We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Discovery Inn Leeds
Ranked #36 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

You step off the train and hotel is there you can leave bags if your early which is helpful. Staff friendly room OK bit dated but clean bed comfy asked for extra pillows not a problem. Shower powerful and hot .Room 336 overlooking train station bit of noise but your in a city center so you expect it. All in all enjoyed our stay

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (956)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

613 - 619 of 956 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

Firstly on arrival you walk into a dull entranceway and have to find yourself up to third floor in a lift big enough to fit one person with a large suitcase. Then on arriving at reception we got told that we would have to take the lift to the 5th floor then walk up a flight of stairs in order to get to our room. On arriving in our room we opened the door to find that it hit the bed and the wardrobe so there was not enough room to wheel your luggage in instead you had to lift your heavy suitcase straight onto the bed. Moving onto the bed, it was extremely uncomfortable, it gave me such a bad back that I instead chose to lie on a blanket on the grotty carpet in order to stop a serious injury occurring. Onto the bathroom, the battle of mould vs limescale in there, it was revolting!!! The toilet itself looked ok on the outside but the rim was surrounded by black grime proving that nobody had bothered to clean this room for our arrival and even longer by the state of the rest of the bathroom; the shower was tiny and the water pressure was horrendous, the shower was surrounded in a coat of limescale and bacteria and the shower curtain looked like it had lived through WW2. During the night we had a restless nights sleep not only due to the mattress, but also due to the fact that the windows are very thin that you could hear everything that was happening outside, you could also hear what was happening in the hallway outside the room due to drunken people coming in in the morning. The receptionists didn't deal efficiently with complaints given to them by customers and instead just had an attitude. The only good thing about it is that it's opposite the train station so it's easy to make your escape.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yogibearblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Good
1. Close to office buildings and center - this was the reason I selected the hotel!
2. Close to the train station, it was usefull to have a short trip to York which is a much nicer town, lots of history and thing to see even if only for 2 hours in the evening, after the working hours.Could buy souvernirs from a small shop near train station - I recommend this shop!
3. Helpfull and very kind staff at the desk - they offer to switch the room when the internet was not working at all and we could left our baggage in the baggage room for a couple of hour until we left for the airport.

Bad
1. Big problems with internet connection, I switched 2 rooms, one on 4th floor and one on 5th floor but without succes, very kind personnel but if the infrastructure is poor... this is the reason I don't recommend it for businness. It was working ok on the hallway but working sitted on the stairs is not my ideea of work environment. My coleague stayed at the mansard, with no lift for accesss but he had a better internet connection. If you have to book this hotel for business ask for a room there!
2. Too close to noisy bars and noisy people, Friday evening was a hell to sleep, drunken people were coming accompanied from the town. Saturday morning the hotel hallways were smelling of alcohol and vomit.
3. Basic level hotel, could not book anything else prior 2 days to my business trip. First room at 4th floor the room and the bathroom were bigger, looking desolating empty. Second room was a little smaller. Everything was fairly clean but outdated and worn: the furniture, the bed lingerie. At breakfast the croissants were hard, the selection to choose from was little. Almost nothing was fresh, everything was just unpacked, except cofee. No in-house kitchen, I guess.

Leeds worth a visit for shopping, lots and lots of stores! Took some nice pictures of the city, too.
Went to a small trip to York, after working hours - this is a must! Could visit shortly the town and admire the historic remains and the nice views.
Another short visit in the neighbourhood was at the Harewood masion, very nice view, easy to reach by bus and close enough to visit after 6'o clock in the evening.
If I would have had more time I would have visited also the Kirkstall Abbey and the Roundhay Park, maybe some other time...

Room Tip: For a room with good WIFI connection (with pay) ask a room at a mansard (8th floor), but there you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiniBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The location of the hotel is ideal. Right in the centre of the city and about a 20 minute walk from Leeds football ground. A couple of minutes walk from the train station at most.

The hotel itself is average. Whilst the rooms are ok, don’t expect much other than a base to explore the city. The staff were friendly!

Breakfast is continental and £3.25.

It’s an average hotel with a price that matches. If all you need is a bed at the end of a day/s then worth the money but there are much better for an extra £20 + per night.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ianunitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Discovery Inn is located near of the railway station and center of Leeds. Staff is friendly. Tea and coffee facilities in the rooms.
The carpets were wet and quite dirty, ush.
We have ordered gluten free breakfast but in vain. We must eat apple and cheese.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Anneli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed one night. Booked a double room, but it was actually two rooms plus a bathroom. Very basic but clean. Good location opposite train station and close to the center of Leeds.
Wifi charges outrageous!!!
Bring your own modem/3g/4g sim card to avoid being ripped off.
For the price I paid it was fine for one night. No noise slept well, however it was a week night so no party goers etc.
Short of accessible electrical sockets.
My grandaughter went down for the breakfast and was not impressed.

Room Tip: I was at the back of the hotel, looked out onto a fire escape, however it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 222MaryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The location was great and it was easy to find. The rooms were inadequate with flimsy locks on the door and windows. At night the hotel was really noisy and I did not feel safe. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Ibis Leeds Centre
#33 of 87 in Leeds
1,252 reviews
Quarry Hill
Travelodge Leeds Central Vicar Lane Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roomzzz Leeds City
#3 of 87 in Leeds
538 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Inn Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn Leeds

Address: 15 Bishopgate Street, Leeds LS1 5DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range: £38 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Discovery Inn Leeds 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 100 metres from Leeds City Station and less than a kilometre from the national motorway network, the Discovery Inn is an ideal choice for those who want the convenience of a centrally-located hotel without the overinflated price tag. We pride ourselves on offering excellent customer service, a warm welcome and an exceptional standard of cleanliness and comfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Discovery Inn Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Inn Leeds Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing