow had a slight indefinable aroma about it.
Whilst the bathroom was huge pro rata to the bedroom was clean, it lacked simple things like a floor mat, or somewhere to hang a dressing gown. Small things. But for the price we paid things should be standard. One bath towel had black marks on, so I had to use the other one.
When we got to our room later in the evening, we noticed the noise coming from the streets outside, was very noticeable, this didn’t subside till around 4 in the morning. Not being able to close the windows, and requesting a quite room, meant neither my wife nor I got much sleep. Then around 5am a scaffolding company turned to erect scaffolding on the building opposite. Not the hotels fault of course, but wouldn’t have been a problem, if we didn’t have the issues mentioned already.

All in all, we’ve stayed in cheaper and far better B&B’s, and hotels around Britain.
Will be staying at Novotel again next year

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 709 untill they get the windows fixed.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ArticulsDueandUni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

On arriving at Discovery you come in a side entrance with linen trollies and a phone that was hanging off the wall. Reception is on the 3rd floor. The man manning the desk was very pleasant. A door on the way to our room is out of action. On entering our room we found a notice on the window to advise the window was also being repaired. We found we could not close the window properly and there is a gap. Being so close to the city centre is convenient but we have had no sleep due to all the party people shouting and fighting until the early hours, as well as the sirens. As well as people returning to the hotel making lots of noise.To add to this the building opposite is having the scaffolding taken down due to non payment. This started at 5 this morning and is still going on now at 7.30! We have given up and are going to give up in search of coffee. Whilst the bed is clean,paintwork and areas in the bathroom are dirty and unloved. We would not return.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank marierushton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent position across from railway station and minutes from all main shopping areas.comfortable clean rooms,plentiful continental breakfast(3.75) which sets you up for the day.definately recommend.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank jambo1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews