We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for...cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Discovery Inn Leeds
Ranked #39 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
cork
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for...cheap”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

Stayed for 1 night when Leeds Utd were playing a home game in Elland Road. Hotel centrally located across road from train station, next door to nice pubs and plenty of eating options available locally.Hotel room was located through numerous doors and corridors, up stairs, down stairs and through more doors to what seems an older musky smelling part of the building.Room was dated but clean, television had no remote, very little spare bedclothes and bathroom window had a broken fanlight that made bathroom very cold.
If you want a cheap no frills stay in central location, can put up with musky smelling corridors and cold bathrooms then do stay here.Bedroom was clean ,sleep was good and yes I probably would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mick0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    314
    192
    87
    67
See reviews for
66
230
112
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

we travelled to leeds to celebrate a friends birthday and wanting somewhere cheap and cheerful to stay we opted for discovery as it was close to town. we arrived at the hotel and i was pleasenty suprised at how clean it seemed to be as we entered the lift to go to reception. we had 3 rooms booked ( all of which were on different floors ) as we walked to the the the first room to drop some bags of the smell of urine soon became appparent. having dropped the bags off we got back into the lift to find our 2nd room. back down to floor one! after traveling all day we wanted to have a shower and freshen up before we hit the town. no such luck. the shower had come away from the wall!!!! no problem you may think just have a bath..... it was coverd in brown stains and looked like it had never been cleaned. the bathroom window wouldnt shut and had mould and i dont no what else growing around it then the toilet wouldnt flush!! in the bedroom the sockets were hanging off the walls. and the walls were covered it stains. the lamps were all wonky, i made me nervous to switch them on. having eventually managed to get ready we had a great night out. cant say the sleep was great though. very noisey and the beds were very uncomfortable!! we only had thin sheets as covers. having get up early in the morning ( i didnt want to be in that bed one second longer ) i had to go up 3 floors to our friends room to use thier shower. not ideal!!!! 8 of us stayed in the hotel that night at a price of £25 a person. definatly not worth it!! will not be returning EVER.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigange21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leeds hotels

UK
Level Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

Cheap, noisy and totally bizarre. Rooms not upto much. Noisy during night due to large parties.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paleninteresting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

I booked this hotel for £38 for a double room so I knew this was a budget hotel but was still disappointed. I was half expecting what I got but cheap and near the station were my priorities. The positives are the excellent location near the railway station, cheap continental breakfast at £3.75 and the cheap rate for my room . The bed and shower were ok and I had a decent night's sleep. The staff were fairly helpful too when I needed directions in Leeds.

The real downside is that this hotel is really tired. It looks tired from the outside and it doesn't get better when you reach your room. My room was inward facing and the view was one of delapidated buildings, rusty barbed wire and bins full of water. There were stain marks on the ceiling ( presumably damp), what looked like tea and coffee splashes on the walls that couln't have been painted for 20 years, damp marks and cracks in ceiling above the shower and a broken toliet lid. There was also a stale and smoky smell in the room. The dirty walls and poorly maintained rooms are unacceptable at any price range.

This hotel might be ok for backpackers or people who are desperate to be close to the railway station but I would not return. I definitely would not bring my family here and feel particular sympathy for those who paid far more than I did. I am no fan of the corporate world but the budget name corporates ( you know who they are! ) do generally provide clean rooms and reliable standards.

This hotel could be greatly improved with some routine maintenance that would not cost huge sums of money. A few coats of paint would be a decent start!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimeTraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tris1
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

Room was well worn and had a strong smell of mold and smoke. the bathroom window was constantly open and too high up to close which meant it was very cold, not helped by the bed not having a proper duvet just a sheet and blanket. There was a faint smell of urine which wasn't coming from the bathroom but from around the bed area. The ceiling in the room was high up and i could see a lot of insects moving around up there while lying in bed, but the worst thing of all was the fact that by the time i left there were a number of bite marks over my body which was disturbing.
On the plus side, the water was always hot.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crusader525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
everywhere
Level Contributor
86 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

This property is located just behind the Leeds Train Station and is handy to everywhere. The building looks classic from the inside, and the interior is a little tired which can be improved with a little 'surgery'. There were holes in the ceiling boards the room which we stayed in and the bathroom only had a bathtub with no shower, so bathing was quite a chore. We were given a room facing the main road which light-sleepers must re-consider because of the early morning traffic. Other than the location, otherwise all other facilities are average.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wtgn_ling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston lancs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

great price.good hotel.nice staff and in a great location.RECOMEND 2 ANYONE..

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banjoPrestonLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#20 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Roomzzz Leeds City
#3 of 86 in Leeds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza Leeds
#35 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,812 reviews
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,095 reviews
Ibis Leeds Centre
#28 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Inn Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn Leeds

Property: Discovery Inn Leeds
Address: 15 Bishopgate Street, Leeds LS1 5DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Discovery Inn Leeds 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 100 metres from Leeds City Station and less than a kilometre from the national motorway network, the Discovery Inn is an ideal choice for those who want the convenience of a centrally-located hotel without the overinflated price tag. We pride ourselves on offering excellent customer service, a warm welcome and an exceptional standard of cleanliness and comfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotelopia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Inn Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Inn Leeds Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing